We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Front garden and part of the frontage
Front garden and part of the frontage
Front garden and part of the frontage
Bottom Bay, just a short walk from the villa
The front of 'Take Five' taken from the street
Pool and terrace at night
Terrace - outdoor lounge and dining area overlooking the pool and garden
Bottom Bay
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mclaren09...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exactly what it says on the tin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Having had two weeks in Aruba where our rental was very disappointing we arrived in Barbados full of trepidation. We landed late at night and only just in time to pick up our hire car at the airport. It was raining and dark and despite good directions from our host we got lost (as predicted by the the car hire guy). After a while we got to where we thought we were close and travelling down a narrow street when we saw car headlights coming towards us. I decided to wave down the car and ask for further directions. To our amazement the driver was the guy from the car hire company (Stoutes car hire) who said with a big smile "Told you you'd get lost, I just came down to make sure your OK, follow me"
That was the start of a wonderful experience in Barbados. Next came our villa 'Take Five'.
From the moment you walk in you are aware of cleanliness and attention to detail. All the home comforts are present and functional with plenty of space and loads of added extras. Jon and Jan the local property managers were always on hand to provide assistance or advice when needed and apart from that they're really nice people.
At night the sound whistling frogs in the back garden make you think you are in paradise and the sight humming birds during daylight hours simply confirms this thought.
We tried to rebook for Xmas 2014 but were beaten to it ...Boo-hoo!!!!!
Loved this villa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2014
So sorry you weren't able to book in for next Christmas - there's always a bit of a rush to book at that time of year. Thanks for such a good review - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Like you, we love the people of Barbados - and Jan and John are no exception.
Hope to see you again in 2015..!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MrSausage...
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good and a happy holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed in here in August 2103 and we were not disappointed, as I had been to Barbados before and knew the location. A car is a must. The House was clean, tidy and fully equipped. the pool was great. Bottom bay 5 minutes away - deserted tropical beach most of the time. if you happy to drive out and want solitude then this is the place - its great value for money.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments - and a happy new year to you....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jane1101
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Perfect villa in a beautiful relaxing area and suitable for all ages.

Very clean and situated within minutes of the fabulous Bottom Bay.

Swimming pool is large at 30ft and surrounded by palm trees.

The beds are very comfortable and the rooms aircon but used the ceiling fans most nights.

Shops not to far away but would advise car hire.

John the caretaker was always on hand to offer any advice and made us feel very welcome.

Perfect holiday cant wait to return.

Thank you Pat and John

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: terrace and pool
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2013
Our aim is to ensure you have a wonderful villa in which to have a memorable holiday, and our property managers share our view. We are so lucky to have John and Jan who are always there for our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon........
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
CarlDamma...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“5 star experience at Bottom Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We are just drawing our holiday to a close and writing this review from the terrace poolside using the excellent wi-fi.
This is our second trip to Barbados having stayed last year at the Crane with friends.

Take 5 is a real 5 star accommodation and is comparable to TheCrane without the scale. The whole villa has a quality feel about it and the pool is absolutely superb. Aircon if needed but tended to use ceiling fans. Beds - 5 star comfort !

Jan the housekeeper is superb and is on hand to help if anything goes wrong or you need local advise - her cleaning team are brilliant too and do a first class job before and during your stay.

Cannot fault the experience - genuine quality accommodation with a real home from home feeling that gets everyone settled for a great holiday.

Well done Pat and Tim (who were brilliant right through the process of booking and our endless questioning !)

We will be back !

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Pool and beds
Liked least: Dishwasher wasn't great so ended up washing dishes by hand
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2013
Wow - how great to be compared to the Crane... Come again, do - we look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
James N
East Morton
1 review
“Tropical Paradise! We definitely didn't want to come back....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We returned from a fortnight at Take Five a few weeks ago and are longing to go back there already!

Take Five is a wonderfully roomy, well equipped villa in a lovely, peaceful location close to a picture postcard tropical beach.We have 2 young children (3 and 1), and so the large pool was a real bonus as we spent lots of time in there. We also made use of the baby equipment to hire (cot, high chair) which was good.

Pat was really helpful with hints and tips before we left, and Jan and John were really welcoming and were on hand if we needed any help or advice whilst on holiday.

We didn't eat out much, but would recommend the fish fry (Fridays and Saturdays) at the Church of the Nazerene which is about a five minute drive towards Six Roads.

We hired a car from Stoutes on Pat's advice, who were excellent. We made use of the discount that Pat has negotiated from them. We enjoyed trips to Crane beach, to Bathsheeba on the east coast and also to Gunn Hill Signal Station and Wildlife Park in the north, amongst others.

A thoroughly enjoyable holiday in a wonderful villa. We would recommend it to anyone!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2013
Reviews like this make all our hard work worthwhile - the whole experience of Barbados, Take Five and our lovely John and Jan as our managers is what we strive for - bliss and perfection. We look forward to seeing you again.........
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
shepwj
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Fantastic villa, suitable for all ages. Very clean and situated within minutes of the famous bottom bay. Location is very peaceful and clean. Swimming pool is large at 30ft!!! And would recommend BBQ hire. Shops not to far away along with other amenities.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2013
Very proud of the extra large pool - and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Welcome anytime...!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
wicked_do...
Eastham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect villa from which we enjoyed probably our best holiday to date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Couldn't ask anything more of the villa it was perfect. Jan & Jon the local property managers were always on hand to answer any questions. For us, the location was ideal being quiet and on the East of the island with cooling breezes. The veranda and 30ft pool is secluded by lovely palms and shrubs. In my opinion, a car is a must for this villa but that was no problem for us as we always hire a car on holiday and there is so much to see and do in Barbados that a car is best anyway. I would recommend this villa to any group and hope to get back one day.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Ice Maker, U.K Socket Outlets, 30ft secluded pool, Wi-Fi
Liked least: Dishwasher not cleaning very well but did eat out most of the time so no problem realy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2013
Jan and John are gems - we are very lucky to have them on hand so close to the villa. We try so hard to make Take Five a welcome retreat, it is a pleasure to know it is enjoyed so much. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$965
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Pat B
44 01827 881104
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2009
Response Rate: 80 %
Response Time: Within two days
Calendar Updated: 50 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing