We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Front garden and part of the frontage
Front garden and part of the frontage
Front garden and part of the frontage
Bottom Bay, just a short walk from the villa
The front of 'Take Five' taken from the street
Pool and terrace at night
Terrace - outdoor lounge and dining area overlooking the pool and garden
Bottom Bay
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Papillon1...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Villa ..... but bad experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This review relates to our stay at Take Five in Jan 2012 , Sadly I'm afraid this review does have some serious negative points .
Holiday was booked through the owner and was a special occasion to celebrate our 30th Wedding anniversary, having been to Barbados around a dozen times over the last 10 years it was the perfect destination for us for our special occasion.

Positives:
The villa is located in the very quiet, scenic Bottom Bay , ideal for beach lovers, the bay is accessed via a very steep path (not easy access for all ages). The Atlantic Rising development has a smallish number of similar build properties consisting of holiday lets and residential villas, ideal if you require a very quiet location.
Property Management Team were very helpful and close at hand (Resident on site ) in case you need any assistance or just general advice .
The villa is spacious inside with adequate furnishings throughout the living and bedroom areas and a well stocked kitchen. With very nice covered patio and a large Pool.
Negatives:
From day one we had various sightings of cockroaches in the kitchen, master bedroom and the on suite bathroom which were dealt with by my husband, - by day four it became apparent that these were not just isolated cases, which we had initially put down to the tropical location where you must expect to see a variety of insects.
Sadly for us our stay at Take Five was curtailed due to what turned out to be a large cockroach nest found in the drains, the management team responded very quickly and arranged for pest control to fumigate the house and drains but this resulted in hundreds of cockroaches running and flying to escape the poison, my husband did manage to kill a large number of the cockroaches (as seen in photos ) though many appeared to escape into the grounds of both the villa and the one next door. The remedial work to exterminate the insects was done quickly but the aftermath left very strong fumes throughout the house and as I am asthmatic this was much too strong for me to remain at Take Five safely.
As we felt it was in our best interests to seek alternative accommodation we contacted the owner in the u.k to explain the situation and seek assistance to enable us to move quickly and salvage the last nine days of our holiday - unfortunately no assistance was forthcoming. Without going into specific other then the owner would not agree to any refund for the second week of our holiday , i feel its fair to say that before you book this accommodation you must be aware that if you encounter a problem where you consider alternative accommodation is required during your stay don't expect any assistance from the owner. Luckily for us we have a very good friend on the island who stepped in to provide us with a place to stay while we arranged alternative accommodation ourselves. Thankfully we were in a position to cover the additional costs but you should consider your own contingency plans before booking this villa as accommodation can be expensive at short notice especially for a family group.
Additional Negatives:
The pool area has developed moss like residue and requires cleaning or re surfacing.
Sun loungers (only 2 of the 3 available where useable) where of a fixed type allowing you to sit in only one position (may not be suitable for some people with mobility issues).The large pool severely restricts the area for positioning the sun beds, so generally its a case of heading to Bottom Bay Beach to sunbathe ( which is beautiful and very quiet).
Luck must have been against us on this holiday as in addition to the problems detailed above , the villa to the rear was having an extension built which resulted in construction noise during the day.The owners of Take Five obviously can't be responsible for their neighbours building work but it should be noted that this is a residential area and subject to such issues.
Overall we still had a lovely holiday in Barbados all be it some £1200 out of pocket for the alternative accommodation , the island has still not lost its charm for us and we will be back , however in future we will not be booking private accommodation to ensure we have additional protection.
Since returning home the owner has refunded 2 days rental (£260) which they consider adequate compensation !!!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Bottom Bay Beach
Liked least: pool area
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2012
What a horrible experience - cockroaches are not nice! However, they are common in the Caribbean, and they can occur anywhere. The minute this problem was reported the problem was dealt with and they were irradicated. Our property managers - John and Jan are on hand 24/7 to deal with any problem. As the house was unaffected and the problem resolved there was no need for this guest to leave the property - it was totally her choice. As a gesture of good will I repaid 41% of the week's rental, which I genuinely believe to be very generous.
We have a very comprehensive insurance cover in the event of our guests needing to find alternative accommodation, but naturally, and understandably, it does not cover this situation.
We had already arranged to purchase more sunbeds, but felt there was no need for this particular guest's stay because there were only 2 of them, a sufficient number. As for the comfort - I myself am physically disabled and find them very comfortable - I also have no difficulty walking down the path to the beach.
We take on board all feedback, and we have just discovered that the poolside area can be painted - so this will be done soon.
So glad that you enjoyed the villa and the pool - we are very proud of Take Five and everyone who visits loves it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
KJH25
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A little piece of paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Met by the very friendly John at the property, who showed us around, discussed how gadgets worked and answered any questions - he subsequently rescued us on Christmas day when we couldn't light our oven! The property was immaculately clean and very fresh looking and, for us, in a perfect location being away from the touristy areas. Bottom Bay beach (a few minutes walk) was beautiful. The pool was lovely and was well used. The only minor negative points were that there was not a BBQ (as stated in the literature) and the tumble dryer did not work - having travelled light, we did have an occasion when it rained and we need to dry some clothes.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Peaceful location, amongst locals as well as other holiday makers
Liked least: The odd cockroach...but there is nothing you can do about that!
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
We would love to provide a barbeque, but we have lost two to rust because of the salt in the air and a rusty barbeque is a no no.
John and Jan, our property managers, do have a barbeque they can provide to our guests for a small fee, so bring on the flying fish..!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Inak007
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Paradise... Awesome stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

We have rented Take Five kind of last minute, and it proved to be an excellent choice. As we came to the villa, John (the manager) was already waiting there for us, even though it was quite late at night. He gave us a very warm welcome, showed us around, answered any questions we had, and quickly left, not wanting to be overbearing. He left us his phone number and told us to call him at any time there is an issue. We did call him a couple of times, and he was always available.
There was a bit of musty smell at the beginning, but that's because of the windows having been closed for the week before. We really quickly aired it out (with the help of air conditioning), and didn't have problems with moisture at all during our stay. The three bedrooms are spread across the villa, they are a very good size, with very comfy beds. One bedroom has an ensuite, and the other two share a good size bathroom. The villa was very clean, including kitchen and appliances, bathrooms, sheets and bedding, and the pool area.
During our stay a few things broke (air conditioner, door lock, leak in a bathroom sink), but they were immediately taken care of. John always arranged someone to come in very quickly, and we never were constrained by the minor repairs, as he stayed with the repair men and we were free to do our "vacationing".
Bottom Bay beach is a true paradise... It was extremely difficult to leave Barbados at the end of our trip...
John warned us not to swim at that beach though, as the currents are too strong. Beautiful beaches for swimming are only a short drive away though, as Barbados is a very small island. Also, having the pool right at home was a terrific way to keep everyone happy and occupied while "at home". The sun shines on the backyard/pool area in the morning, until late in the day, but there is also lots of shade for those who need to stay away from the very strong sun.
The BBQ at the villa is only charcoal, but as the owner (Pat) mentioned, having a gas grill is not feasible due to moisture and salt in the air. We used the charcoal, but if you want to cook real meals on the BBQ, I suggest talking to John about this.
The kitchen is equipped with a stove and oven, fridge, coffee maker, toaster and a microwave, so there is really no problem making a full course dinner, or just heating up meals from stores or restaurants.
The villa is in a very quiet neighbourhood, but they do wake up early to do their gardening, including lawn mowing, so be prepared to be awakened occasionally by some noises around 7am. That only happened once though during our week-long stay. :)
All in all, it was a terrific stay, a beautiful place, and a very nice villa. Both managers (John and Jan) were extremely welcoming, and owners are terrific, very kind and helpful. Can't wait to go back!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Pool area
Liked least: Small kitchen
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2012
We are so proud of the service that John and Jan deliver - they are always there for our guests' arrival, and on hand whenever they are needed. It gives us much comfort to know that our guests are being well looked after 24/7.
Can't wait to see you back again, as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$938
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Pat B
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2009
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 19 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing