We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parfait!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villelongue-dels-Monts
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Rose
30 Route de Montesquieu, 66740 Villelongue-dels-Monts, France   |  
Hotel amenities
warrington, uk.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Parfait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Spent a week at Maison Rose in April 2012. Fabulous accommodation in a glorious corner of France, but the best ingredient of all was our hosts Nigel and Sandy. Full of invaluable tips on what to see and do and cheerfully served up a fantastic breakfast every morning, each one being slightly different to the last. Very attentive service, without being oppressive or obtrusive. Wonderful! Excellent restaurant in the village, too, called la Pierranne. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Maison Rose is a true Jewel, the house is set amidst the Albere Mountains and nestles in beautiful gardens lovingly cared for by Sandy and Nigel.
A warm welcome awaits set amidst luxurious surroundings beautiful bedrooms with comfortable beds await the weary traveler after a peaceful nights sleep guests can look forward to their breakfasts which are served with fresh bread and home made preserves fresh fruit some of which is grown in the garden and tea made to your own requirements!

Nigel and Sandy have a wealth of knowledge about the region ensuring that you get the most out of your stay.

Whatever your requirements family couples business or solo Maison Rose will surpass all expectations.

We have now stayed there on three occasions and would have moved in had they let us.

The location is superb and the cost is represents excellent value for money.

Although it is advertised as a B&B it surpasses many 5 star hotels with views to die for.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

After a week about an hour north, we headed down to Maison Rose for two nights. When the gates opened and Nigel motioned us up the drive, everyone was struck by the beauty of the property. Though we had all seen pictures, to see it in person was much more powerful.

The grounds are meticulously maintained and lush, with beautiful flowers and fruit at every turn. The love of gardening is evident everywhere, and the pool is spotless and inviting. The attention to detail continues inside the house, where the rooms are clean, cheerful, well-appointed and with great views. Our first morning, I looked out the bedroom window to watch the sun rise over the Mediterranean in the distance, our room filled with the rosy glow

Breakfast is served on an outside table where the mountain and valley views are spectacular. Our first breakfast was continental with fresh bread, sweet rolls, croissants, fresh fruit, cereal, fresh-squeezed juice and a big pot of coffee (or tea, if that was your preference). Sandy brought out a trio of condiments homemade from her garden to accompany the meal: apricot preserves, kumquat preserves and lemon curd. Each was absolutely delicious. The second day, we had all of the above, as well as freshly-prepared eggs. Though we had places to go and things to see, it was hard not to linger at that table…and linger we did.

I had spoken with Nigel on the phone and emailed with both Nigel and Sandy before arriving and both were helpful and accommodating. We have stayed in B&Bs both in America and in the UK and my husband and I both agree this was certainly one of our favorites. Nigel and Sandy are warm and welcoming and great hosts to their home, as well as the area. They are as knowledgeable as they are friendly. They are wonderful hosts, willing and able to help with anything a traveler might need - from planning a day trip to Barcelona to Nigel personally compounding out scratches on our rental car. Nigel even drove my husband into town to hit the ATM.

We wholeheartedly recommend this B&B and can’t wait to go back again. As I told Sandy and Nigel when we left, this may have been our first visit, but it certainly won’t be our last.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This was one of the nicest places that I've stayed in - beautiful home and gardens and the most delicious homemade jams for breakfasts. Sandy and Nigel the hosts did everything they could to make my stay enjoyable and are very informative about the area - I willl definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Rose

Address: 30 Route de Montesquieu, 66740 Villelongue-dels-Monts, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Villelongue-dels-Monts
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Villelongue-dels-Monts
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Rose sits proudly at the edge of the village of Villelongue Dels Monts less than 10 mins from the beach close to Perpignan and with beautiful mountain views large swimming pool and secure parking.The house is tastefully furnished offering comfort and the opportunity to relax. Your choice is a double room with four poster bed, distant sea views and en-suite bathroom or a double bedded room enjoying panoramic mountain views with private shower room. For the children there is a third bedroom which can be either a double or twin beds. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maison Rose to your Saves list