We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel (Bus/Train info. in this review)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol to your Saves list
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. La Butibamba S/N | Gps = W-4. 68223 N-36. 50101, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel (Bus/Train info. in this review)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just back from a week All Inclusive at the Gran Hotel and have to say me and my Wife really enjoyed our stay, the Hotel is in a great location right onto the beach which is lovely, the Hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were really friendly and looked after us really well all week, especially the barman “Jose”, he was a really nice guy, also worth a mention was the maid who cleaned our room every day and brought fresh towels, she was very good at her job, the compare Christina was also very friendly and deserves a mention.

The facilities in the room (514) were very good and the room was nice and clean with lovely views, the views at the rear of the Hotel are not as good as the front as there is a large storm drain which runs into the sea, this didn't bother us as we was at the front of the hotel, these storm drains are everywhere in Spain so you cannot really complain about them as it's the norm in Spain. The bathroom in 514 was lovely and clean with a great shower and B'day and was cleaned most days while we stayed.

The Bar is on the 1st floor and was excellent, it's the usual cheaper brands on the All Inclusive deal but they were all of good quality, especially the beer and sangria, we didn't use the pool bar as it was closed out-of-season, all the bar staff were excellent and really friendly.

The restaurant is at ground level near reception, the food was buffet style, I've read a few reviews on here with complaints about the food being bland and lukewarm but I have to say it was on the whole very good, the soups and stews were really nice, the breakfast was very good, loads of choice, the salads were good too and very fresh, each night there was lots to choose from and usually 3 or 4 different meats or fish, my advice to anybody who eats from a buffet menu is to get in early when the food is hot and fresh and you'll have no problems and will probably enjoy it, the kitchen staff here work very hard and deserve credit for the effort they make, we personally enjoyed all our meals and had no real complaints about the quality of the food on offer.

I'd give this place 7/10 on the whole, that's a good score and a fair score as there is always room for improvement in any hotel, I'd give the staff 8/10 as on the whole they were excellent, the location would get 9/10 because it is a lovely area of the Costa. Would we stay here again? YES!!! without question I would recommend this hotel to friends/family/couples/pensioners, it also attracts a lot of golfers as it's a popular area for sport, I would not recommend it to young lads/girls looking to party all night as the hotel and area are family oriented.

To get here we flew into Malaga then took the train (no. C1) to Fuengirola, the station is in the airport terminal, it cost just under 3 euro to Fuengirola and was quick and easy to use. From Fuengirola you can take a cab and that cost about 15 euro or you can walk 100 yards to the bus station and take the no. 220 heading to Marbella at a cost of 1.50 euro, it takes 20 minutes and leaves on the hour and half past every hour. Outside Fuengirola station there is a water fountain in the middle of the road, with the station behind you take a right turn at the fountain and the bus station is 50 metres down that road on the right hand corner, you will need to buy your bus ticket from the ticket office before you board at the terminus, if you board en-route you can pay the driver. The bus pulls off the highway into La Cala village so you won't get lost and the hotel is easy to find as it dwarfs most buildings in the area, but the locals are friendly and will direct you.

Room Tip: front facing have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanko you for you GREAT OPINION ABOUT YOUR STAY in our hotel ! In the nam of our Staff and my personal name , you are always welcome to relax and goed Holiday experience in VIK Gran hotel Costa del Sol !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    207
    163
    76
    56
See reviews for
140
254
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

As a full time wheelchair user I submit my reviews on that basis. This hotel has 302 rooms and none of them are wheelchair friendly, with the exception of one expensive suite. To get around the room you have to have a manual chair and be adept at turning in tight spots. The door to the bathroom is very tight and only just wide enough. All rooms have patios but the track for the sliding doors. Is high and unless you have good upper body strength you are definitely need assistance. I didn't have a kettle or any tea or coffee making facilities but I did see them on the housekeeper's trolly. perhaps you have to be All Inclusive to qualify for a kettle. The food was good and breakfast would last you just about all day. The bar is like a long barn with hundreds of chairs. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
The foo

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear estimated Guest,

Thank you so much for your time in order to send us your comment about your stay at.
our hotel. Our guests opinión is so important for us - as it helps us to improve our services.
It is nice to know that you were satisfied with our big variety of good food and with our friendly and helpful staff.
We are sorry that you have the impression that our hotel is not adapted for wheelchairs.
We are always trying our best to fulfill our clients wishes. We keep your suggestions in mind and will study it carefully.
We hope to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived boxing day had a lovely room on high floor staff very helpful nothing too much troub
E new year gala was good but given that the gala dinner was extra it was disappointing to find that the exact mea
L was on in the dining room however the room set aside for the gala was lovely and service exce

Ent 1thing they could do is explain the stories behind the different Spanish dances so many Spanish people stay and celebrate you feel a bit left out.

Room Tip: Ask for even number room for garden car park and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director General at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Margaret,

Thank you so much for your great comment.
It is nice to know that you enjoyed your holidays at our hotel and the new years evening.
Thanks for valuing the room, our great staff and the entertainment programme.
As the main guests were from spain we had to adapt the programme in order to satisfy each of our guest.
We hope to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel gets the basics right with a great beach front location (on a nice beach for that matter), friendly service, and well maintained, clean rooms. The restautrant is disappointing, being in a windowless basement, but the food is good qualty and all my meals enjoyable, if not great. The bar is horrible, resembling something in a poorly maintained airport, rather than a place to enjoy a good night. But it's the only place you'll get the free wifi.

My room was basic - a good size, comfortable, clean but without a single picture on the wall, drab verring on monastic. IAnd dispite the double glazed windows, I could hear the A road traffic 24/7 - which made the holiday earplugs invaluable.

But that said, I got a very good deal staying in January at about E120 for four nights and only about E18 to trade up to half board - which was well worth it. So it was good value without the frills .

Room Tip: Try for west facing to get the winter sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and review of you holidays.
Thanks for valuing or good money - service value this is one of our strenghts.
It is nice to know that you enjoyed your holidays and our great food.
We feel sorry that you did not like our Bar Salon.
It is very spacious and every evening there is another live Show performance.
We feel also sorry that you did hear the cars from the main road which is quiet far away...
However thanks for your suggestions

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked on low cost.com, flew with Ryanair.com, hired a car with Malagacar.com (no credit card needed will accept debit card or cash) We have just come back from a great holiday which including a hire car full of fuel cost us a total of £459 for my wife and I.
We left Liverpool airport on Sunday 13th Jan (till Sunday 20th January) arrived at Malaga airport.
We were picked up by mini bus and taken to the hire car office. We picked up our car with no hassle we were upgraded to a slightly larger car. Took us about 25mins to drive to the hotel. We checked in and were given our key card and room number plus all the information we needed about meal times, unlimited free wifi available in the hotel and all the extra facilities of the hotel.
We were booked in at half board as we enjoy eating out too.
The breakfast were full English & continental buffet style, all drinks were included at breakfast time. For the evening meals we were spoilt for choice again it is buffet style as well as they have a grill where they normally do one fish & one meat. Drinks are to be paid for which you can add to your key card and pay when you check out.
Mijas Costa is a really nice resort perfect for couples & young famlies. What ever you enjoy eating you will find a restaurant to suit your taste. If you are not a driver, there are buses from Mijas to Marbella or to fuengirola, Benalmadina, Torramalinos or Malaga which leave every 10 mins so yes Mijas Costa is very central & an ideal place to stay.

Room Tip: We chose a high room for a better view of the coast, plus there are 4 lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear family,

Thank you so much for your great comment, your recommendation to other travellers and your high valoration.
It is so nice to know that you enjoyed your holidays at our hotel in the lovely surroundings of the Cala de Mijas.
We are situated directly on the beach and we have direct acces to the beach.
From our location it is easy to reach the main attraction like Marbella, Malaga, Benalmádena etc...
Thanks also for valuing our great staff and our big variety of fresh food.

We hope to welcome you soon again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for New Year, staff very friendly . Hotel rooms very nice and clean, air con not working in rm 416 but wasn't needed in December so not worried. Room over looks pool, ask for 416 or higher to get good pool view, make sure it's even number.
Food was okish, yes it was never very hot as most reviews have said. Breakfast was excellent , lots of choices. There was always something you could eat at lunch and dinner but make sure food is cooked properly. Had undercooked pork one day. Meat was always very tough. One day dinner food was very nice. Gala meal was slightly disappointing, just normal buffet but with king prawns, muscle and salmon starter! Lots of Spanish and Italians made the party very loud but created great atmosphere and bar open till 5 am. Had a good holiday. Stayed 5 nights from 29th December , shame pool bar not open as out of season but was hot enough to sit around the pool ( some people were in it, must have been British !!) The all inclusive was poor, you had to eat hot dogs or burger in restaurant and not allowed to take to pool area. Location was good, very close to shops and bars. Taxi from Malaga airport was £50 euro each way. Taxi to Fuengirola was £12 euros. Safe to hire in room was 15 euros for 5 nights. Entertainment was ok, lots of dancers. The bar is also the entertainment area and design makes it difficult to see dance door with the pillars etc. With regards to the 4 stars it says it on the door but think more good 2 or 3 star. I'd go back again and staff are really nice, so that helps. I think in high season the hotel and Mijas will be buzzing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for your time to send us your personal opinión about your stay at our hotel.
It is nice to know that you enjoyed your 5 days here in this great surroundings.
We are situated directly on the beach just a 5 minutes walk away from the ciry centre of Cala de Mijas.
Thanks for valuing our cleanliness, our staff, our food and the entertainment programme.

Hope to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We arrived as dinner had finished and as we had missed our meal we were asked if we would like to come down later to the staff Christmas meal to join them . Despite it being their evening we were given excellent service .What a great start to our 2 week holiday! The helpfulness and friendliness of all staff was faultless for the whole time-many thanks to all of you.

The hotel was adequate and comfortable but not 4*. It would benefit from an indoor pool and gym at least to bring it up to 4* rating. The exterior pool though large was shallow for the main part,more a paddling pool than a swimming pool.
If we were returning again we would request a room on the pool side. We were allocated a room on the other side which had lovely views of both the mountain and the sea but got very little sun if any and remained cold.We were on the top floor and found it very peaceful.
Meals were buffet style with a good range-something for everyone . Some of it was sometimes colder than we normally eat it but there is a microwave.
Entertainment was very good but was the same both weeks .
Location is right on the beach and it is easy to get cheap local buses from up the road 10 mins away to explore the area.
Would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side if you want sun. High rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your time in order to send us your personal opinion about your stay at our hotel.
Your opinion is so important to us - as it helps us to improve our services and we get to know our weaknesses.
It is a pleasure to know that you were so greatfull with our excellent, friendly and helpfull staff.
We always try to fulfill our clients wishes and stay at your disposal at any time.
Thanks for valuing our great location, directly on the beach just a short walk away from the city centre of the lovely Cala de Mijas.

We are looking forward to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Address: Urb. La Butibamba S/N | Gps = W-4. 68223 N-36. 50101, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.