We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas in the sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Save Saved
You added VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Christmas in the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 23rd until 29th December and had a good time, Vic Gran is in a lovely quiet location right on the beach and we were lucky enough to be able to lay on sunbeds the weather was that nice. Most days we caught a bus into nearby towns and had lovely days out, Fuengirola, Torremolinos, Marbella and a must to visit is the village of Mijas a very beautiful village with nice shops, quaint donkeys trotting around and lovely bars and restaurants. Our hotel room was nice, quite big, big bathroom, always hot water and right at the front end of the hotel, room number 125 I think, lovely for the winter but I would think it would be a bit smelly in the summer on this side of the hotel as there is a storm drain that collects stagnant water, it was fine when we were there though as it was cold at night. The food was similar every day and always, always cold I suggest you definitely use the microwave then the food is edible, the food itself was quite good it was just with it always being cold it put me off a bit, breakfast was the same everyday but a good English breakfast, lovely bacon even though this was freshly cooked it was always cold too! We had a lovely meal on Christmas night, lots of prawns, langustines, salad and meat choices and all very tasty, I mainly stuck to salads so I knew what I was getting and expected it to be cold, but the chips were always hot if you want chips all the time, and the deserts were lovely, wine was a bit sparse, we were AIC and had to keep asking after the first glass if we could have another one, but the bar was excellent, good quality drinks, nice service and an outside area for smokers. I would stay here again as I liked the area, but would probably try Marbella next time as it has a beautiful front prom to walk along for hours and is not quite so expensive as it used to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a sunset roof if possible at the beach end of the hotel, but a room is only for sleeping and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear clients we would like to thank for your opinion about our hotel.
We are very sorry that you had some problems with our food temperature,but we check it every day following some rules,but perhaps that wasn't high enough for you.
Believe that we will take your opinion into consideration.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    192
    141
    70
    53
See reviews for
113
231
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel I would recomend . People seem to moan for the sake of it .the way i see it you get what you pay for .if you want top quality food you'll pay more .I paid 940 for 1 week over xmas for 2 people .the food and drink are of a decent quality all staff are polite. rooms are excellent great location. we had steaks probably rump not sirloin but as said you get what you pay for.English bacon sausage fresh fried eggs loads to chose from for any meal good measures of drinks.freshly cooked chicken pork fish etc.only thing I could have a moan about the entertainment wasn't brilliant but it was quiet while we was there so maybe more entertainment in the summer months .there was 4 of us who traveled and we all said we would go again .the staff on reception are helpful and professional

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Director General at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear clients we would like to thank you for your opinin about our hotel.
Be sure we will take it in to consideration to improve our services.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week in December. Whilst I will say that the hotel's position near the beach was very good and the room was spacious. It went downhill when we visited the dining room. There was a choice of food but it was the same every breakfast and evening meal.[Great if you were Spanish.]I had to pay for water with the evening meal whilst one night my daughter and 7 year old grandaughter joined us for dinner,at a cost of 21 euros, they got drinks included with their meal [work that one out because i can't. All the food was lukewarm, they did have a microwave but lets face it do you really want to heat your meals up everytime you eat, NO I DON'T THINK SO.So needless to say we will not be visiting this hotel again. The only decent meals we had were a very good Chinese in fuengirola and two meals which were cooked by family in their homes.

Room Tip: sea side is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Gerente at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear clients we are very sorry that your stay in our hotel hasn't been to your taste.
We would like to say that our breakfast food is as international as we can,and that the temperature of our food is controlled every day,but we understand that for you it wasn't high enough.
About the drinks you pay,we suppose you came with half board,and with that board the drinks are always apart.
Be sure we will take your opinion in to consideration.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

A very Spanish but well run hotel with good service with a great beach side location.

The VIK Gran Costa Del Sol Hotel has large rooms that are modern with full aircon / heating, balcony with sea views and good selection of TV channels with nothing extra to pay. Only down side was a lack of tea making facilities in the rooms, so take your travel kettle etc. Our room was cleaned every day, beds made, clean towels etc. Professionalism and level of service are definitely 4* here. Even our transfer confirmations details were left in our room the day before our departure.

Food is very Spanish probably more a 3.5 * than a 4* but the said the quality is good along with the presentation, also the service in the restaurant is excellent. However, fussy eaters may struggle here do to a lack on plain food. I didn’t see any separate kiddie’s food either so if you have fussy kids then consider going elsewhere. Snacks are available for A.I. guests when the restaurant food is finished, usual hamburgers, hot dogs & toasties etc.
The pool is small and more suited as a splash pool but great for kids as it shelves from very shallow gently to the deep end. We were looking for a hotel right on the beach in a fairly quite area away from the hustle & bustle of resorts like Torremolinos or Fuengirola and this was exactly what we got. Perhaps if you’re not a beach lover and prefer a pool then this might not be such a great choice for you!

We booked all Inclusive and the drinks are fine, local spirits wine & beers etc and also with a ½ price option on all branded upgrade drinks for A.I. guests. You can get drinks during the day at the pool bar and service was prompt. The only thing I found I didn’t like was you couldn’t get A.I. snacks at the pool bar and had to go to restaurant. A bit annoying when you are on the beach and or with wet swimming costumes on etc.

There are a number of restaurants and shops around in the town centre (10mins walk) or along the sea front. A mixture of most international cuisine styles, so plenty of choice. However, everything is much quieter and more quaint than the larger resorts. There are one or two English bars around offer evening entertainment with tribute acts and karaoke etc. Evening entertainment in the hotel itself is typically aimed at the Spanish / German guests with singers, dancers, flamenco & the usual Eagle shows etc. This was OK and to be fair went on for most of the evening unlike some other hotels I’ve stayed at which seem to last only twenty minutes at the most.

Rooms facing east have the least day time sunshine which goes around mid-day. However, if you are up early you can see some beautiful sunrises across the sea. West facing rooms have sun afternoon till late when the sun finally disappears behind the mountains. There were some mosquitos about when we stayed. However we were well pre-paired for this with plug-ins etc. There is a relief flood channel than runs alongside the hotel, this has stagnant water if it rains till it dries up.

I enjoyed my stay at the VIK Gran Costa Del Sol as it had everything we wanted for our break away. I think things to consider are the small pool and a lack of snacks available at the pool bar. Most other A.I. hotels I’ve stayed at offer this to save guests having to go to restaurant during the day. However, if you’re looking for a good quality modern clean hotel with sea views, lovely beach walks in a fairly quiet location literally right on the beach and not worried about a pool or daytime entertainment then this maybe the place for you. I feel the hotel is more aimed at the mature couple looking a quieter holiday than perhaps a family type holiday with youngsters. I thought It was a nice touch when arrived tired and hungry just as the restaurant was closing. We were rushed into the restaurant, a waiter called over for us instantly. The guy on reception then had us checked in and everything sorted out for us by the time we had finished eating. Personally I think we will definitely be back there some time soon.

Room Tip: West facing rooms have sun afternoon till late when the sun finally disappears behind the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Director Comercial at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear clients we would like to thank you for your opinion about our hotel.
Be sure we will take it in consideration.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed in adjoining rooms in the hotel which was perfect for us. Yes the hotel rooms could do with a little TLC but it didn't spoil our stay. We stayed November 16-19. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet was good. I'm not one for cooked breakfast but if you are there was plenty to choose from. There was pastries, toast, biscuits, fruit,cereal. Plenty. Beds were very comfortable. I'm not a great sleeper but slept comfortably in these beds. We were on the second floor and could see the sea from our balcony. It was a great break and I would definitely go back if in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear clients we would like to thank you for your opinion about our hotel.
And be sure we will take it in consideration.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed end of November for one week on all inclusive basis. The hotel from the outside looks very bland but inside is fine. The hotel charges 10 euro per day to use their car park but there is a free car park nearby, hence no-one uses the hotel car park. The bedroom was large and had plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. The balcony overlooked the pool and the beach and had the sun all afternoon. The restaurant is in the basement which was fine at this time of year but I am not sure I would like it in the summer. The food was varied and tasty, yes at times it wasn't very hot, but this was probably because there not many people staying. The bar is large but again there was nowhere to sit outside, which was not a problem in November but in the summer would be. The drinks were fine and the bar staff very pleasant, In fact the staff were all pleasant and helpful.
The hotel isnt 4 star by British standards but excellent value for money and we would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Even number rooms overlook pool and have sun in afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

we have just returned from a week all inclusive winter break. The Hotel and staff were lovely, there is plenty of food to chose from but .... and this is the only negative the food isn't very hot. There is a mircowave if you want to reheat your food though. All in all a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: try and book a pool or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear clients,
The direction and staff from our hotel ,would like to thank you for your positive opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Address: 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Málaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 24 minutes from Marbella and 12 minutes from Fuengirola ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.