We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol to your Saves list
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. La Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Firstly, about the food...I can't see what everyone is moaning about. The choice was quite extensive and everything I tried was incredibly tasty. I put on half a stone in one week! I'll admit the food could have been a bit warmer (however they do have a microwave), although the food from the grille was always piping hot.

The location is excellent for families seeking a quite, relaxing, pool/beach holiday. The nearby town is well kept and is great to wander into for a change of scenery. There is children's play area/park opposite the hotel, again this is well kept and clean. Also there is ample free car parking to outside the hotel, (The hotel charge 10 euros for parking in their car park).

The cleanliness of the hotel is the thing that really struck me. They have an army of cleaners who seemed to be cleaning constantly around the clock! The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels each day.

For the money we paid, I would definitely recommend this hotel. In fact, we've booked to go again in June for 10 nights!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the beach end and looking out onto the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you so much for your great review and your positive words about your recent stay at our hotel.
Your comments mean a lot for us and help us to keep on improving our services.
Your recommendation to other clients motivates us a lot.
It is so good to know that you highly enjoyed our good choice of food, the cleanliness, the staff and the location.

We hope to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    226
    179
    84
    61
See reviews for
147
276
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just had a great week at the Vik Gran. It's right by the beach - literally ! Room opened onto pool/sea view ( 50 yards !) although some rooms at the back would get more of a car park view.

the other reviewers are right about the cold food ( this is Spain not Greece ) - we stuck to breakfast which was not too bad. out of the Hotel road

1. Turn Right 200 yards - The Newmarket Restaurent - British owned for 26 years - terrific menu - if on a budget the 13.95 Euros fixed price is very very good - we did though splash out on the Steaks ( twice !) cooked to perfection

2. Turn Left 250 yards - The Retro Bar & Grill - super - best retro beefburger ever ! !

3. Turn right about 350 yards into the narrow roads to the main drag - Gusto Restaurant - Spanish Owned - service impecable - best original Minastrone Soup ever tasted followed by really really good steak

4. turn right then left 250 yards Legends Cabaret late Bar - great tribute acts twice a week

if you go Bed & Breakfast the hotel itself is fine - staff really efficient & helpful

Room Tip: Pool view ( you get a sea view as well )
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear client,

We really appreciate the time you have taken in order to review your recent stay at our hotel.
Your opinion means a lot for us and we take it seriously.
Thanks for your good Insider Tips for other travellers concerning near located restaurants.
Thanks for valuing our helpfull and hard working staff and the great location

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I was very disappointed for my first time all inclusive. We arrived on 10th April being told it usually good weather for the time of year. The room was great, no problems there. The food was terrible everything was cold. We are a family of three and nearly every night all we could eat was the chips and we had to watch for them coming out of the fryer to make sure they were hot. All the meat was in a sauce or dried out.I chose all inclusive to try save some money but it actually turned out expensive as the pool bar was not opened till the Sunday.It advertises that you can get snacks at certain times of the day but you had to leave the pool side to get a drink which you had to go to the first floor for that then take it back to pool.Some one said it was because it was out of season so why had we to queue for our evening meal?

Room Tip: Try get a room on the front of the hotel as the back rooms over look dirty water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for your time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
Your opinion means a lot for us and helps us to keep on improving our services and facilities.
It is a pleasure to know that you were completely satisfied with your room.
We feel sorry for the problems you had with our offer of food.
We have taken note about all your suggestions and in our next meeting we will discuss about them in order to find quick solution.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We came upon this hotel when we were looking to stay near a friend who lives in Cala Honda. We have now stayed in the hotel twice and had a great time on both occassions. We find the location in perfect away from the hustle and bustle of alot of the Costa Del Sol resorts. Expect friendly welcome and a lovely hotel with great views from most of the rooms.

Room Tip: Get a room at the sea end of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your time you have taken in order to let us know your personal opinion about your recent stay here.
We appreciate your comment a lot.
It makes us happy to know that you had enjoyable days here.
Thanks for valuing our great location, our staff, the view of the rooms and the cleanliness.

We are looking forward to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just returned today from a week at the gran hotel,having suffered cold food all week.The food at anytime of service was stone cold,used several times, e.g meat used in various dishes,even the hot griddle produced hot pork which was uncooked inside.If you are staying all inclusive food,is a major part of your holiday,which in this instance ruins a perfectly good hotel,therefore correct the food situation and you have a good hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Propietario at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your time to send us your personal opinion about your recent stay.
Your comments mean a lot for us and helps us to improve our services.
We feel sorry that you were disappointed of the offer of our food.
We want to apologize for the inconveniences you had!
We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My husband and I took our 4 month old son on our first family holiday, we stayed in this hotel and had a fantastic time! The rooms were spacious and clean, the hotel was directly next to the beach and local amenities were in walking distance. We stayed on a half board basis and have no complaints about the food, there were plenty of selections, both hot and cold and also food grilled to order.
The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed a very pleasant stay in this hotel

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you so much for the time you have taken in order to let us know your personal opinion of your recent stay here.
Your comments help us a lot and we have the chance to improve our services.
It is nice to know that you were satisfied and had a fantastic time here.
Thank for valuing our clean and spacious rooms, the great beach location, the good choice of food, the friendly staff.
We hope to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My partner and I visited the VIK Gran Hotel at the end of Feb 2012.

At first we decided to visit Cornwall for a week but we when we crunched the numbers we decided to book a 'good value' short break in the sun. The temp was given as 15-20 degrees, so we expected it to be like a cool summers day here at home. Anyway, we ended up paying £250 for flights and transfers from Bristol to Malaga with 5 nights ALL INCLUSIVE in the Hotel.

Firstly, the Hotel was spotless, the outside pool area was clean, customer toilets were a pleasure to use and our room was serviced daily.

There was ‘all inclusive’ food and drink available from 7am to 11pm. The food was served buffet style and given the volumes eating in the restaurant I have to say again that it was kept spotless. The foodbar was always being topped up and cleaned. The catering was set up so if you missed a meal you could still get food to eat, it really was impressive.

For the main evening dinner session there was always a huge salad bar selection available, another 5 or more hot meal options plus 2 freshly grilled options. In addition to this there was a large selection of breads, deserts, ice creams, cakes and of course, tea, coffee, soft drinks, beer and wine. You really won’t go hungry here and if you have children I should imagine this place will tick all the boxes. The all inclusive beer and wines were perfectly OK.

There was a large bar/entertainment area which we used in the evenings, we didn’t book for the in house entertainment nor did we take much notice of it but what we did see looked like classic holiday hotel entertainment, a bit of dancing and audience participation stuff, to be honest I was busy destroying my misses at cards! There was also free WIFI available.

The Hotel is located right next to the beach and is built sideways on to the water so literally everyone gets a sea view (so don’t get roped into paying extra for one). There was a gate next to the pool area which lead right out to the lovely sandy beach. The water is literally 200 yards away.

The immediate area is relatively small and quiet, there are a few shops but nothing to get too excited about. The beach is lovely and there is a nice cafe/bar right at the end (as you walk out gate turn left), it’s a 10/15 min stroll down. The seafood and beverages were great and reasonably priced.

We used the bus to visit Marbella and Fuengirola and had great days at both places. All bus fares are singles only, about £2 each way and busses run really frequently so getting about is not an issue. Check out http://www.mijas-villas.com/places.aspx for other places to see nearby.

In summary we had a great experience and considered the Hotel to be brilliant value.

Go enjoy........

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view so no need to pay for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your appreciated time in order to let us know your personal opinion about your stay at our hotel.
Your review means a lot for us and we take it very seriously.
We are always working hard to keep on providing our high standards.
Therefore it motivates us so much to know that you highly recommend us to other travellers.
Thanks for valuing our clean and spacious rooms, our good offer of food, our friendly staff, our great location, our entertainment programme and our good value for money.
We hope to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Address: Urb. La Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.