We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Family Run Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cortijillo

El Cortijillo
Bulevard de la cala, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
+34 952 494065
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
“Brilliant Family Run Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

El Cortijillo is a friendly, family run restaurant that serves the most delicious food. From the minute you enter the restaurant to the minute you leave, you feel as if you're part of the "family". The food is always beautifully cooked and there is a good choice on the menu.

All the staff without fail are welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. At the end of your meal, they come around with a huge decanter out of which you get a lovely complimentary lemony liquor.

El Cortijillo is definitely worth a visit and it's one of the best restaurants in La Cala.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    9
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“wonderful food, wonderful family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Only found this little gem last year, though have holidays near this area every year! We went here for our 30th wedding anniversary last Sept and the family who run this restaurant made it very special! We have just returned from this year's hol and had two more visits to this fantastic, authentic place.....every single part of our meal was excellent....and we have tried many things between the four of us....paella, steak, chicken, prawn pil-pil, sangria....all second to none...best Spanish food anywhere and service to match, pay them a visit if in the area, you will not be disappointed.....we are greeted as old friends by this really genuine family.....muchas gracias Alonso y familia...hasta proximo ano...ahora en Escocia...es muy frio! Cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Really nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our second year returning to this restaurant and we ate there twice this year. It is a family run restaurant which serves lovely tasty food at a reasonable price with excellent friendly service. I would recommend that you book before you arrive as its always busy. We will definitely be back again next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is probably now the best restaurant in La Cala. The family run restaurant serves good quality traditional Spanish food at reasonable prices. Using it for the last few years I have tried many of the dishes available and can report consistent quality and good value. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A restaurant we keep going back to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Generally when in Spain, we base ourselves north of Malaga, so this restaurant is not situated anywhere near where we stay. However, we always try to visit once or twice a trip.

We find La Cala de Mijas a good location to stop at when travelling on the A7 as it is directly by the main road. We often stop here when travelling back from Estepona or Gibraltar.

Like many restaurants on the main street El Cortijillo has an indoor and outdoor area. The restaurant is usually very busy. Booking is recommended.

The food is fantastic. On separate occasions I have eaten paella and steak here and I can recommend both.

The staff and owners were great with my young children (2 & 4 last visit). They always keep them entertained, despite the packed restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cortijillo also viewed

 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 

Been to El Cortijillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cortijillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.