We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Family Run Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cortijillo

El Cortijillo
Bulevard de la cala | boulevar de la cala, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
+34 952 49 40 65
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
“Brilliant Family Run Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

El Cortijillo is a friendly, family run restaurant that serves the most delicious food. From the minute you enter the restaurant to the minute you leave, you feel as if you're part of the "family". The food is always beautifully cooked and there is a good choice on the menu.

All the staff without fail are welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. At the end of your meal, they come around with a huge decanter out of which you get a lovely complimentary lemony liquor.

El Cortijillo is definitely worth a visit and it's one of the best restaurants in La Cala.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Celticcreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“wonderful food, wonderful family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Only found this little gem last year, though have holidays near this area every year! We went here for our 30th wedding anniversary last Sept and the family who run this restaurant made it very special! We have just returned from this year's hol and had two more visits to this fantastic, authentic place.....every single part of our meal was excellent....and we have tried many things between the four of us....paella, steak, chicken, prawn pil-pil, sangria....all second to none...best Spanish food anywhere and service to match, pay them a visit if in the area, you will not be disappointed.....we are greeted as old friends by this really genuine family.....muchas gracias Alonso y familia...hasta proximo ano...ahora en Escocia...es muy frio! Cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank valanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Really nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our second year returning to this restaurant and we ate there twice this year. It is a family run restaurant which serves lovely tasty food at a reasonable price with excellent friendly service. I would recommend that you book before you arrive as its always busy. We will definitely be back again next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna27-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is probably now the best restaurant in La Cala. The family run restaurant serves good quality traditional Spanish food at reasonable prices. Using it for the last few years I have tried many of the dishes available and can report consistent quality and good value. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KitTat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A restaurant we keep going back to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Generally when in Spain, we base ourselves north of Malaga, so this restaurant is not situated anywhere near where we stay. However, we always try to visit once or twice a trip.

We find La Cala de Mijas a good location to stop at when travelling on the A7 as it is directly by the main road. We often stop here when travelling back from Estepona or Gibraltar.

Like many restaurants on the main street El Cortijillo has an indoor and outdoor area. The restaurant is usually very busy. Booking is recommended.

The food is fantastic. On separate occasions I have eaten paella and steak here and I can recommend both.

The staff and owners were great with my young children (2 & 4 last visit). They always keep them entertained, despite the packed restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cortijillo also viewed

La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 

Been to El Cortijillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing