We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Chef, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asador La Maroma

Asador La Maroma
Calle la Fuente, 29716 Canillas de Aceituno, Spain
+34 618 11 96 79
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Shepperton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“New Chef, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have visited the restaurant on my trips to the village and always enjoyed the friendly family run atmosphere it has. Decor also great. The last visit impressed me as the food had improved a lot. When I mentioned this, I found out that there was a new Chef and I must say it shows. House wine was good and the complimentary drink a nice touch. I will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very friendly waiters. Good service and great food. Nice and clean toilet. We are lucky to have free champagne and starter

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Double post”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This restaurant is already covered as 'asador la maroma' . Duplication like this causes confusion, and I suggest there should be a simple way to report it when this happens, tidying up Trip Advisor.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, friendly staff and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The food in La Maroma is very good indeed. I especially like the fried brie with cranberry sauce. Friendly family-run business. Very often with music or dancing on a Saturday.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A complimentary aperitif each started us off (after ordering the Rioja, which quite frankly was disappointing). We had quail salad (delicious) and breadcrumbed brie and 'jam' (rather dry and stodgy). Main courses were fillet of duck - a bit overdone - and a really very good Morocco goat stew (Chibo a la Maroma). There was far too much of this for me to eat! A complimentary cava to finish rounded off a meal which will stand out from the usual tapas offerings, even though it wasn't necessarily fine dining. We'll certainly go back - but be warned if you don't know the roads, negotiating the hairpin bends after a few drinks can be dangerous!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asador La Maroma also viewed

Canillas de Aceituno, Costa del Sol
Canillas de Aceituno, Costa del Sol
 
Canillas de Aceituno, Costa del Sol
Canillas de Aceituno, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Asador La Maroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asador La Maroma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.