We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manuel Mangani's Review of Hotel Villa Royale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Royale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Royale to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Royale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Royale 195, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Rabat, Malta
1 review
“Manuel Mangani's Review of Hotel Villa Royale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed for 2 nights between the 27th and 29th april.

The hotel is excellently located within a short walk of the metro and with Gare Centrale 10-15 minutes away on foot.

My only (very minor) compliant was that breakfast was slightly too expensive at €10, and that one afternoon I asked for a capuccino in the lobby and was charged €3 for it. But the overall experience was very good.

Room Tip: Nothing at all to complain about. Room was sufficienly spacey, clean and equipped with everying I ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    93
    115
    32
    23
See reviews for
27
111
35
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Stayed at this hotel for 60 euro/night, and you have to pay additional 10 euro for breakfast. For this mid-price level the hotel was not too bad. The location is off-centre, but close to North train station, and 15-20 minute walk to city centre if your pace is brisk. The staff were friendly, and breakfast was good with reasonable amount of choice. The lobby looks good, but the area for storage of suitcases was behind reception desk and could be easily reached by anyone which does not give a very safe feeling. The hotel is housed in an old building, so elevator and staircase are very small. The room I had was sober and clean, but overall it could be seen clearly that most of the furniture and finishings are quite old. Wifi is free and functioned relatively fast.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

They got us in early. Room was very clean and comfortable. The proximity to all things was great. Our only problem with the place was walking back after dark with the area not feeling very safe. Great service and kind people here. All in all a great deal.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

I want to start this review off with the statement that this place is around 50 euros a night... the place across the road is anything from 100-200 euros a night so put that into perspective when staying here. If you are spending a long time in Brussels this place might not be ideal but if you just need a place to crash this place is perfect for the price!

The staff do remind you of faulty towers with a policy of not allowing a single carry on bag to accompany you when having breakfast, and insist on you storing it in the luggage room which actually means putting it just next to the reception counter. Very strange to enforce such rules when you are the only person in the breakfast area...

Downsides:
The 10 euros breakfast was disappointing for price
The heaters in the room are set on hellfire mode so expect to wake up sweating
The elevators are tiny and only hold 4 people and no luggage
The toilet seat did not fit the size of the toilet bowl
The toilet roll holder was broken
There was no hook for the shower head so you had to hold it
The towels in the bathroom were a little small
There was no free toiletries (but they have soap/gel dispensers instead) which is better for the environment as less waste and you already have enough hotel soap at home you never use anyway...

Upsides:
The place is cheap
The rooms were clean
The bathroom is quite big and reasonably renovated
The room furniture was renovated and quite nice
There is soap and bath gel dispensers in the bathroom that are hypoallergenic
The shower pressure was insanely good, firehose level if you open the taps on full
I had a decent new Samsung LCD tv in my room
My bed was reasonably comfy
Breakfast is served until 10am so you can sleep in if you had a late night

Room Tip: Higher floors have nicer rooms with spa baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

I slept in this hotel for 2 nights and I am so glad they were just 2!!

The hall of the hotel is quite modern so it gave me the impression my room would reflect the same style but once I opened the door I found a "nice" surprise.

My room was located at the 2nd floor of the building,I did not expect an outstanding one, but the one I got was just BAD. The walls were scratched, and the furnishing in general need a complete refurbishment as soon as possible as everything was so old and rusty. The only positive thing was the "spacious" bathroom and the cleanliness in general.

The view from my window was not the best either, but hey..you cannot expect a lot for 100€ for 2 nights.

The thing that really got me extremely mad was that during the first night, at around 11pm, I heard a loud noise from the bathroom. Like someone in the room beside mine was drilling the wall. After 20 minutes of non-stopping noise I decided to go downstairs to the reception and reporting this problem. The receptionist apologized saying that he would go and check what was going on.
I came back to my room and everything seemed to be OK.
After 30 minutes ( it was midnight already) the same loud noise reappeared. I went downstairs again and reported AGAIN the issue. At that point the receptionist started to apologize again and told me that if that issue would reappear he would offer me a room change.. After this "Offer" the noise disappeared and I managed to sleep few hours. (what I found out the day later is that the room beside mine, the one where the noise was coming from, was actually under refurbishment).

The day after the hotel had 2 blackouts: one early in the morning when I woke up and another in the late evening.

All in all my worse experience in a hotel EVER.

PROS: free wi-fi , 15 mins walking distance from the city center
CONS: poor hotel maintenance, noisy, expensive breakfast (10€ !!)

Next time I will surely pay a bit more but I am sure I will not have such a bad experience as this one.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We spent a few days in Hotel Villa Royale. The staff were really helpful and kind, the ratio price-quality is good, the hotel and the room was clean and modern. The hotel is close to the center and to the metro and tram station.
Although the room was a bit small and there was no wifi connection in the room, it was a very enjoyable stay in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 123 is really quiet and has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Royale

Address: Rue Royale 195, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Hotel Brussels
Hotel Villa Royale Brussels, Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.