We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Colonies

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Colonies to your Saves list
Hotel des Colonies
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue des Croisades 6-10 | Sint-Joost-ten-Node, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Crawley
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Simple but good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This hotel is in a side road off Place Rogier an area with several major chain hotels charging rates of around €140 per night so to finding a deal at less than €100 per night was very satisfying. The hotel has some character and in places needs some refurbishment but is clean, quiet and offers free wi-fi. Staff were helpful and breakfast, while minimal continental, was adequate. The room I had was a little run down but again was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Anyone travelling to do business in the Rogier area would find this well situated and good value. As the trams run from Rogier to the city centre it may also serve those looking for a cheap city break.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your feeback on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

To stay informed about our various promotiona offers, we propose you to check our website and our reservation service stays at your disposal for any further information.

We're looking forward welcoming you back at Hotel Des Colonies on your next stay in Brussels.

Best Regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    83
    95
    33
    11
See reviews for
24
52
35
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I've just spent the weekend at this hotel.
I liked everything.The staff were pleasant,the room was very nice and the breakfast,served in a vast and very nice room ,was copious.
Gret value for money and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for chosen Hotel Des Colonies and to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear you had a nice stay at our hotel; your evaluation of our services and facilities is very much appreciated.
Please be assured I have shared your kind comments with all the staff of the hotel.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Hotel Des Colonies, may I take this opportunity to thank you again for your remarks.

Thank you for staying at Hotel Des Colonies.

Yours sincerely,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The location was excellent, Bruxelles Nord train station is 2 blocks away and metro station Rogier just outside the hotel. Also there are lots of shops in the area. Lobby was nice and elegant, and the hotel offers a free internet in the common area (wi-fi in the rooms cost 7 Euros per day). Staff seemed helpful and spoke english. However, the rooms were a bit disappointing. For example, my room only had 1 power socket, and it was located in the bathroom! I did not feel comfortable charging my electronic equipment in the sink... Also, there was no minibar, and the tv had just a handful of channels, and only 1 in english. The view from the window was to the inner "courtyard", but the truth is that I could see the opposite wall and a few windows to other rooms. So no view whatsoever, one could barely see the sky (the room was in the 2nd floor). Bathtub was a bit stressful as well, since there was nowhere to place the showerhead. You could only take a bath, or hold the showerhead in your hand. Bed was ok. Breakfast was only so-so, only the basics such as toast/jam/cereals/juice etc.
We payed about 60 Euros per night, but I saw in the lobby price list that some rooms cost 225 Euros! Definitely not worth it in my opinion.
There were loads of hotels in the neighborhood so I would probably choose one of them if I were to return to Brussels.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your experience in our hotel and we regret to hear the room was not at your satisfaction.

We have taken carefully note of your comments and we have forwarded the message to the Manager of the concerning department.

Despite your disappointment, we hope you will give us the chance to prove you that comments like yours are taken seriously and looking forward to welcome you back at Hôtel Des Colonies.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

This hotel is conveniently located if you are doing EC work at the nearby Covent Garden Building, and it is within the EC reimbursement rate for hotels. It is an easy walk from the train station (north). When you walk into the hotel, you will feel as if you have stepped back in time -- dated decor, dim lighting, small reception desk. My room was adequate -- two twin beds, tv on the wall, small desk and chair. No closet, but there were places to hang clothes. The room was very clean. The bathroom was also very clean, but worn -- so it was ok if you are more concerned with cleanliness than modern updated fixtures. I had quiet neighbors, which was good because it is easy to hear noises in adjoining rooms. Surprisingly, the breakfast was good -- large selection of items, including hard boiled eggs for the protein-hungry. Wifi is not available in the rooms, but is free in the lobby. This can be a problem if you need to work and have to trek up and down to access the internet.

I'd stay here again because the rate I got was decent and the location was good for my purposes. If you know what to expect, it's an ok place for Brussels.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel may be noisy because of the large tour buses parked outside that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed for a working week while doing EU evaluations at the nearby Covent Garden Building. Chosen because on-line reviews, especially fr business use, were OK in general. But the hotel is really not suitable for business if you need to work comfortably in the evenings.
I was given a three bed room, with a hand-held shower in the bath, which reminded me very much of the hostels of my youth. Most missed having no kettle in the room for tea/coffee. Clearly there are more modern berooms with proper showers, from the images posted here. But be prepared to be disappointed, unless you can negotiate for a specific room.
All this for over €100/night average [€140 on the most expensive night]. Although that included a decent breakfast, there was an extra charge per night for Wifi in the room. I would consider again for personal use if about €50/night.
The plus is the proximity to Gare du Nord, which is within walking distance. But more comfortable nearby hotels, though mostly >€100 per night, represent better value for a business trip, with the same plus.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasko, Slovenia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My company usually book this hotel and I stayed here a few times. Not that I prefer it or like it but it is somehow ok for Bruxelles. I stayed in a coupled of different rooms in this hotel at different floors. Hotel is a bit rusty and furniture is rather old fashioned and need some renovation. Rooms are clean but nothing spectacular to expect. They need renovation as you have that 70s or 80s feeling when you enter. But maybe for some generation from this time that is ok :). But all in all it is convenient location only 5 minutes walk from Gare du Nord what is convenient if you need to go to the airport in the morning. Breakfast place is nice, big and you have plenty to choose of. Internet is free of charge. I use it only in the lobby. What hotel also need to change is the front entrance door. They are banging heavy with each guest coming in or out. They need to soften that banging down. I wonder how this is not irritating for staff working all days and nights at the reception. What I also always lough is the price tag for the rooms at the reception desk, like saying single room 250EUR. I believe this is a price for guests that walk directly into the hotel? For what you get is more like level of 50 EUR hotel and not 5 times more, common....
But on a positive sight you can get even much worse in Bruxelles for the same price you pay for this hotel so i'm somehow neutral in my rating.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaen, Spain
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed two nights at this hotel in Brussels. I chose it because of the location, and the price (75 euros a night with breakfast, but without the local night taxes). The hotel is located next to the Sheraton/Crowne Plaza, etc., 10 minutes on foot from the Grand Place and some 7 minutes on foot to the train station, which also makes it a good option for those having to take a train to the airport, for example.

The cons of the hotel are the following: a) the rooms are cold; b) the decoration is from the old times, it really needs being refurnished!!!; c) Rooms are dimly lit; d) the lobby, where wifi connection is free is also dimly lit; e) the variety of food in the breakfast service is not good at all; f) I could hear the people next room watching telly :(

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Colonies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Colonies

Address: Rue des Croisades 6-10 | Sint-Joost-ten-Node, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Colonies 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Colonies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Colonies Hotel
Des Colonies Brussels
Hotel Des Colonies Brussels, Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Colonies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.