We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for-clean, basic rooms minus free wifi!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Boulevard 17, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium (Formerly Tulip Inn Brussels)   |  
Hotel amenities
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for-clean, basic rooms minus free wifi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have used this hotel before and have never had any problems with it.
The price is very reasonable for being so close to the town centre, the rooms are always very clean and the bed comfy. Staff always polite and helpful when required.
I have never paid for the breakfast as it seemed too steep and there are pleny of good places within walkig distance to the hotel to pick up breakfast, the rooms also have fridges so food can be stored in there to save you going out each morning.
The rooms are generally well sound proofed, only hear the toilet flushing next door once or twice.
Only thing that lets this place down for me is the lack of free wifi in the rooms, I have got used to this being provided in hotels across europe and begrudge being charged for it here-so went without, which is rather liberating for a few days!
Good basic hotel walking distance to the town centre, attractions and lots of shops!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    148
    89
    21
    13
See reviews for
29
103
15
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

this hotel charged me 2 nights fee while I only stayed 1 night, additionally, when I requested to refund via sending mails, calls, and also I provided proof of my bills. BUT, this hotel always got poor and very slow reply, even they didnt know they did the miastake and try to pretend nothing happened!, now my case is still pending, already 2 weeks passed, no matter how did I contact them, sending mails with doc., call them, asked my credit card issuer to contact them, no one from the hotel is willing to solve this problem, it's totally ridiculous!!!!! I suggest do not choose the hotel to live if you plan a vacation.......it's entirely poor service!!!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels

Roeselare, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel 2 seperate times for 1 night in the weekend while visiting a concert in Brussels.

The first time we paid between 80€-90€ for a room, the second time, beginning of december we paid 120€ for one room.

The room was extremely hot when we came in, the temperature was set to 30°C! Our friends room was very cold.

Rooms are clean, nice but small.

In the morning, at 8AM on Sunday, a housekeeping lady just came in without knocking. Appearently, our friends who stayed in another room on another floor experienced the same...

We also had a discount voucher from VISA specially for Thon Hotels (and others) but they didn't want to deduct it from our booking fees. On their website you could not use it either. The only possibility was then to book directly at the hotel and then you could use your voucher. So you have to go to the hotel to book before you go on your trip. Very practical!
We then asked to use it in the bar but this was not possible either.

Staff spoke English to us while we speak dutch and are in a dutch hotel...

The elevators take forever to get down during busy periods in the morning and in the evening.

I personally did not have breakfast in the morning, our friends did and said it was very good (13€ per person).

I think that there are better hotels with more value for your money in Brussels if you pay 120€ per night. But if you can book it for max. 100€, it is ok, no more no less...

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community of Madrid, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A modern, cheap and centrally-located hotel. I payed around 60 euros for the room. I stayed only one night but it was enough for what we wanted. The only thing I didn't like was that there were 4 lifts but they were very slow.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Like many reviews here , this is one of a bunch of hotels in this area. Its pluses are that the price value combination is good relative to competitors in the vicinity such as the Sheraton. The wifi in my room was free and impeccable, although the room facilities and overall experience are only average for Brussels. Still, if one HAS to be located near Rogier, this is a good proposition.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for four days. This is a good budget hotel with no frills if you are trying to stay at the City center. However I would like to list both positives and negatives about this hotel.

First the positives:

1. Very helpful Reservation staff - interacted with them prior to my visit through online reservation, direct emails and phone - in each case interaction was great and positive.
2. Great location - at centre of city - plenty of eateries close by - next to taxi stand and metro stations
3. Good room, nice bed

Negatives

1. Elevators are pathetic. Small. Can accommodate very few people. With few guests carrying their luggage - it becomes very difficult. Had to face waiting times of more than 10 minutes in the morning.
2. No concierge services. Front desk was kind of okay - but not always very helpful when it comes to directions for traveling within the city.

3. No restaurant and in-room services. You have to always go out for dinner or lunch.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammel, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Thon Hotel has what you need - no luxury there! You get what you pay for, and the hotel keeps that promise. The hotel is centrally located on the border of the city center - it takes about 10 minutes to get to the downtown area on foot. It is close to Brussels Noord train station, and it is in an area where you easily find restaurants etc.

My advice would be to use the hotel, if you are on business.

The room was clean and silent. The wifi was very good, and the heating system a bit of a mystery, but it worked. Staff was friendly and available.

Would I choose this hotel again - yes, and mainly due to the cost/value ratio, which were just fine.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre

Address: Avenue du Boulevard 17, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium (Formerly Tulip Inn Brussels)
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre is a hotel that offers infrastructure in keeping with both the requirements of business travellers and tourist alike. The hotel is located in the Brussels city centre and possesses 13 function rooms of which the largest has a capacity of 400 persons. It is also the first Thon hotel which offers express check-in/check-out kiosks that provide the ultimate level of self-service automation, privacy and convenience for hotel guests.Express Check-in / Check-out:This solution has been installed to leverage your comfort level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.