We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big mess” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Brussels City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Brussels City to your Saves list
Hilton Brussels City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Rogier 20 | Sint-Joost-ten-Node, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Brussel, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A big mess”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I selected to this hotel based on its proximity to the ERC building. The hotel shut off the central heating in mid April, and the room was decidedly cold on arrival. The staff did not know or understand this basic fact, and fiddled for at least one hour with controls, valves, and buttons to try to turn on the heather. Eventually they gave up and I had to sleep with a portable electric heater emitting a strong red light all night long. The Internet connection was fairly expensive (20EUR) and turned out to work rather poorly -- in fact not at all at times. I booked this relatively expensive hotel on an important business trip to avoid "bad surprises". I had plenty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    509
    387
    154
    60
See reviews for
115
448
150
493
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here over the last weekend for my 40th birthday. It is a lovely clean and modern hotel which is well located for Brussels site seeing with a Metro stop 150 yards from the hotel entrance.

The rooms were very clean and the bed was huge. There is a TV, minibar and well sized bathroom. There is free wifi in reception which was a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was good and there was plenty of choice for both coooked and continental options

The highlight of the hotel was the bar next to reception that we had a couple of drinks in after each evening out and before bed. The barman, Youssef, was great fun and we really enjoyed speaking with him about Brussels and his home country of Spain. He was so welcoming and very kindly opened a bottle of champagne for us at midnight of my birthday. Very happy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Although the Hilton is situated conveniently in the center of Brussels, the rooms are minuscule European and very basic. I suppose my expectation of a Hilton was a little bit higher, having stayed in many Hilton hotels around the world.
The service and staff were efficient enough. Given the prices of hotels in Brussels, I guess this fits in to the mid range not obscenely expensive (not cheap either).

Room Tip: I was supposedly on the HiltonHonors floor...(6th)...nothing to write home to Mom about
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I had a single room. Well, it was the smallest room I've ever seen! The bathroom is just tiny! Yes, it was clean, the quality of cosmetics in the bathroom was good enough, but the room was too small.
The most unbelievable thing was that in a 4* hotel, where the majority of visitors are businessmen - the Internet access costs 7 EUR/hour! Unbelievable! Look, it is the year 2013, the center of Europe, business class hotel and I should pay extra for the Internet?! There is a free Internet even in some 2* hotel.
No shoe brush in the room.
Also it is a noisy place and even with the closed window it was difficult to sleep there.
Moreover, one night I was woken up by some alarm signal.
Also telephone in the room has very loud and unpleasant signal. Once somebody called to my room at night when I was sleeping. And believe me, I wasn't very happy to here this loud signal at night!
Ok, there are also positive things: good breakfast, location, friendly stuff. And usually if you are not planning you visit in advance, then Hilton is one of the hotels that always has rooms.
All in all, these negative aspects make me choose another hotel from the same price category instead of Hilton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a well above average hotel which you would always expect from Hilton. It is well situated in the centre of the city and is well presented internally. The only minor let downs for me were;

Housekeeping came in after first night and tidied but left used coffee cup by bed
Robe was like cardboard and well worn
Common areas are a little small making the hotel feel a little cramped when busy

Otherwise it was good.

The food is excellent and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Would stay again for sure.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent 5 days at this hotel. This was my 2nd and 3rd time staying at the hotel. I had a one day break between stays in the same week.

My first room was small, but efficient, the second one was more spacious since it was on the HHonors floor, but the TV was quite old, not a flat screen.

Overall the tront desk staff was helpful and friendly. There were a few trainees on duty while I was there and they seem to multitask, the person who greeted me at the entrance to the hotel also delivered my room service.

Room service was OK, decent wine selection and desserts. I also ate at the restaurant twice, once for lunch and once for dinner. It seems to be a popular place for lunch since I was told that it was completely booked for lunch and was offered the option to eat at the bar or squeeze in at the long bar/table at the center of the restaurant. The special menu for lunch was good and good value. I wouldn't have dinner again, the wine I was given tasted like vinegar so I did not drink it and the service was extremely slow, almost nonexistent.

There's not much around the hotel, except for other hotels and a mall. I needed to wander out for breakfast each morning since the hotel's breakfast was expensive, I think around 30 euros. I walked for 20 minutes before finding something that was open before 8 amAfter 8 am, . the area comes to life.

The hotel is in walking distance to Grand Place and a train station I think Gare du Nord.

There are steps to get to the elevator which can be a pain if you have a lot of luggage. I also got stuck in the elevator once during my stay. It is also being refurbished so there was netting on the outside of the hotel.

Overall, quite different than my first stay there and after the third time all in all, a decent place to stay in Brussels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

stayed one night on March 31 and I really enjoyed my room. Although I did't have enough time to spend in the room, while there, I really liked having a huge flat screen across from my huge bed which was very comfortable.

Location is a big advantage as well with a 3 min walk from the north train station and a mere 15 min from the Grand Place.

My flight was leaving late in the afternoon so I asked if I could have a late check out which was gladly given to me(3 pm) - thank you.

This is my hotel on my next visit to Brussels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Brussels City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brussels City

Address: Place Rogier 20 | Sint-Joost-ten-Node, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brussels City 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights•Situated in the heart of Brussels near the Rue Neuve shopping district•A few minutes’ walk from Brussels Gare du Nord station•Close to World Trade Center and popular attractions including Grand Place City Square•Wireless internet access, business center and Scandinavian Wellness and Health Club •Bien Belge Living Lounge restaurant and bar serving Belgian specialties, fine wine and beerSituated in the center of downtown Brussels, within yards of Gare du Nord station and in close proximity to the Rue Neuve shopping district and the World Trade Center, the Hilton Brussels City hotel is the ideal place to stay when you are visiting Belgium’s capital. All the facilities are in place to allow you to remain productive during your stay. With wireless internet access, a business center and a range of meeting rooms you will be able to work with the minimum of hassle.After a busy day in Brussels or a long journey, you can relax and rejuvenate in the Scandinavian Wellness and Health Club and sample the delicious Flemish cuisine on offer in the Bien Belge Living Lounge restaurant and bar. Offering responsive service and stylish contemporary comfort in an enviable location, this Brussels hotel has everything you need to make the most of your stay in one of Europe’s most vibrant cities.Local Attractions •Stroll to Brussels’ famous Grand Place, the center of the Old City’s pavement café culture•Stop in at Marcolini’s Chocolatiers and buy some handmade Belgian chocolates to take home•Experience world class shops located on the Rue Neuve •Visit the Delerium Café•View one of the world’s finest collections of pre-modern art at the Musée d’Art Ancien ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Brussels City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brussels City Hotel Saint-Josse-Ten-Noode
Brussels Hilton
Hilton Brussels City Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Brussels City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.