We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Markets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Brussels City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Brussels City to your Saves list
Hilton Brussels City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Rogier 20 | Sint-Joost-ten-Node, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Christmas Markets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2007

Stayed at the City Hilton for 4 nights to visit the Christmas markets and generally do a bit of shopping. I found the hotel easy to find from Gare Du Nord but do think their website could help a little more with directions. The location is fantastic, you are literally over the road from one of the main shopping streets. I didn't eat at the Hilton as it was extortionately expensive. Not many people did seem to eat there to be honest. There are plenty of good eating places in Brussels for all price ranges. It didn't matter where we ate, the food was always first class - even in Pizza Hut!
Back to the hotel,the rooms were very good, the bed was as comfortable as i've ever slept on. In general i'd recommend staying here if you can get a deal but maybe wouldn't pay full price.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    554
    415
    167
    68
See reviews for
133
479
154
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

Had a wonderful experience.

First of all, the hotel is located in an easy-to-reach spot. If you take the shuttle train from the airport to Gare du Nord, you can walk the 5 minutes down Rue du Progres to the hotel. It is about 9 Euros to take a cab and that takes 30 seconds. So save your money. Everyone walks.

Second, it pays to be a Hilton Honors member. They may upgrade your room to a floor of all Honors members. That floor has its own manager to help your stay be the best. The room was luxurious and roomy. Terry robe, slippers, lovely bath, etc. Quiet too.

Here's how Hilton handles problems: my door lock had a problem and they cheerfully let me in each time. Being a Sunday, the tech was away and they would have changed the room had I stayed longer. Instead, they provided champagne and Belgian chocolates for my trouble. That's never happened to me in any other hotel. When I said "cheerfully"--when has any hotel staff ever been cheerful when they presented you with an inconvenience on your short trip.

Stay here. It's conveniently located for walking or taking the subway (right outside the hotel). You can go to the Leonardo da Vinci show at the Koekelberg Basilica (end by subway from here and it is really easy.

  • Liked — lovely room and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

We stayed at this hotel at the end of November for the weekend. We got a good deal on the Hilton Website for 68 EUR per room per nite. It is a nice modern hotel in the centre of Brussels, right acorss the road from the main shopping area. It is approx 5 min walk from the train station Brussels Nord so is an ideal place to stay if you want to shop or sight see. All the main attractions can be found by merely strolling down through the high street and at the end the sign posts guide you to the Mannepis, Grand Place etc.
The hotel itself is very clean and modern. We stayed in a King Size room on the 8th floor and although the bed was huge and quite comfy, the room was TINY! You basically had room to get into the room and round the side of the bed and that was it as there was a chair and desk with TV against the wall so it's tight. Storage is also Minimal... with the wardrobes being very slim in a corner and only able to hold approx 5 items. The bathroom was quite large though with a bath and shower in one. Overall it was a nice clean room and the only issue was the size, however for that price you can't really complain.
Brussels is a lovely city and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Hilton City Hotel if you want to be central and don't mind the small rooms.

  • Liked — Clean and Modern
  • Disliked — It was probably one of the smallest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

Very good position opposite the Rue Neuve - shopping street. A 10-15 minute walk to the main square. Hotel very clean, staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms very clean and of a reasonable size. Coffee/tea making facilities in the room.
Only negative comment is the high price of the buffet breakfast. which catered for every taste. Hotel restaurant was reasonably priced though and the food was very good.
Hotel is a short ride from the Midi train station.

  • Liked — Proximity to everything
  • Disliked — High price of breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

The hotel is in an OK location. Its not hard to find and is in easy walking distance of all the attractions. Its definately a business hotel with small rooms.
For the price we paid I was happy but I would not have paid any more. It didnt really seem like a regular Hilton. It was more like just another business hotel.
No complaints though. Clean, tidy, friendly.

  • Liked — Relatively inexpensive
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

I am a Hilton honors diamond member and found this hotel nice but with poor service. They were 35 mins late for my wake up call and did not apologize. I found the location adequate but a little out of the way. My room was a large... especially by European standards. It was clean and well equipped too. The lobby is OK and the hallways too. The reception staff was indifferent when it came to customer service.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

We only stayed in this hotel for 2 nights using points, so we can't really complain TOO much. However, it was probably the worst Hilton I've ever stayed at.

The room wasn't very clean -- the floor was dirty and the bathroom had hairs in it (that wasn't ours) when we first arrived. Also, the drain in the shower/tub drained too slowly.

Because of the contemporary design of the hotel room, there was hardly any closet space and no shelves to place your clothes. Also, instead of a traditional shower curtain, there was a glass that only covered half of the tub so when you shower in the tub, water gets all over the bathroom floor!

Pros of the hotel: the bed was comfortable and is in a pretty good location. It's right next to a metro stop and close to a train station (Gare Nord), which was convenient to us since we took side trips (to Brugges and Antwerp) the 2 days we were there.

Another con of the hotel is that there is no concierge and the front desk is not all too knowledgeable. However, the bartenders were pleasant to talk to and were more informative.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness of room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Brussels City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brussels City

Address: Place Rogier 20 | Sint-Joost-ten-Node, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brussels City 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights•Situated in the heart of Brussels near the Rue Neuve shopping district•A few minutes’ walk from Brussels Gare du Nord station•Close to World Trade Center and popular attractions including Grand Place City Square•Wireless internet access, business center and Scandinavian Wellness and Health Club •Bien Belge Living Lounge restaurant and bar serving Belgian specialties, fine wine and beerSituated in the center of downtown Brussels, within yards of Gare du Nord station and in close proximity to the Rue Neuve shopping district and the World Trade Center, the Hilton Brussels City hotel is the ideal place to stay when you are visiting Belgium’s capital. All the facilities are in place to allow you to remain productive during your stay. With wireless internet access, a business center and a range of meeting rooms you will be able to work with the minimum of hassle.After a busy day in Brussels or a long journey, you can relax and rejuvenate in the Scandinavian Wellness and Health Club and sample the delicious Flemish cuisine on offer in the Bien Belge Living Lounge restaurant and bar. Offering responsive service and stylish contemporary comfort in an enviable location, this Brussels hotel has everything you need to make the most of your stay in one of Europe’s most vibrant cities.Local Attractions •Stroll to Brussels’ famous Grand Place, the center of the Old City’s pavement café culture•Stop in at Marcolini’s Chocolatiers and buy some handmade Belgian chocolates to take home•Experience world class shops located on the Rue Neuve •Visit the Delerium Café•View one of the world’s finest collections of pre-modern art at the Musée d’Art Ancien ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Brussels City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brussels City Hotel Saint-Josse-Ten-Noode
Brussels Hilton
Hilton Brussels City Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Brussels City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.