We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Brussels Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Brussels Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Brussels Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Rogier 3, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice modern hotel, Club rooms are extremely spacious and offer nice views across the city. Location is very central and close to metro and other transport links. Food was incredibly overpriced and simple terrible. We ordered chicken dishes but the meat didn't look or taste like chicken! Check in and checkout was efficient. Staff at the bar friendly however not so much on reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer_SBH, General Manager at Sheraton Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Alex - Thank you for your review and overall positive comments (except for the dinner which we are very sorry to hear was not to your liking :-/ ).
We really look forward to having you come try us again during your next stay in Brussels!
All the best,
Palmer Colamarino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    511
    316
    112
    57
See reviews for
191
309
106
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night, we paid £70 for a double room. Overall, the hotel is dated but these sort of chains such as the Hilton, Ramada and Sheraton are all stuck in a bit of an 80's time warp. First impressions the hotel is large and was easy to find from the North train station. The receptionist was very impersonal and I was not particularly impressed when she demanded my credit card for a 50 euro hold on my account. I understand that this may be the hotel's policy, not that I was informed of it, but the way it was said was not particularly friendly or informative. I had to ask how long these funds would take until they would be back in my account and whether or not I could pay it in cash instead. Other than that our room was very large with a good sized bed and view. They also have free facilities such as swimming pool and sauna which were useful. The hotel is a bit dated and is very expensive 26 euros each for breakfast and 15 euros for a vodka and glass of wine. However, we did pay £72 for the room which was a very reasonable price for what we got. I wouldn't want to spend a lengthy period of time here, but it's close by to the Grand Place and as long as you're just there as a stop over for a night or two it's more than reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer_SBH, General Manager at Sheraton Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear UK traveller,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the large and comfortable room and Sweet Sleeper bed.
As the receptionist should have explained to you (and apologies if it was not well explained), it is Sheraton's standard policy to block 50 Euros per day on your credit card for incidental spend (however this amount is NOT actually charged but only pre-authorized upon check-in; Upon check-out this pre-authorization is replaced by your actual spend, if any).
We do hope you will come back to stay with us again during your next visit to Brussels.
Kind regards,
Palmer Colamarino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Because I stayed in this hotel before I booked it again for one night because of its location and an attractive room rate. The room was on the 22nd floor, Sheraton Preferred Guest Level, with a view on Place Rogier. The room was clean and spacious, the king bed very comfortable. There was widescreen TV but it took a time to find Flemish/ Dutch channels. Bathroom was okay, although the plumbing looked a bit outdated. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice off food, fresh Orange juice and good coffee. You could order fried eggs etc. as you like it.

However, for such a large hotel the lobby is relatively small especially the check in area at the moments when groups are checking in.

The Gare du Nord and a metro station are nearby. The interesting historic city centre is on walking distance, but the neighbourhoods around the centre always make a shabby impression on me.

Overall it was again a good experience especially in view of the attractive rate I paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer_SBH, General Manager at Sheraton Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your complete review and positive comments and ratings, very much appreciated!
We do hope you will come back soon to your Sheraton "home-away-from-home" in Brussels for all the amenities and central location as you have mentioned :-)
Very kind regards,
Palmer Colamarino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Sheraton was a 5 star property but has already lost a star. Given the level of service they are still great, having a pool is a nice token but the pool is really ice-cold without any pleasure in using it.

We got an upgrade to the Executive Floor, which rooms in the same over-aged and worn-out stage as the whole hotel is. The disappointing downside was that we did not get the amenities of this level. Either upgrade completely or leave it. But half-upgrades make no-one happy.

Room Tip: Better ask if they have already refurbished rooms. Ours was worn-down and not really that great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer_SBH, General Manager at Sheraton Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear traveller - We are sorry to read of your disappointment opn certain aspects, although we are very glad to hear that you think our service is top ranking :)
For a point of accuracy, our rooftop swimming pool is kept at a constant temperature of 26 degrees celsius. And I'm not sure we understand your comment on not receiving the amenities of our Club rooms? ...
But in any case we really do hope you will come back soon to try us again!
Very kind regards,
Palmer Colamarino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I gave 5 stars because I was impressed with the size of my room that had 2 double beds and space for one more... Breakfast is very nice, fresh juise is a fact, fresh fruit too. Of course some negatives are the wifi which is to be paid and the plumpings where it takes some time to fix cold and warm water....bed was very relaxing and in general I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: My room was on 24 floor...no 13 floor exists!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer_SBH, General Manager at Sheraton Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Kyriakos - A sincere thank you for your kind words and 5 star rating, much appreciated!
We are so glad that you enjoyed our large and comfortable rooms and Sweet Sleeper beds, as well as finding good value our full Buffet Breakfast at the Crescendo restaurant.
We look forward to having you back soon for another relaxing stay in our hotel!
Kind regards,
Palmer Colamarino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Location are pretty good with walking distance to Grand Place but everthing seems to be too old,maybe times too renovate.The only Thing i still tolerable is the buffet breakfast with variety of choices.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer_SBH, General Manager at Sheraton Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied (except for the breakfast quality, thank you) - but do know that we continue to work with our owning company on the plans for the upcoming hotel renovation starting in the (hopefully not too distant) future.
Very kind regards,
Palmer Colamarino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was there earlier this month with my partner and young kids.
After reading TA's reviews, I was ready to get back to the 70's in a very outdated hotel... Finally, my room, though I definitively cannot describe as trendy, was not that old-fashioned. That was the 1st good surprise.
The 2nd good surprise was the size of the room: my two-double bedroom was very large.
3rd good surprise was the comfort of the room: excellent beds, though not very large (enough for us, but maybe not suitable for other reviewers), good shower, absolutely no noise from other rooms, etc.
Last, though our room had no impressive view over the city (I could not complain, since I got an excellent rate...), it offered an interesting view over the crycrapers that reminds in a way the atmosphere of NYC (+ the fact that you are in an American hotel)...

Last, the environnment...
Very convenient : on Place Rogier (5 stops from Thalys Station) and 5 min walk from the Norther Station. A lot of restaurant and shops around, in a busy area.

Finally, I would definitively return, even if I may not recommend this hotel to people who search a romantic place in the old Brussels...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer_SBH, General Manager at Sheraton Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear traveller,
Perhaps your reference of "a taste of NYC" is why the building complex beyind the hotel is called the "Manhattan Center" :-)
We are very glad to hear that your family enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton so much as well as the urban comforts in the vicinity, and do hope you will come back to see us again soon.
Very kind regards,
Palmer Colamairno
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Brussels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Brussels Hotel

Address: Place Rogier 3, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Brussels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Brussels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Brussels Hotel Belgium
Brussels Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Brussels Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.