We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Brussels Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Brussels Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Brussels Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Rogier 3, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Old hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Location are pretty good with walking distance to Grand Place but everthing seems to be too old,maybe times too renovate.The only Thing i still tolerable is the buffet breakfast with variety of choices.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer_SBH, General Manager at Sheraton Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied (except for the breakfast quality, thank you) - but do know that we continue to work with our owning company on the plans for the upcoming hotel renovation starting in the (hopefully not too distant) future.
Very kind regards,
Palmer Colamarino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    558
    355
    117
    65
See reviews for
219
336
112
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was there earlier this month with my partner and young kids.
After reading TA's reviews, I was ready to get back to the 70's in a very outdated hotel... Finally, my room, though I definitively cannot describe as trendy, was not that old-fashioned. That was the 1st good surprise.
The 2nd good surprise was the size of the room: my two-double bedroom was very large.
3rd good surprise was the comfort of the room: excellent beds, though not very large (enough for us, but maybe not suitable for other reviewers), good shower, absolutely no noise from other rooms, etc.
Last, though our room had no impressive view over the city (I could not complain, since I got an excellent rate...), it offered an interesting view over the crycrapers that reminds in a way the atmosphere of NYC (+ the fact that you are in an American hotel)...

Last, the environnment...
Very convenient : on Place Rogier (5 stops from Thalys Station) and 5 min walk from the Norther Station. A lot of restaurant and shops around, in a busy area.

Finally, I would definitively return, even if I may not recommend this hotel to people who search a romantic place in the old Brussels...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer_SBH, General Manager at Sheraton Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear traveller,
Perhaps your reference of "a taste of NYC" is why the building complex beyind the hotel is called the "Manhattan Center" :-)
We are very glad to hear that your family enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton so much as well as the urban comforts in the vicinity, and do hope you will come back to see us again soon.
Very kind regards,
Palmer Colamairno
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights for vacation.
Regarding the feeling you get from the first minute you enter the hotel, you think that you are there for a business trip. It is the part of town is located plus the hotel itself giving the business feeling. Normally I would say I don't recommend it to tourists who is looking for a cosy stay but to be honest I was quite happy with my stay there.
Main reason is the location.
First off all it is within walking distance to touristic attractions of Brussels. To give an idea it took 15 minutes walking to Grand Place; and all the way you walk through the pedestrian zone making the walk very enjoyable.
Second key point about the location is the Brussels North Train station; it is just a few hundred meters away; just 5 minutes walk;
As every tourist should do, we travelled to Brugge, Gent and Antwerp using the very efficient train system and we enjoyed all of those 3 cities very much.
The room they gave us was "used"; it was not messy but it was obvious that somebody sat or reclained on the bed and used the toilet. It was annoying but they took immediate action and saved the day. I think paying less than 50 euros for two per night for a 4 star hotel in such a convenient location for our plans made us feel easy about anything even the "used" room.
By the way the room was very large; it was quite clean (except being used); hotel stuff was good & helpful.
I can say the hotel needs a little refurbishing for sure; it is definitely tired.
If I go back to Brussels, I would stay there for business for sure but for vacation only if I get similar rates.
By the way although I liked Brussels unlike many other people; I am not sure if I would stay in Brussels as a tourist again, knowing there is a wonderful city called "Brugge" just an hour away :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer_SBH, General Manager at Sheraton Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Greetings Karayzlik and thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
We are glad that you were hotels "quite happy with your stay here", although we are sorry to hear about the mishap with the room upon check-in (that certainly is an exception and shoul not have happened, our apologies!). We are especially happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location, our large and clean rooms, and also found our staff to be "good & helpful".
We do hope you will come back through the Sheraton Brussels on your next trip to Belgium - and Brugges :-)
Kind regards,
Palmer Colamarino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel was very tired with poor services. Could hear everything from the room next door, including the TV and alarm, the central heating controls didn’t work, and neither did the Wi-Fi. All in all, a disappointing stay from a well-known (expensive) chain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer_SBH, General Manager at Sheraton Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your disappointment. Concerning the room condition in general, please be aware that we are in the planning phases for a significant renovation of the guestrooms in the coming future. Although this will not help in relation to your past stay at our hotel, please believe us that we are ‘pushing’ our owning company to continue with the renovation/refresh process as soon as possible.
Thank you for having shared your comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you again to the Sheraton Brussels Hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Palmer Colamarino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels

Houston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at Sheratons and Starwood properties all over the world, and this one is probably the most disappointing. The picture of the room on the Sheraton Brussels website is misleading. The nice updated room is the presidential suite, while all the other rooms look like they are from the 80s. The entire hotel smells of smoke, even the "non-smoking" rooms. The bed is uncomfortable, and the pillows are useless.

I reserved a king bed, and upon check-in was given a room with 2 double beds. Huh?? The front desk guy said he thought we would prefer to be on a club floor with 2 doubles rather than a non-club floor with a king. We chose the non-club floor with the king, even though we are Gold and should have been on a Club floor...

The lobby has signs everywhere to watch your belongings, as thieves "look like you and me." There indeed appeared to be shady people in the lobby, which brings me to ask...why are these people allowed in the hotel?? I understand there is no reasonable way to screen guests from non-guests, but I expect more from a Starwood property.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer_SBH, General Manager at Sheraton Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear World Traveler,
We are very sorry to hear about your overall disappointment. We are also sorry that we did not have a king-size bedded room available upon your moment of check-in (about half our rooms have one large bed, and the others two full-size beds). We certainly try our utmost to allocate room types based upon guest preference. For accuracy, our valued SPG Gold members like yourself are generally given an SPG-Preferred (higher) Floor upon availability (instead it is our SPG Platinum members who are upgraded to a Club room or Suite upon availability).
With respect, the pictues on our hotel website are currently three which show guestrooms (one classic, one junior suite, one presidential suite, all clearly marked). And please also be aware that the yellow signs you saw in the lobby area are part of a "urban safety" (pickpocket) campaign of the Brussels Hotel Association being done in all member hotels.
We do hope you will come back again to give us another chance.
Kind regards,
Palmer Colamarino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Easter vacation with the family, the hotel is a 15 minute walk to The Grande Place, but be careful on which route to take, one takes you past a very nice shopping centre and the other takes you past the "Red Light" district !
The hotel is a 3 star plus rather than a 4 star in my opinion, it could do with a make over and redecoration, then it would be worth more.
Many people have commented that breakfast is very expensive - if travelling with family the best Top Tip is to book a Club Room, for an additional 60 Euros per room you get free breakfast, snacks all day long alcohol in the evenings well worth the extra, but not if you are travelling alone. The staff in the Club Room were either fantastic or rude, espically when it was coming to the end of breakfast as they were trying to clear away the food.
Forget the Spar very expensive !!

All in all a nice hotel but could do with some money spent on the rooms

Room Tip: Book a Club Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer_SBH, General Manager at Sheraton Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you Roger for taking the time to leave a review with your observations and points for improvement. Please be aware that we continue to work with our owning company on planning the eventual renovation starting in the (hopefully not-too-distant) future.
We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you, alone or with family, back again soon to the Sheraton.
Kind regards,
Palmer Colamarino
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and convenient to the main tourist attractions. You can walk to thek and the Subway to the Airport is right downstairs. The Club Lounge is fantastic and the staff is one of the best in the world. the rooms are very nice and the the hotel is agreat place to stay in Brussels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer_SBH, General Manager at Sheraton Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your extremely kind and encouraging words!! WOW - "The Club Lounge is fantastic and the staff is one of the best in the world."
It is great to read that you understand how much our Sheraton associates work to deliver a warm welcome to all our guests who keep coming back throughout the years to reconnect at Sheraton Brussels!
All the best,
Palmer Colamarino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Brussels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Brussels Hotel

Address: Place Rogier 3, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Brussels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Brussels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Brussels Hotel Belgium
Brussels Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Brussels Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.