We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No unpleasant surprises” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Siru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Siru to your Saves list
Hotel Siru
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Rue des Croisades, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“No unpleasant surprises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in October 2012, payed 60 eur for 1 night in a single bedroom.

Area is a bit dull but you are just a few minutes walk from the main sights and shopping streets (I arrived by train to Gare Nord railway station which is also very close). Closest metro station is Rogier which is a few seconds walk from the hotel.

I suspect I was upgraded to a double room, which was very nice, spacious, clean and had a nice view from the fifth floor. Slight noise intrusion from the hallway but nothing major,


The room and ensuite bathroom had a fresh feel to it. Bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. Wifi worked without any problems.

Two things: Key card system was a bit of a mystey to me at first as I was used to a different system, but read on the back of your key card and you'll be aright. Also I could only find one electrical outlet in the entire room and on in the bathroom.

Hotel has a secure luggage room which is nice.

Did not try the breakfast as it was not included and there were many cafés around.

Staff was friendly enough!

Only reason it doesn't get 5/5 was that the breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, Directeur général at Hotel Siru, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear JohnnyBoiii,

We would like to thank you for your kind message and to take time to share your mind about your stay at the hotel Siru.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel in Brussels and that you liked the room we assigned to you for your stay. We are pleased to learn that you have appreciated that your bed was so comfortable in your room and that the hotel was good located.

We are sorry that there were not enough electrical outlet for you in your room and we have taken note of this.

We thank you once again for your kind comment and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon at the hotel Siru in Brussels.

Best Regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    63
    70
    22
    17
See reviews for
14
52
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed the night of 16th October. While there was lots of Scottish football fans in town that night generating demand, charging > €300 for a small room with plenty of outside noise and minimal facilities was pure rip off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, Directeur général at Hotel Siru, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear LooneyTours,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience at Hotel Siru on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry that you were disappointed by your stay and we sincerely regret that the delivered service didn’t meet your expectations.

Despite the football game and the noise outside, Hotel Siru is generally considered, by our customers, as meeting rather well the standards and level of service it aims to deliver.

Despite your disappointment, we hope that you will give us the chance, during a next stay at Hotel Siru, to prove you that we can deliver a much better service quality as the one you unfortunately received.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The rooms are small. The bathroom is very clean and works well. The curtains don't keep out the light well enough. I could clearly hear conversation from the next door room until 2am. I am a heavy sleeper, you might not be so lucky.

The cost was about €120/night which is only OK compared to the huge prices in other Brussels city hotels that week (200-250 night).

There is an odd smell in the corridors and reception but I can live with that. Staff are friendly. Free WiFi

The location is central and near the metro.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, Directeur général at Hotel Siru, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Nyomnyom,

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience at Hotel Siru.

We are very happy to hear that you especially enjoyed the cleanliness of the room and bathroom, the friendliness of the staff, the good and central location of the hotel as well as the free wireless in the room.

Regarding the curtain and the odd smell, I can assure you that your feedback will seriously be taken into consideration so that further action can be completed in order to improve the quality of our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at Hotel Siru.

Kind regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

All previous reviews are correct, great hotel. Great position. Only one problem...
Maybe I'm fussy, but to me the joint smelt funny. I think the corridors in particular, and the rooms to a lesser extent , are not cleaned properly. Not so bad cause it's not your room, but there is defintley a sour smell in the hallway.

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the main road, and are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, Directeur général at Hotel Siru, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Tony U,

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience at Hotel Siru.

We are happy to hear that you agree with fact that our hotel is great and well located.

Regarding the unpleasant smell, this is a bit weird because as you had probably read in the previous comments, our hotel is rather know as fresh and clean. This is as least what most of the customers notice and share in their comments.

But be sure that our Housekeeping Department has been informed and they will take necessary action so that it doesn’t happen anymore.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. We hope that it didn’t disrupt your stay and that you enjoyed your visit in Brussels.

Despite this, we hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again at Hotel Siru.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I booked a room at Hotel Siru 3 hours before getting there because we found a great deal (around 50 euros a night) and the reviews were pretty good.

We arrived at 7pm and left the bags at the reception to go to the supermarket. Raschid (I really hope I'm writing his name write as he was super nice) at the reception advised us on where to go to buy wine at the time and where to get there. The room is small but it's more than enough if you want a place to shower and sleep, and it was super clean. The shower is good and the internet is fast. What more could you want?

On the next day we left our bags at the reception again and had lunch on a nearby steakhouse (lot of restaurants and bars around) and on a thai/vietnamese later. The main attractions are really close by and we have been everywhere by feet, plus there's a shopping mall and a tram station 2 minutes away.

It's not a romantic or luxury hotel but definitely worth if you want to explore the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, Directeur général at Hotel Siru, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Mariana C.,

We would like to thank you for your review that you shared with us on TripAdvisor.
Thank you for your nice and motivating comments that I have forwarded with the mentioned employee you can be sure.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed both the location and the room, especially the cleanliness, the shower and the internet.

Such comments are the best reward we can hope for and proof that our efforts are improving your stay. I promise you that we will continue to do our best to increase our guests’ satisfaction.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Siru.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

It is a very laid back hotel. The people at the desk, and the cleaners, were very friendly and helpful. I stayed for almost two weeks, because it was usually the best deal around, or not far from it. And, honestly, I was plain lazy. I stayed in 3 different rooms. I paid between 55 and 65 euro a day depending (I was rebooking every few nights) on the time of week. The rooms are nondescript. Unique photography throughout the hotel. The rooms were worth the 50 euros for such a beautiful city like Brussels. One complaint: The manager should learn to smile and be, well, more hospitable. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, Directeur général at Hotel Siru, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Xosgul,

We would like to thank you for giving us a feedback about your experience at Hotel Siru. Be sure that I have transmitted your compliments to the concerned employees.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed most of the two weeks you spent with us. We are sorry that you didn't really like the atmosphere of the hotel, which is usually rather considered as modern, design, colorful and young.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Siru.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed in a single room for two nights in late July 2012. From the moment I arrived I was surprised at how sleek and modern Hotel Siru is for a budget hotel - especially the signage outside the entrance! My (basic single) room was larger than expected, had a very good shower (hot and with nice handheld showerhead no less!), a perfectly comfy double bed, a good-sized Sony flatscreen TV (which I wasn't expecting!) and was overall a brightly decorated, cheerful modern room. A rather old minifridge was a little dirty and was unplugged when I arrived, and never seemed to get particularly cold even when it was plugged in. The rest of the room, however, was 5-star spotless - for a budget hotel, the cleaning staff deserve utmost praise.

The location is stellar - you're a one-minute walk from Rogiers station which can take you to any of the other main stations quickly, and only 5-10 minutes from Gare du Nord for most intercity travel. A walk to the main tourist sights (Grote Markt, for example) is around 20 minutes. I was on the fifth floor and had no complaints about noise (not a lot of nightlife in hearing distance) but the room across from me had very loud parties until 4am both nights which kept me up. Still, this group was exceptionally loud - not the hotel's fault and not something fair to hold against it.

Overall, don't expect a 5-star hotel and you'll be very pleasantly surprised by the cheerful, well-maintained and well-located Hotel Siru.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, Directeur général at Hotel Siru, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Visualdichotomy,

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience at Hotel Siru.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed your stay.
Be sure that I have forwarded your nice comments to both operational and management teams.

I can promise you that we will continue to do our best to always better meet our guests' expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Siru.

Kind regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Siru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siru

Address: 2 Rue des Croisades, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Siru 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BUDGET – TRENDY – BUSINESSThe Hotel Siru Brussels is a unique property, convenient for your business visits, family and lovers city breaks, and for all your leisure trips. The history of this hotel goes back to the 18th century, when coaches and barouches stopped at the Saint-Jean Hotel which served as a love getaway for Arthur Rimbaud and Paul Verlaine. The building is today one of the oldest buildings in the city of Brussels, and more particularly one of the oldest hotels still in activity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Siru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Brussels
Comfort Inn Brussels
Hotel Siru Brussels, Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Siru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.