We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place in Brussels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welcome To My Place

Save Saved
You added Welcome To My Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Welcome To My Place
Place Quetelet 1, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A nice place in Brussels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I spent 3 nights at "Welcome To My Place", in november, 2010.

The building is really well-located, very close to a subway station (2-3 minutes) and with easy access to buses (bus stop in front of the building).

Erick, the host, is very welcoming and helpful.

I had a very good room, with lots of space for my stuff and a very comfortable bed. It was also quiet, although it´s easy to hear when someone opens/ closes the other doors of the house.The bathroom and the WC (common use) were always clean.

Breakfast was gorgeous, with a lot of items to choose and a splendid coffee.

I just regret that Erick was not there during my whole stay, so I couldn´t enjoy more of his company and useful tips about the city.

And, finally, Erick has 2 cats (at least he had in 2010), which I loved, but it may be a problem if you´re allergic to them.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
29
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corwen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have just stayed at Erick's place for the 4th time in 18 months - so that should be a good enough recommendation. It is very convenient for tourism and for business - 2 minutes walk from the Metro. Erick is very helpful. The rooms are nice and spacious; they are even better now there is a dedicated shower for each room. It is good value for money for this location. Remember that this is a B&B - it is someone's home, so don't confuse it with an informal hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Returned for another visit, this time with friends and they really enjoyed it too. It is the kind of place that you do go back to in the same way that friends return to meet each other from time to time
With the new bathroom and shower it really is a pleasure to stay in this B and B which is in a great location in a stylish art nouveau apartment block

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I stayed with Erik for three nights in late April 2011. My overall experience was very good - the room was pleasant, spacious and very clean. The super-duper en-suite shower and the sweet cat Josephine were, for me, the highlights. It's not that there's something wrong with the apartment or with Erik - I second every compliment given by previous reviewers in that respect - it's just that, in my opinion, there wasn't anything this B&B had that others did not have. Erik is indeed a nice guy and the place is indeed lovely, but it didn't sweep me off my feet, as I feel it did some of the other reviewers. It's simply a very nice apartment to stay in for people looking for accommodations in the medium price range and do not mind being just a bit 'off center'.
My bottom line is this: the place deserves every praise lavished upon it in terms of cleanliness and friendliness, but budget-conscious travelers looking to stay in the center would be better off somewhere else, as 63 euros per night is quite a tidy sum. I would, however, recommend it to people doing business in the nearby financial district - at least that's what I'd call the nearby cluster of high-rise office buildings close to Congres station and the Botanical Gardens. Staying with Erik would be ideal for such people.

Room Tip: The baldaquin room has an awesome shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Amazing place, amazing owner! High level and really wonderful position for every tourist that wants to visit the best rated places in Brussels. Me and my friends enjoyed 100% our stay there, and the only thing we can say is a big THANKS for the great hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

the best place to be in brxl!!! hosted by a fantastic guide 4 a brxl by night! near everything you may need, bycicle, tram, metro, park,, citycenter!

the owner is really a great person that will help to find everithing you need! and will make you a good company during breakfast.. more like a friend than a simply owner!

the best way to feel like at home far from home..! do not esitate and book here!

Room Tip: baldaquin room is the best!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

We stayed at Welcometomyplace B & B for 4 nights in the middle of October and had a fantastic time. Erick is such a friendly host and welcomes you to his apartment and makes you feel as if its your own. He is very informative and is keen to help you enjoy your experience of Brussels explaining the best sites to see and recommending some worthwhile places to eat. After all there is nothing like a little local knowledge. And for those like myself whose French is next to no existent Erick's command of English is very good so communication is not a problem.

The apartment is situated in on the 4th floor in a very charming apartment block. Did I say 4th floor? Fear not as it is serviced by an elevator so going up and down is no problem. We stayed in the "Chocolate Room" which is the smaller of the two rooms available. There are no ensuite failities with the bathroom being just across the hall so no inconvenience really. Speaking to Erick at the time and he said he has plans to include en suite facilities in the larger of the two bedrooms. And for those who like cats Erick has two lovely felines called Charlotte and Josephine( there is a doorway in the middle of the hall and the cats are unable to gain access to either bedroom or bathroom). The apartment is well served by three modes of transport - the bus stop is located just outside the apartment and the tram and Metro stop(Botanique) is approximately a three minute walk or less located at the end of the street. Brussels is quite a small city so walking into the centre ( Grand Place) is very fast and simple.

At the time breakfast was not included in the advertised tariff but was available for 2 euros. Unless one specifically had a particular place they wished to have breakfast I would recommend eating at Ericks as you wont find a better value breakfast for your 2 euros anywhere in Brussels.

So if you are considering a stay in Brussels and are thinking you might wish to try the charm of a B & B rather than a hotel I have no hesitation in recommending Welcometomyplace B & B. And whilst in Brussels dont forget to try the Moules, Frites, Waffles, Beer and Chocolate!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Welcome To My Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome To My Place

Address: Place Quetelet 1, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the Botanical Gardens, it's the perfect place to start a visit of Brussels. Very close to the underground, but also to other public transport, and only 5 min walk to the 'Comic strip museum', to the shopping center of the 'Rue Neuve' and to the European Commission. It will take you less than 15 min walk to the Grand Place... The Art deco Building Haussmannien style offers two bedrooms'Baldaquin' with a private bathroom in the room and 'Chocolate' with private bathroom (to share with the owner) just in front of the room, also each room are with an LCD screen television and DVD/CD integrated player, a safe box with digital code, and also a free secure Wifi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Budget Places and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Welcome To My Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome To My Place Brussels, Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welcome To My Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.