We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flor De Sal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Flor De Sal Hotel to your Saves list
Flor De Sal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av de Cabo Verde | Praia Norte, Viana do Castelo 4900 350, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

In Viana do Castelo in the seafront this hotel has a great view with very good rooms and breakfast.
Friendly staff and welcoming enviroment.

Since it was winter, didn't enjoy fully the hotel, but...
A good experience for the half marathon of Viana..

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    39
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
44
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed at the Flor De Sal Hotel during my first visit to Viana, Portugal. What an beautiful hotel to stay at in this beautiful city. Very modern, new, and spacious. The view is the what will truly make you want to stay in this hotel because it is facing the beach and you get an entire ocean view. The staff were friendly and the bedroom and bathroom were large and brightly lit. The balconies had lounge chairs facing the beach and the beds were very comfortable. We visited the pool, hot tub, and steam rooms during our stay at the hotel and it was nice and clean, while very busy. The restaurant inside the hotel was also quite great, the menu was delicious and modernly presented. Take a walk by the beach and down the pier in the evening, that is one amenity that most other hotels can't offer. I would gladly return to Flor De Sal on my next visit, easily five-star rating on all levels.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the beachfront rather than the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Surprise trip To Viana do Castelo and a rather good surprise with this hotel.
Right on the sea front, excellent ocean view, nice walk long walk along the pear.
Modern design hotel, bright spacious rooms, good breakfast and even a good restaurant.
Walking distance from the city center. Friendly professional staff.
I shall recommend the Flor de Sal.

Room Tip: Choose room with the ocean view that is the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This Hotel was in the docks area & overlooked the beach and a car drive to the city centre. There was free secure parking out the front of the Hotel. We chose the room with a mountain view, as it was cheaper & of more interest than looking at the Atlantic. Our room and bathroom were spacious, with a large window to look out, had free WiFi & large electronic safe. Breakfast was excellent with choices for everyone, including eggs to order, which was the highlight of our breakfast. We were disappointed with dinner price, as we had ordered ‘The Menu’, which included choices off the a-la-carte menu in each section, unfortunately we didn’t see the very small asterisk which meant that not all items we on ‘The Menu’ option - we ended up paying quite a lot more for our dining experience - caused mainly by the inability of the waiter to explain in English that the choices we had made were not included in 'The Menu' price. The reception staff were particularly helpful to us.
The Hotel otherwise was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent one night here for my husband's 40th birthday after a two week trip through Portugal. Staff: extremely friendly and surprised us with a bottle of champagne for his birthday, very thoughtful. The room: beautiful, exactly like the photos, modern, clean lines and amazing ocean view from the balcony. Huge bathroom and huge comfortable bed. Free wifi and parking. the hotel restaurant was extremely good. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel located in Viana do Castelo. Ask for a room with sea views. Clean with excellent staff & right on the beach. The hotel is also located within a 10-15 minute walk of the two best restaurants in the town tasquinha da Linda & Valentin.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice. Good view to the sea. The social areas are very confortable. The rooms seams to be missing something...the bathroom is big, but is very basic.
The beakfast could be better. For the price i woul expect a little better

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flor De Sal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flor De Sal Hotel

Address: Av de Cabo Verde | Praia Norte, Viana do Castelo 4900 350, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flor De Sal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Flor De Sal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flor De Sal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.