We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo to your Saves list
Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo 5 De Outubro, 68 | Viana Do Castelo, Viana do Castelo 4900-515, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Cornwall
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Tripadvisor reviews helped me choose this hotel for a 2 night stay. In a good central location to the old town this was a gem of a hotel lovely room great views the only fly in the ointment was that we had to fix the shower in the room so it would hold up so we could have a shower. the breakfast was good too. when we booked in there was a large stage almost opposite and sound tests were being held. We waited with bated breath but a band played into the night it was free and was finished at about midnight, this was an added bonus to our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiSousa81, Manager at Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks for you rate in Trip Advisor. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    37
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
33
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This really does the job and ticks all the boxes. Yes, it is quite traditional and a little old-fashioned. But it's also rare that you see such large, airy and well-appointed rooms. Absolutely everything works and the place is spotless. The location by the river (and the wonderful Dolce Viana pizzeria) is great and it's close to the children's playground too. Its a great place if you want to do what the locals do and enjoy a late evening stroll. The rooms are very quiet and well sound-proofed (double glazing and shutters) All the staff at the hotel were friendly, cheerful and extremely patient with me whenever I tried out my basic Portuguese! We will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. We arrived by train (from Spain on our way back to the US) and had no idea where the hotel was. Turned out it was a block from the train station. Great location in a beautiful old city. The people were so nice and helpful. The hotel is quiet and the rooms are basic, very clean, and kind of small. Very inexpensive! Great restaurants nearby. I would go back should I ever return to this charming little city!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I really liked the Residencial Jardim. It's an old building along the riverfront, a little bit quirky, but spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Staff are pleasant and helpful. While they don't speak English we communicated with ease in school French. Our room was larger than average and overlooked the river-front in the pleasant, historic town of Viana do Castelo. The bed was very comfortable and the room was old-fashioned but in a cheerful way, with dark wood furniture and shutters, welcome safeguards against the heat. There is very efficient air-conditioning there too. I never thought I'd take to a bathroom with porcelain in shades of mango, but somehow, it was appealing. Breakfast was decent too. Well-located and very good value; I'd definitely recommend it.
A word of warning, and nothing at all to do with the hotel, but if you're staying in Viana, don't get hustled into eating at the 'Bingo Café', further down along the waterfront. It masquerades as a good fish restaurant but these guys are at best amateurs and at worst crooks trying to make a quick buck. They present you with two different menus with complicated combinations and pricing systems. We fell for it and had the most expensive and worst meal of our two week tour of Portugal here, nearly sixty euros for what amounted to a few grilled sardines and some squid with salad and boiled potatoes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent 3 days during the 2012 summer. Nice and very cleaned room, a little bit to small the bathroom but in general it worth the cost because it's cheap. You can have the hill view or the ocean view. Perfect position (anyway Viana it's really small so all the lacations might be ok) and fair breakfast. No wi-fi but free use computer in the reception.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I did not find any "old charm" in this hotel; but it does look a bit old. I booked it based on good reviews and thought it would be something very nice. Well, it was ok definitely but next time I would try another place for a change.
The location is very good - near the river front; 1 min walk from the ferry to get you to the beach; 5 min walk from train / bus station.
The staff was nice and friendly, both at the reception and in breakfast room.
The breakfast was quite simple but there are some choices (fruits, cereal, ham and cheese sandwich).
The room was spacious but on the dark side.
Overall, it was a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a very pleasant and well run hotel. Our room facing the front had very effective double glazing, so we were never bothered by street noise, and good air con and also a wall fan.
The room was spacious and cool, with solid shutters at the windows, so we slept well.
The beds were comfortable, the room nicely furnished. The bathroom was old-fashioned (I liked it!) but everything worked well, it was well equipped and had a good shower and bath.
It was very good value. Breakfast was a very good buffet with lots of fruits and choice. My only niggle was we only had 3 clothes-hangers, we asked for more, but they never arrived.
It was a genuine oversight, I'm sure. Everything else was very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo

Address: Largo 5 De Outubro, 68 | Viana Do Castelo, Viana do Castelo 4900-515, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.