We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome landscape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santuario de Santa Luzia

Santuario de Santa Luzia
Alto do Monte de Santa Luzia, Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Oeiras, Portugal
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Awesome landscape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is endeed the best place to appreciate the city of Viana do Castelo.The scenery of the point where the river enters the sea is astonishing. The Confraria is nice to visit, but nothing special.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    100
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We just happened across this amazing attraction while enroute to the hotel at the top. So glad we did! Although we couldn't go inside as it was passed closing time, it was worth exploring the outside of this magnificent building! The architecture is stunning and the view breathtaking. Definitely worth stopping by to take in this special place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsunday Island, Australia
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Just taken my Australian family to visit this icon - well looked after, well serviced (even though it was out of season) friendly people and great architecture - we walked right up to the top of the steeple - hard going, but well worth it for the views. Ride to the top by lift was also interesting!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braga, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vista Maravilhosa! Wonderfull view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I live near Viana do Castelo and in my day off i ride with my boyfriend to Sta Luzia. In the top you can see the beach and the city. Also you can visit the church and the museum that has in the back of the church. It's great!
In the museum you can buy a ticket for 0,80 euros and go to elevator to the top of church and enjoy the view.
The funicular costs 2 euros for one way and 3 euros for round trip.
If you want you can go by car because it has a park in the top as well.

Eu vivo perto de Viana do Castelo e no meu dia de folga eu fui com o meu namorado até Sta Luzia. No topo podem ver a praia e a cidade. Tambem podem visitar a igreja e o museu q está atras da igreja. É bestial!
No museu podem comprar um bilhete por 0,80 euros e ir de elevador até ao topo da igreja e desfrutar da vista.
O funicular custa 2 euros a ida e 3 euros ida e volta.
Se quiserem tambem podem ir de carro pois existe um parque no topo.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santuario de Santa Luzia also viewed

Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
 
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
 

Been to Santuario de Santa Luzia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santuario de Santa Luzia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.