We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viana has better than this” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Adega Do Padrinho

Adega Do Padrinho
rua Gago Continho, 162, Viana do Castelo, Portugal
964723753
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Portuguese
Restaurant details
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Viana has better than this”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I am sorry to say that but Viana do Castelo has better more than this restaurant. The food is not very fresh and you must pay attention to the bill before you pay the meal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    12
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stumbled on this simply because the menu looked quite good. It was really popular - go early (that means about 8pm here) or book. Staff were very friendly, worked tirelessly and spoke several languages (definitely English, French and Spanish). Good character added by the local style decor. The food was great (mussels were huge) and they kept bringing extra bits. Yes, you end up paying a little more than the menu price of what you ordered but not a lot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This restaurant was an excellent find. The food was great! The octopus salad and fish cakes as starters were excellent, as were our dinners too. The hostess was gracious and warm and provided non-stop excellent service. Dessert was served with two rounds of a delicous cherry liqueur. After dessert, we thought we were full, but our hostess brought out a fruit compote and insisted we try it. It too was great. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Food - fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great place for dinner. Interesting "decor". Very attentive staff. Good selection and quality of food, and at very reasonable prices. Highly recommend this family run place, close to the waterfront.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adega Do Padrinho also viewed

Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
 
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
 

Been to Adega Do Padrinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adega Do Padrinho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.