We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel to your Saves list
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte de Sta. Luzia, Viana do Castelo 4901-909, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Really nice pousada. Fabulous views, esp from front facing rooms and dining room terrace. Service is old school so maybe a bit over attentive some times but ok. Pool area is a bit away from the main hotel, but that's fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Briarbush

Thank you very much for choosing Pousadas of Portugal, namely Pousada de Viana do Castelo.

We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and and would also like to thank you for your positive comments on the staff and atmosphere of the Pousada.

We would love to welcome you again,

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    72
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
35
135
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

There is nothing to say about the location and views. But the Hotel is by itself overated and the classy and special feeling about a "Pousada" is not present. Smal rooms with no desk, very smal bathroom the minibar is extremly poor and i even had some hand marks on the windows.
The hotel need some constant maintenance which is lacking and is notable in a few spots. The snoocker room is dark, humid and smeels very badly humidity.
So if you want the views, yes it is great but you might just take a car, buy yourself the best bootle of champagne and drink it with your wife or girlfriend in front of the church and you will have the same view but for free!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear PMartins73,

Thank you so much for taking some of your time to leave here your comment.

We regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

All the points that you mentioned have been taken in consideration and are being properly treated, in order to get it's improvement and resolution.

We would be thankful if you could give us another opportunity and get a better impression from our services.
Hope we’ll receive you again one day.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was our sixth stay in a Pousada and in terms of location this is one of the most memorable. sitting on a hill over the town you get a great view of the Minho estaury. the funiclar railway is the best route into town, alternatively it is a half hour walk or a few euros for a cab, it is a five minute drive. The hotel has a nice restaurant with the same impressive views, the restaurant is large and offers some idea of the local cuisine, though it is a bit pricier than the typical Portuguese restaurant in town i personally felt the service and atmosphere offered value. I enjoyed the communal areas and we spent an afternoon in the longue with friends from Galicia and it was a nice relaxed convivial atmosphere. The gardens were very nice, as is the general area where the hotel is located. Would return as this is a good stop on any tour of the region.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Elpescadosucio

Thank you very much for choosing Pousadas of Portugal, namely Pousada de Viana do Castelo.

We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and and would also like to thank you for your positive comments on the staff and atmosphere of the Pousada.

We would love to welcome you again,

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights probably longer than ideal for this part of Portugal. The views are indeed stunning (weather permitting!) but this also means you are out of the main town. If you eat out you have to have a car or taxi.

In the hotel the rooms are fine and pretty well kept although beginning to look a little dated. Breakfast is pretty good but lacks a couple of nice touches (e.g. The lack of muesli as a cereal choice and pretty poor quality jam).

The main criticism was the inconsistent service. Some staff were very good but others just seemed to be doing the basics. This is evident in the inconsistent reviews here. Some people say they had help with luggage, some had a welcome drink but we had neither.

Evening meals were not good value and could have been so much better. Again the service was variable often giving the impression that they were wanting to complete service a soon as possible.

Finally the Pousada gets the award for the worst music in the public rooms we had on the whole holiday. It did nothing to encourage people to stay in the public rooms and spend more! By the end of our stay it was a positive turn off.

Sorry, but a few small improvements could make such a difference.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Hoodies_sandhurst,

Thank you so much for taking some of your time to leave here your comment.
We regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.
All the points that you mentioned have been taken in consideration and are being properly treated, in order to get it's improvement and resolution.
We would be thankful if you could give us another opportunity and get a better impression from our services.
Hope we’ll receive you again one day.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Louth, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Good points:
This is an amazing old historical hotel which is located high up on a hill and has a magnificent view for miles around. The setting is spectacular as is the interior of the hotel which has a lovely old world charm about it. The beautiful furnishings, the crystal chandeliers, sitting room areas and terrace where you can sip a drink and enjoy the view are all very enjoyable.
The breakfast was good and it was served in another lovely room with fantastic views.
Choose a room at the front of the hotel and you won't be disappointed. The balconies are really too small to sit out on but you can leave the French windows open and enjoy the sea view.
It is possible to walk down the steps on the steep hill to the town but we only did it once as there are over 700 steps. The funicular is a much easier way to go down but be careful that the operator does not overcharge you as we got caught the first time.
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Negative points:
The areas surrounding the hotel are not maintained very well. There are a lot of weeds and this gives it a slightly neglected look.
The pool is not beside the hotel so you will have to walk across a yard which is used by staff to get to it. The pool is very deep and not suitable for children.
When taking the funicular check the prices - it should be around €3 return - we were overcharged the first time we used it. The last funicular goes up to the hotel at 7.45 so if you stay in town later be prepared to take a taxi back.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the hotel. Upgrade if necessary when you get there so that you can en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Bonniepippa

Thank you very much for choosing Pousadas of Portugal, namely Pousada de Viana do Castelo.

We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and and would also like to thank you for your positive comments on the staff and atmosphere of the Pousada.

We would love to welcome you again,

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed three nights at the end of a tour of Northern and Central Portugal.

We were greeted with drinks on the terrace with amazing views over the River Lima and the Atlantic Ocean . Our luggage was taken to our room and when we opened the curtains the view was ..WOW !! simply amazing. A fantastic view over the Basilica, the river and the ocean with a balcony ! Room 110

Dinner was of a very high standard with lots of choices of salads, quality main courses and vegetables. Desserts were a combination of fresh fruit and "oh so gorgeous" puddings and flans. Mineral water was complimentary with coffee and teas to end some very good dinners.

The breakfast was substantial and quickly replenished.

The outdoor pool is a short walk from the hotel and has fantastic views, as have the gardens, the terrace and the lounge and bar. Lots of comfy sofas .

Wifi is free and there's a computer for easy internet access just off reception.

Viana Do Castelo is a short drive from the hotel or take the funicular (closes at 8.00pm).

The reception staff were very courteous and helpful as were all the staff we met on our three night stay.

Room Tip: Room 110 - small room , large bathroom - fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
In the name of the whole team of the Pousada of Viana do Castelo, we thank you so much for having taken some of your time to post your very kind comment about your experience.
We appreciated a lot to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be a great pleasure if we could have you with us again in a nearly future.
Waiting for your return to our Pousada, we remain
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel public rooms are lovely with panoramic views from nearly ever window. The breakfast is adequate but dinner is average and overpriced.

The service is sketchy - my husband waited 20 minutes for his first course (soup) and it was tepid. There was no offer of help with our luggage when we arrived and we arrived back one evening at 11.45p.m., the bar was closed and the two guys on reception - although doing nothing - were not prepared to get a nightcap for us.

The rooms vary in size - the first room was extremely cosy but we were found a larger room and the view from the (very small) balcony was stunning, And the bedroom/bathroom was spotless
The swimming pool is a bit of a hike and there are no services there

It's a coach stop and I think this is their focus - we 4 independent travellers were secondary

Very disappointed -

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking some of your time to leave here your comment.
We regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.
All the points that you mentioned have been taken in consideration and are being properly treated towards its improvement and resolution.
We would be thankful if you could give us another opportunity so that when you would leave us you could have the best impression from our services.
Hope we’ll receive you again one day.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel

Address: Monte de Sta. Luzia, Viana do Castelo 4901-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Viana do Castelo, Santa Luzia, built in 1918, is fruit of the remodelling of the old Santa Luzia Hotel, maintaining the impressive characteristics which set it apart with the high majestic granite walls and the wide archways. A few hundred metres from the city stands the Mount Santa Luzia, dominating the metropolis and the Lima estuary up to the Atlantic, where our eyes are fed by the luxurious panorama. There lies the Pousada de Viana do Castelo, offering its guests from the moment they arrive, a magnificent view of the city which according to history has been occupied since the remote Mesolithic times; testimonies state numerous archaeological findings from the pre-Roman citadel. Viana do Castelo offers a superb panoramic view. It's a tourist city for its excellence, where perfect harmony of progress and wealth meet, a true living museum of ethnography and folklore. The heritage of Minho has a unique richness, with striking landscapes, churches, convents and beautiful palaces. The feast in honour of Our Lady of Agony, which runs from the 17th through to the 20th of August, stands out as the most colourful of Portugal. Classic and refined, the Pousada de Viana do Castelo exalts luxury in every detail and depth, which will surely make a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.