We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant O Pescador

Restaurant O Pescador
35th St Domingos Square, Viana do Castelo 4900-330, Portugal
+351 258 826 039
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: O Pescador Restaurant is located in the historical center of Viana do Castelo ... Visit the city and delight in here ... Be amazed by the delicious monkfish rice, succulent seafood feijoada and various grilled fish. Awaken your senses with cod dishes. At the end enjoy our traditional desserts ...
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent meal here.
Good food,good service, good atmosphere.
A three course meal two of had the moules superb, one the sardines best ever she said and on the date wrapped in bacon, not my choice she was delighted.
For a main course we all followed the previous post and had the Sea Bass stuffed with crap pâté and we were not disappointed.
The deserts were all made in house and just as good.
All washed down with a good Douro white wine at about 10 euros
We ate at Rick Steins at Padstow a few months ago, this was better and about a third of the price.
English menu and English spoken.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    53
    10
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sea Bass to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We shared a sea bass stuffed with crab which was fantastic. Perfectly cooked and full of flavour. The main course was just over 20 euro for two. We had a great evening in a restaurant with great staff and atmosphere. If you like good fish give it a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A brilliant find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We saw the reviews and it sounded great so we went & we werent disapointed. A lovely resteraunt, friendly helpful service, delicious food & excelent value for money. We had the mussles which came in a onion and red pepper tomatoe sauce which was superb. For mains we had the house cod which was two giant succulent peices of cod with thin fried potato and onion in a tomatoe sauce. The portions are generous, the food is very fresh and the atmosphere & service were first class. I cant recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Spain
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Excellent and professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our first meal ever in Portugal and, as such, our expectations were fairly high, given the reputation attached to Portuguese food, especially fish.
Our quest for a good dinner wasn't helped by the total lack of life in Viana de Castelo, a pleasant and quaint fishing town, but the closest thing to a cemetery I've ever seen after dark.

So you can imagine our relief, when we came across this beautiful and cosy-looking restaurant which also happens to be specialised in seafood dishes.

To start with, the decor is very tasteful and in line with the town's fishing trade. The restaurant looks very clean and staff were pleasant and attentive and we were never left wanting for anything. Table condiments were available which is not to be sniffed at, given how many restaurants make you go out of your way to even get salt.

As for the food, I can simply marvel at how good my starter was. It was called "mejillones o pescador" and consisted of mussels served in the same pan they were cooked in - smothered in a very original and typically Portuguese onion and pepper sauce.

As for the mains, my partner ordered a fabulous entrecote with roast potatoes and a selection of cooked vegetables. The portion was gut-bursting and the quality was perfect.
I went for a more authentic option and ordered the local bacalao ("Bacalhau à Moda da Casa") baked in a tomato and onion sauce and served with tons of sautee potatoes and olives. I think I simply fell in love.

I'd also like to remark on the fantastic-looking, fragrant and generous platters of fresh seafood rice that were being dished up to other diners throughout the evening. Remember that most mains are available for under €10, which in most of Europe is no longer common, especially in such a well-presented establishment..

Anyway, even though we were exploding with the excellent food (add the generous helpings of bread), we decided to plough along with the desserts. From the amazing selection, we ordered chocolate cake with forest fruit ice cream. Simply, indulgent.

Finally, a word about the excellent local white wine (Portuguese wine really deserves to be as popular as French or Italian).

O Pescador is definitely to be recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excelent Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The staff was really great and helpful!
We ate the "Robalo" (fish) and it was excelent: grilled, tastefull, not dry! The fish soup was also amazing! Great place!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant O Pescador also viewed

Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
 
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
 

Been to Restaurant O Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant O Pescador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.