We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed twice; would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergaria Residencia do Vice-Rei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Albergaria Residencia do Vice-Rei to your Saves list
Albergaria Residencia do Vice-Rei
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Julio Dinis 779, Porto 4050-326, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Porto
St. John's, Antigua
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stayed twice; would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two periods of 6 nights each in October, 2012. The rooms were clean and were cleaned daily. Get the superior room if you can afford it; the bedroom and the bathroom are both more spacious which gives a better atmosphere. Cable tv is in all the rooms.

The continental breakfast is decent; it tries to give options of fruits and cereals, along with the usual croissants and rolls, yogurt and tea/coffee/chocolate. Also, there is lovely music playing softly during the breakfast time.

Rooms are advertised as soundproof; I don't think that they are. My boyfriend and I take this opportunity to apologise to our neighbours :) The hotel is very near to a shopping plaza which is extremely convenient.

The bad: The wifi internet is unstable and was constantly disconnecting which can be annoying especially if you are trying to get any work done.
We also had some glitches during both our stays. On the first leg, we had a blown light fuse which rendered the room in half darkness. We reported it but did not get any attempt to resolve the problem until 24 hours later. The staff did offer us a change of room but as our stay was drawing to an end, it would have been too inconvenient to pack and repack.
On the second leg, our bathroom had a pretty serious leak which got progressively worse. The staff was attentive and tried to resolve it but was unsuccessful.
Because both of our stays were relatively short, we rode out the negatives.
Staff is friendly and helpful though and for this reason, despite the hiccups, we would both stay again.

Room Tip: Try for a superior room; more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
26
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

clean older hotel. good size room. HF Tuela nearby seems more modern for similar price. hotels in Porto are generally cheaper than Lisbon. Around $60 in August 2012.

location is near Casa Musica, but it was closed when i was there. bus #200 to beach never showed up for 2-3 holiday scheduled stops. Like Paris, it's hard to get a taxi on the street in Porto. you have to find one waiting in taxi parking spaces / zones, usually on shoulder of road in some areas. better to call for taxi from hotel. about 6-7 euros takes to the beach. restaurants are near the river (ribeira area), so it may be better to stay there, but if too expensive there, about 5-6 euros takes to there from this hotel.

i only stayed one night and it was a holiday. restaurants closed around 10. i was planning to have dinner around 11, so was hard pressed to find a decent place. There are many along the river. river is very scenic at night. i din't experience the night life there. but for single guys from the USA, don't bother looking for a strip club. they are horrible :))

took a bus tour of the city during the day for about 15 euros i think. it's worthwhile. added on a tour of Croft Port (sweet wine) maker for about 3 euro and included 2 small tasters.

Beach in Porto is not bad. its big, but not very clean due to turbulent waters. Lisbon beaches are much cleaner and water is very calm. Porto waves are huge, only for pro surfers. swimming more than 20 feet from the shore may be dangerous.

Porto is a nice city to visit for a couple of nights. much smaller than Lisbon, but more modern and cleaner streets with younger population.

i didn't care for the local dish that everyone raves about. The Francesinha. Don't go crazy with it. order 1 for the table to try. actually i think it made me sick, as i was sick for the next 5-6 days of my trip. Seafood in Portugal is cheap and good. stick with salmon and crab legs etc.

Room Tip: if you want to stay in this area, try HF Tuela. it's more modern for similar price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Rooms are good size, bathrooms not small, we also had a balcony where could sit and enjoy the warm weather. OK, it is probably not a high-class hotel, but it is really a good one, with very nice and helpful workers. Ah, breakfast! Good indeed. Last, wi-fi for free.

Room Tip: I have stayed at room 104, on the main road side, but you really do not hear anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The Hotel rooms are of a good size. The Hotel needs updating. When you book into a 4 star hotel you expect more than this hotel. The price was okay for what you get.
The hotel is about 10 minute drive from city centre of from the beach, so if you want to be near all Porto has to offer, you may want to think about being closer.
The Hotel staff were helpful and attentive.
The breakfast was however, one of the worst I have ever had. The selection was very limited and the food was in fact sub-standard. If you can at all avoid this, do so.
There is a great Cafe downstairs, better to spend your money there.
The is also a large Mall around the corner.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time on the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

I was there for just one night, and I really needed to get some sleep. So I didn't experience all that tha location has to offer but it's really close to the city center and public transportation. Has a shopping centre on the back of the bulding and a few restaurants nearby from more expensive to budget picks. The room was really clean, and the matress actually had good support. The breakfast was good too, and I don't know if it has to do with the day I spent there or the hour I got up, but it was really quiet, in the rooms, the halls, and the breakfast room too. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppland
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

This hotel has a very convenient location, close to the Metro that takes you to the airport in 20 minutes, and not far from the city centre. There is also a big shopping mall almost next to the hotel.
The rooms are nice, some are smaller and some bigger, some have bathtubs and some have showers, but they are all clean and quite nice. There is free internet available if you have your own laptop, and the breakfast buffet is ok.
I paid 40 Euros per night for a single room which was a really good price.
There is some traffic in the street outside, so if you are a light sleeper you might be disturbed. There is a 24-hour reception, and there is also a cafe with a small food shop that stays open late in the building.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergaria Residencia do Vice-Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria Residencia do Vice-Rei

Address: Rua Julio Dinis 779, Porto 4050-326, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergaria Residencia do Vice-Rei 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albergaria Residencia do Vice-Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergaria Residencia do Vice-Rei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.