We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seculo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Seculo Hotel to your Saves list
Seculo Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Santa Catarina 1256, Porto 4000-447, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Barcelona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“More than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend, we were a group of three people, and we liked our stay. Friendly staff, breakfast included within the room price, good quality and variety. Although the room was a little bit small for three people, we didn't need more since we only needed the hotel for sleeping and having a shower. It is about a 15 minute walk distance from the city center but the closest underground stop is a 5 minute walking distance (Bolhao). There is shampoo and bath gel in the room, you don't need to bring your own.The hotel is very clean and very quiet at night, so you can have a good rest. I highly reccommend this hotel for friends and families.

Room Tip: Although all rooms are double glazed, ask for a room on the higher floor, the quality of the rest is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    55
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
58
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Located within a long but doable walk from the city center. The street the hotel is on has a lot of empty houses, actually most of Porto is like that.
The hotel is very good, rooms, bathrooms, balconies are very specious, nice practical design, clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. There is free parking in the hotel's gaurage. They allowed us to leave car on the parking for a day after we checked out.
Special feature of the hotel are huge balconies with table, chairs and sunbads. Our bathroom was also huge, with huge mirror on the wall. It was wonderful.
The breakfast was very typical Portugal with some sweet cakes, yogurt, muesli, fresh fruits, cheese and ham, selection of breads, tea, coffee, juice.
Recommended for budget stay in Porto.

Room Tip: the room on the 7th floor had huge balcony and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I had a good room with spa bath and tv. It was very clean and had a thermostat to help regulate heat. I also had a balcony but rained every day so couldn't make much use. Handy to have a torch as had power cut and no lighting on floor (5th).
Breakfast was average, continental style,suited me. No tea coffee facilities in room but there is a fridge. The bar didn't appear to be used its where you have breakfast, however they happily made me a coffee free of charge.hotel is only 5 minutes walk from metro (Marques) and 7 minutes walk to town centre, beware it is a steady hill climb back, helps burn off the calories. The area is a little run down like a lot of Porto but I felt OK walking back on my own. Reception staff very friendly and helpful, even ordered me pizza as most places were closed on new year's day and I was soaked and didn't fancy trying traipsing round looking for somewhere. I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Room 501was good, with spa, but I got a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Ignore what the other reviews say! This is a DUSTY and old hotel, quite a walk away from the centre! Breakfast is ok which is why it has one star. Humidity in the room is so badly regulated that I'm either shivering or perspiring. Staff is quite helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Excellent breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff who speak good English. Very good value for money hotel. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable and quiet. Well fitted bathroom with toileteries. Quite close to metro station and easy to find.
The location is a 20 minutes walk away from the center in a less attractive area but I encountered no problems. I would certainly return here on a future visit to Popto.

Room Tip: My room was at the back and was very quiet but I don't think street noise is likely to be a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

with the excellent breakfast in the smart, if window-less, basement of this hotel. We had a large room with balcony but awful weather so no use ! The staff were very attentive.
Some people might prefer to stay nearer to the city centre as the area is run down and not pleasant to walk around.
Room 601 has the lift mechanism outside which was rather noisy and no bedside light.
But when we got soaked, the staff were kind enough to provide a heater without being asked so that we could dry our clothes.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are on a busy road. Rooms at the back overlook the fire-escape. 601 is spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

...and you want value for money, think about Hotel Século. Ok, when you arrive by metro and start your descent on Rua Sta Catarina you may wonder why several houses need a serious make over, but when you arrive you will find a decent hotel for a fair price. Nice rooms, good breakfast and good working wifi. And as for the area, well, no problem, that can only get better over time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seculo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seculo Hotel

Address: Rua Santa Catarina 1256, Porto 4000-447, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#19 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seculo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seculo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seculo Residencial Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seculo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;