We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast - the best meal of the day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Majestic

Cafe Majestic
Rua Santa Catarina, 112, Porto 4000-442 Porto, Portugal
+351 222 003 887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 910 Restaurants in Porto
Cuisines: Dessert, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast - the best meal of the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

It may be written up in all the tourist guides as THE place to have breakfast in Porto but apart from a French couple we were the only non-locals there. Amazing surroundings, enjoyable breakfast and exceptional value

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    444
    156
    44
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

A great place to enjoy an afternoon feeling like a refined lady, eating scones, listening to live music and observing the art nouveau decor.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Touristy but well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Such a famous café cannot be missed on a visit to Porto. The hype around the café might be a bit overrated however the experience was a pleasant one. Compared to local standards the prices at majestic are high but it is comparable to many cities in Europe. I had a café au lait and a Pastel de nata which together cost 6euros. The Pastel de nata was larger then any of the other cafes in the area and was cooked to perfection. The coffe was strong. We had a long wait before any service but the place was busy and there were only a few staff serving all the tables. The old world charm is still visible and it is easy to imagine the café at its height around its opening in 1929. The story of the café is printed on the place mats. A neat little corner of history.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“On the tourist beat, but worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you want a good coffee in attractive surroundings, then the Café Majestic dating from 1921 (original name Elite Café) is the place to go. It still has the charm of the Belle Epoque which is why it is a bit of a magnet for tourists and the prices are higher than elsewhere. Still, 2.50€ was not going to kill me for a coffee mid-morning and I enjoyed the peaceful atmoshphere inside while watching the world rush by outside. I returned with friends around 6.00 pm and a pianist was tinkling the keys. We didn't eat there, but had an apéritif & some olives. Very pleasant if a little pricey. By the way, my evening wine cost quite a bit less than it would in a pub in the UK!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“This really is a tourist trap for Harry Potter fans”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is not really a great place to eat. I kind of liken it to Serendipity in New York--it's a place people go because it's a scene, but there's nothing really worthwhile, and it's quite expensive. I wanted to sit down, and it was on our "hit list," so we went. I had the special Porto sandwich--the Francesina--and it was particularly gross.

Probably because it was busy, the service was terrible--it's not really an excuse. It was a nice day, though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Majestic also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Cafe Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Majestic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.