We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“have dinner around the river bank...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Douro

River Douro
Porto | Arrabida, Porto, Portugal
+351-223722415-+351-2237231166
Website
Improve this listing
Visit River Douro like an insider
Top Rated
$108*
and up
Day Trip to Douro
Ranked #2 of 135 things to do in Porto
Attraction details
mexico city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“have dinner around the river bank...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

there are super charming restaurants
I would totally advice to stay clear of the one on a terrace with very nice live music. they made us wait 1.5hrs to tell us that they had lost our food command and we had to wait an additional 30min

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,438
    659
    115
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Cruising on the River Douro.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have just returned from a 5* cruise with AMAwarerways on the River Douro. What a splendid experience it was. The scenery on the bans of the Douro is absolutely stunning - so beautiful and o varied. Our starting point was the city of Porto. This is a wonderful mixture of the old and the new, but the overal impression is of an elegant and historic city further enhanced by the wonderful river on which it stands.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“RIver tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

take the dusk river trip but queue early so as to get a seat at the front of the boat - best spot for taking photos.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
127 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
383 helpful votes 383 helpful votes
“Great boat ride up and down the river - 10 euros is cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

we actually paid 7 euros. It's the cheaper price if you buy a bus tour with it.

There is no explanation from the boat operators, but it's a pretty smooth hour long ride up and down the river so you can see all the bridges and the town. Relaxing.

Gives you a 2nd perspective of the town this way.

Would recommend any of the companies.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Can I rate a river??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It's a beautiful spot, wonderful ambience. I took one of the cruise boats and got great pictures. The bridges are spectacular.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Douro also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to River Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Douro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.