We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a deal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BessaHotel Boavista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BessaHotel Boavista to your Saves list
BessaHotel Boavista
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Marques de Carvalho, 111 | Boavista, Porto 4100-325, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Porto
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“What a deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Wow...nothing to fault. This may not be the most central hotel for touring Porto, but if you got closer you would pay lots more! Lovely, modern ambiance, great service and huge room. Stayed in the Superior, which gives you a HUGE balcony with lounge chairs and seating area. We got lucky with beautiful weather and it was nice spending the time in the morning sunning out there (you can get pillows for the lounger from reception). Room is also huge with big, comfy bed and large table complete with espresso maker. Bathroom was also enormous (for hotel standards) with incredible rain shower and jacuzzi tub. Free wifi for up to 3 devices and the breakfast was nice. My go to hotel for Porto!!

Room Tip: Superior room has huge balcony! Perfect if the weather is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    136
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
109
13
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very nice accommodations and efficient happy-hour restaurant! The location is not good for a few-hour tourism, as there is nothing touristic around the hotel but if you have someone to pick you up and a very busy day, you will not realize that you are isolated. I strongly recommend it!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Hotel Bessa is a good place for a short stay in Porto given it's proximity to the airport - €15 cab ride. If you want to see Porto though then the location isn't the best, right opposite the Boa Vista stadium and near no where of any interest .
Check in was smooth with receptionist speaking good English and offering good advice on places to eat.
The room, while not huge is very nice, big comfy bed, modern, clean bathroom and stunning views of a patch a wasteland to the rear of the hotel.

While Bessa is certainly a good hotel it is really only good for the business traveller due to it's location but if I find myself in Porto again with work I'll definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Not the place to stay if you want to see the city of Porto, but if you're on business or need so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I visited this hotel on a business trip in the cold February-March weather. It was a business trip so I had not booked it myself.

The hotel is not that far from the airport and is conveniently located. It is a new hotel, so the architecture and interiors are typical of a business hotel. The neighbourhood is quite but not located in a place that is not very close to restaurants or shopping arcades. So for a tourist, this is not the best place to stay.

Good things about the hotel were the quality of the rooms, the service levels and the agility of providing cabs and other needs. The staff was polite and friendly and gave good advice. However, they were not comfortable with speaking in English and at times it would get difficult to convey the message.

The rooms were well done, the wifi was superfast and the coffee shop was good.

However, the hotel restaurant did not have many options (only salad and soup for vegetarians!) and was quite expensive compared to other restaurants 5-6 miles down the hotel near the river.

Good for business trips only.

Room Tip: If you are a vegetarian, then carry some snacks. The hotel restaurant has no veg meals on the menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I chose the hotel because it was easy to reach from the airport. For tourism the location is not OK, since it is in a new, quite area, with no life. But the hotel is new, clean, comfortable, with (paid) parking, good breakfast. Very good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the Bessa in July and enjoyed the facilities it provides. We have stayed here previously. We have relatives less than a mile away so the location is not a problem. The food is variable and sometimes expensive (11 euros for a lasagne!) Breakfast is ok, but, as stated before can be purchased nearby. The only complaint we have was the noise. Both times we stayed, (August 2011 and now) builiding work was being carried out nearby. Although this did no stop us sleeping, and is no fault of the hotel, it was quite noisy during the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg/Mannheim, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Nice hotel. The rooms were quite stylish, but one evening I`ve went to dinner and it was the most terrible food, I`ve ever had.
Unbelievable. I really wanted to go into the kitchen and show the cook how to cook a good pasta. The food wasn`t one cent worth!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ines F, Director of Sales at BessaHotel Boavista, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for you comment. All our guest's comments/suggestions/notes are very important for us.

Our cuisine is known by its exquisite food and it is quite odd that that have happened. Following your advice, we'll double check what might have happened.

We invite you to visit us again in a near future and give us a second chance. I am confident that you'll be delighted!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BessaHotel Boavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BessaHotel Boavista

Address: Rua Dr. Marques de Carvalho, 111 | Boavista, Porto 4100-325, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Porto
#6 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#12 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BessaHotel Boavista 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened the 11th of June 2007, BessaHotel is located at the highly prestiged Boavista area, a great business and commercial centre, making it a great choice not only for business stays but also for those deserved vacations. BessaHotel incorporates an Iberian approach into the "Invicta" lifestyle, focusing in the well-being of its clients through modernization and quality. At BessaHotel we dress Porto with design and a new concept: The B Concept. B our Guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BessaHotel Boavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bessa Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BessaHotel Boavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.