We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a modern hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BessaHotel Boavista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BessaHotel Boavista to your Saves list
BessaHotel Boavista
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Marques de Carvalho, 111 | Boavista, Porto 4100-325, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“What a modern hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spent three days at the Bessa Hotel while touring the Oporto region and had a great time while there. The hotel is very modern and upscale. It was a really comfortable place to stay. The restaurant and lounge were a little small but the food and service was excellent. The breakfast was sumptuous and was a great way to start every day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    141
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
113
13
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Bessa hotel is a modern 4 star hotel in Oporto business district.
I had already stayed there in two business trips, but now I stayed with my wife in holiday weekend.
The rooms are quite good (inspite the decoration beeing a little bit "dark"), and the breakfast is very good.
The biggest drawback of the hotel is the location. It is a uggly place of Oporto near the Boavista football club stadium, with no good public transportation near by. So you either use taxis, or you bring your own car (this was my case) if you want to go to historical Oporto (4km away).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very comfortable on the position for who, as me, have to travel around Port area with the car for business, indeed is very closed the motorway, but also in a very quit zone, if we exclude when the Boavista FC will play a football match (the hotek is at only 200 m from the Boavista stadium).
The interiors are very nice and very well cared, with all the comfort that a 4 stars hotel must have. Even the restaurant was very good, but quite expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

UsuallyI stay at Bessa hotel while I spend some days in Porto, either business or holidays. It is located in a privileged and more sophisticated section of the city.
Very nice staff and great standard executive rooms. Near subway and alternative bus rides. If you driving a car there is a parking space that can be reserved ahead.
You can get over to Porto downtown in a few a minutes or to Foz by foot or a bike.
My favorite amenity is PS3 free to use in the lounge.
Nearby there are nice restaurants (I recommend Gosho), 24 hours pharmacy, cafeteria, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, I decided to choose this hotel although it seemed a bit strange I had never heard anyone talk about it. Upon arrival I was surprised because I had to pay beforehand for my stay although I had given a credit card for confirmation. The room was nice and the bathroom was also clean, new and with all the toiletries needed. We had a nice breakfast and were quite pleased with this hotel although a bit far away for anyone without a car to move around the city. But the worst was yet to come. During the night, my car had been broken in, lots of smashed glass and everyting scattered on the front seat. Nothing was robbed because i do not usually leave anything inside the car. The staff of the hotel upon knowing this had happened were very nice, helping me clean the seat and covering the broken window with tape but instead of chargin me beforehand they should have asked me if I wanted to park inside the hotel because they surely know this happens a lot in front of the hotel. They called the police for me to make a report and the policemen arrived quickly only to tell me that this kind of attempted burglary happened everyday on that street. Nice hotel but in a bad neighbourhood, no thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ines F, Director of Sales at BessaHotel Boavista, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Madam,

First of all, thank you for choosing BessaHotel for your stay in Oporto!

We would also like to thank the comments left on Trip Advisor to which we reply below:

1 - In relation to the payment policy, it is a procedure adopted by the hotel to avoid problems with pre-authorizations made to credit cards. In this way guests never get money captive in the card;
2 - Regarding the location, the hotel is not actually in the old quarter, on the contrary, it's located in a very well known shopping and business area of the city with good connections to the city center (Subway/Bus);
3 - In relation to the parking lot outside, like any city, there is the possibility of robbery. To prevent this kind of situations, the hotel itself has a private garage with direct access to the reception/room.


We sincerely hope that we've managed to express our point of view, and we'll be waiting and looking forward to be seeing you again in a near future.


With Best Regards,

BessaHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I just stayed one night at. Now it's with great price. weekend - 50€ without breakfast. 3 years ago cost 120 €!!! GOOD!! You don't need to take the breakfast here when you can do it in front of the ocean ( in 2 minutes by car)

Room Tip: Rooms on the back (South) side let have a great sunrise light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed as a couple in this Hotel.

The Hotel itself is nice and very modern, breakfast is good and reception staff mostly friendly (except of the night staff).

Unfortunately I will avoid this hotel for my next stay in Porto. The hotel is about 4kms or so from the Historic centre away and located in a slightly dodgy location. View out of the room is horrible (something like a progress lacking construction site). You will need a taxi for every trip down town, which is cheap (about 8EUR) but a bit annoying if you have to go 4 times a day.

The hotel could be recommended for a Business Trip but is not suitable if you want to visit Porto as a Tourist.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BessaHotel Boavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BessaHotel Boavista

Address: Rua Dr. Marques de Carvalho, 111 | Boavista, Porto 4100-325, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Porto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#11 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#14 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BessaHotel Boavista 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Porto's prestigious Boavista district, a few minutes' from Casa da Musica, BessaHotel offers a fitness centre and a Turkish bath. Free WiFi is available. At BessaHotel we dress Porto with design and a new concept: The B Concept! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BessaHotel Boavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bessa Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BessaHotel Boavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.