We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than you expect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Antas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Antas Hotel to your Saves list
Porto Antas Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Padre Manuel da Nobrega, 111, Porto 4350-226 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“More than you expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is one big positive surprise.
Personnel - super friendly and attentive, fast check-in and check-out.
Rooms - quite big, I would say about 25 square meters, newly furnished, clean, nice TV-set.
Parking - private parking possible, but also lot of place just outside the hotel
Breakfast - quite good selection
Location - not centrally located, but close to two subway lines and soccer stadium, you reach subway station in 5-6 minutes and then it is 5 minutes to the city center.

Overall: Exceeding expectation, good quality for reasonable price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
34
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

the surprise is little because this is a hotel hiden away not in a hotel area and it is a little hotel, but definitely it ranks alongside the big hotels and the big hotel areas. It is clean, the staff are very helpful and friendly. The proce is not bad. If you are going to the Dragon stadium, here is where to say - just 3-5 mins walk down a quiet street. The metro at the stadium will connect you to nearly all the metro lines and bring you to centre in 10-15 minutes at most. The rooms are small (not best for a big family but ok for a single person). Bed ok, but not very comfortable to me an has strange cover on matress. If you have lot of work to do at your room, not very well equipped for tables/desk, but ok for holiday visitor. Breakfast matches how many stars - nice fresh food even if variety not big. I ouwld recommend this if you want a afir proced comfrtable hotel wihtout too many frills and fuss and handy for stadium and metro out of the centre.

Room Tip: To get light and view you have to be higher up - otherwise you just see windows across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and had a great deal online. Rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortables. Breakfast is good and the staff is very friendly and offer good advice. On my opinion the hotel location is not the best, in fact the metro station is 10 minutes walking away up/down hill and it will take you 20 minutes to go to Sao Bento metro station. All in all Antas hotel is a very good hotel, but you could find a better location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I can't say its a bed hotel, but its not very good too and in Oporto you easily get a better deal with much more quality.
The walls are thin and you can ear the dogs barking in the street.
The rooms are quite small, no bathtub.
The carpet its not very recent but very clean.
The bed is not a recent, big one. Its 180*160 and has old a matrtess, not a confortable hotel one.
No mini bar.
If it wasn't for the modern re-decoration these would seem to be more a pension than a hotel.
Its a completely standart 3 stars, no extra, no good surprises.

Good:
The employees are nice and professional
you can take breakfast till noon at saturdays and sundays.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olbia, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

They say: “Small is Beautiful”, I sure agree. Very nice surprise at a good price. Everyone is friendly and very helpful. At breakfast everything was fresh and tasty with a good selection of bread and cakes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Antas A, Comercial at Porto Antas Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Google Translation
Muito agradecemos os simpáticos comentários à sua estadia no Porto Antas Hotel.
Sobretudo por ter salientado o nosso lema Small is Beautiful e pela critica favoravel ao nosso pessoal e ao nosso pequeno almoço.
Continuaremos a trabalhar de forma manter os nossos padrões de qualidade face ao nosso cliente.
Esperamos voltar a ter o prazer da sua visita muito brevemente.

Com os nossos mais sinceros cumprimentos,

José Salvador
Porto Antas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have to say i was pleasantly surprised that this little hotel had much to offer... We first arrived at the hotel and was greeted with a very warm welcome... The young ladies at the desk were very welcoming and even took time out to show us maps of where they recommended for us to visit and how to get around porto.

We were given a few tour maps,and even shown how to purchase sight seeing tickets for the buses in Porto...

Room was a decent size and very clean... Breakfast was good, and we were able to select what food we wanted... there were many pastries,breads,cheeses and meats... with fantastic fresh orange juice...

Hotel is a few minutes walk from the metro,

We really enjoyed our stay and i would recommend this hotel... as it was great value for money!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Antas A, Comercial at Porto Antas Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Google Translation
Muito agradecemos os simpáticos comentáriosaquando da estadia no Porto Antas Hotel.
Sobretudo pela critica favoravel ao nosso pessoal, a qualidade do nosso atendimento e ao nosso pequeno almoço.
Continuaremos a trabalhar de forma manter os nossos padrões de qualidade face ao nosso cliente.
Esperamos voltar a ter o prazer da sua visita muito brevemente.

Com os nossos mais sinceros cumprimentos,

José Salvador
Porto Antas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The girl that welcome us at the reception was very friendly and spoke fluent spanish, she suggested us how to get to the center and where to go (it was New Year's Eve). The hotel is located outside from the center, close to the football stadium, where you can get the metro and reach the city center in very few stops. You can easily park your car in the street for free. The rooms are big enough and confortable, the bathroom is also very clean (there is no hairdryer but you can ask for it at the reception). There is free wifi internet connection in the rooms. The buffet breakfast was good and abundant enough (they also had soya milk which I really appreciated, being intolerant to lactose). Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I would definitely recommend it.
Only a negative point: the building is quite ugly from outside (despite inside it is modern and nicely decorated), all made in grey cement, same for the small terrace we had in our room (giving to a bigger terrace, all in grey cement and full of the air conditioning stuff).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Antas A, Comercial at Porto Antas Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Porto Antas Hotel.

We appreciate your comments on the hotel, specially for enhancing our staff, our location and our good service, and our price.
Certainly motivate us to always try to do better.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Porto Antas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Antas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Antas Hotel

Address: Rua Padre Manuel da Nobrega, 111, Porto 4350-226 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Antas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Antas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Antas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.