We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ponte de D. Luis

Ponte de D. Luis
Porto, Portugal
Improve this listing
Visit Ponte de D. Luis like an insider
Top Rated
$23*
and up
Porto Bike Tour
Ranked #1 of 135 things to do in Porto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1886, this bridge links Porto and Gaia.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Highlight of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Amazing bridge with a magnificent view.

The beauty and brightness at night is epic! It's brand image of the city and a must-see.

There are many restaurants and bars near this bridge, with some stores to buy souvenirs.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,178
    1,000
    107
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fenicular service is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We took the fenicular several times, very nice, it only cost 1.80 euro and the view is spectacular, worth a try

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

What can I say...I was born in this city. The bridge is epic specially when it is close to the sunset. The bar scene nearby is awesome and around the Gaia side you can check out the Porto Wine Cellars and get some free Porto Wine. All around a must see attraction...

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Ponte, Bridge, Pont, Sota etc...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This bridge connects Gaia and Porto. I went several times on and under it. Every time I am amazed by what mankind can build! Nice

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Imposing Bridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in the old town and had a great view of the bridge form our room. It is an imposing structure. We walked across the lower level a couple of times to visit the Port hoses in Gaia.

We waited for a sunny haze free day to cross over the upper level. You can climb up the hills to the upper levels if you really must - but why not take the funicular railway up the Porto side or the cable car which is situated on the Gaia side. Both cheap and fun.

The bridge crossings give great views of the old town of Porto, the Port houses up the hill in Gaia and views up and down the Doura. Care needs to be taken as there is no fencing between the walkway and the metro tracks. The fence at the side of the bridge is suprisingly low, given the height of the bridge and its apparent popularity as a site for suicide!

On our first day in Porto, the weather was not so good; hazy and drizzly; we were walking up towards the bridge, intending to settle down with a coffee, when we heard shouting and saw a spash as something hit the water, just ahead of a river tour boat, which turned around to try to catch the object as it was carried quickly downstream. A small police motorboat sped up river and two men manhandled the body out of the water into the boat. It was the body of a young man, obviously died on impact. Some local people explained that it was sadly not an uncommon occurrence. A great shame such a grand structure is used thus.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponte de D. Luis also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Ponte de D. Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponte de D. Luis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.