We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vera Cruz Porto Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vera Cruz Porto Hotel to your Saves list
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ramalho Ortigao 14, Porto 4000, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel is conveniently situated between the Trindade and Aliados metro stations which makes it easy to get to and from the airport. There are a range of shops, restaurants and bars within easy walking distance of the hotel, but if you want to spend time in the river front area of the Ribeira, be prepared fro a 15 minute uphill walk back. We found the hotel a bit dated and our room bared no resemblance to the ones shown on the website. The walls are thin so you can hear other guests in the rooms around you whenever they come and go. The breakfast room on the 8th floor was at times a bit chaotic, probably not helped by the fact that on the first couple of days of our stay, the outside terrace area wasn't open because of the weather. Breakfast was quite simple consisting of ham, cheese and cold sausage with various breads, cereals, nice cakes, tinned fruit and yogurts, however they ran out of English tea twice during our stay. We found the reception staff to be helpful and friendly. Overall, we felt that the hotel provided good, clean budget accommodation for exploring the sights of Porto.

Room Tip: We were in room 406 at the back of the hotel overlooking neighbouring buildings, so it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    118
    77
    18
    9
See reviews for
28
132
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venlo, Limburg, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Staff is great and very helpfull, breakfast is not much of a variety but it's ok for a few days. The location is perfect, easy to find, and close to 2 metrostations. Great shower and cleen rooms. We expected a bar, but there was no bar. Staff suggested to bring some drinks to our room!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Top Contributor
1,114 reviews 1,114 reviews
186 hotel reviews
Reviews in 210 cities Reviews in 210 cities
550 helpful votes 550 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

High on the hill in old town.
The location is close to many reasonable cafes restaurants coffee shops.
Across the street from Guarany
Restaurant a do not miss at any cost kind of place.

Note: in Portugal the waiter will bring to the table that which was not ordered.
He just brought us bread and tapas. We asked on the house or how much?
2,50£, he replied. We could not pass it up and said alright.
Be aware you will be charged for everything brought to your table whether you ordered it or not.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel is ok. The rooms are simple but clean. The staff is good and gentle. The place is near the metro, gray line sightseeing cruises, café guarany (good restaurant) and a mcdonalds. There's free internet and breakfast. I'd certainly come back for another visit!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The staff members were very kind and helped to point us in the right direction of train stations, restaurants, and local attractions. I would like to mention that it seemed a bit odd that we had to leave our room key with the receptionist each time we left. Like the reviews say, the room did have an interesting smell to it and the there was always some interesting remodeling going on in the hallway. However, the room itself was cute and cozy. Breakfast was good and the view from the breakfast room was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

If you don’t want to sleep and if you want to have the worst breakfast experience ever, you should book this hotel.

The room was big, but I can’t think about any other positive thing to mention. The beds are a real disaster. Every morning I stood up, still tired and with a lot of backache. Every night we heard a lot of screaming and shouting on the square and the street, noise from the neighbours, … . The bathroom was as bad as the sleeping area. When taking a shower, no matter how careful, the bathroom turned into a real swimming pool. The bathroom also features very big windows, and on the other side of the street are some high buildings. Taking a shower / a bath, or even going to the toilet without being seen is a real challenge.

The breakfast was poor and the quality was far below average. I was never before so happy to have a McDonald’s within 500 meters. What I did like about breakfast, was the view from the top floor over the Aliados square.

Internet connection was ok.

There is not really more to mention, as this hotel is not offering that much to its guests.

I only recommend this hotel to youngsters who want to have a little bit more “quality” than in a youth hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very centrally located, very near to Metro Station Aliados and near to the attractions and river. Rooms are small, bathroom is clean and have a bathtub. Water noise when other rooms are having shower. My room 204 had a constant buzzing noise. But what would you expect, this is a 2 star hotel which has very reasonable price. Very friendly staff. Breakfast is ham, cheese,different kinds of jams and very tasty Portuguese bread (actually bread is really tasty in Portugal). Fruit juice, tea and terrible coffee. Parking (in front of the hotel) on the road is free.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor. We stayed in the 2nd floor there was water and a buzzing noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vera Cruz Porto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vera Cruz Porto Hotel

Address: Rua Ramalho Ortigao 14, Porto 4000, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vera Cruz Porto Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Vera Cruz Porto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Cruz Residential Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vera Cruz Porto Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.