We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B The Guest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added B The Guest to your Saves list
B The Guest
Rua Formosa 331 | Santo Ildefonso, Porto, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 112 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Perfect little hotel, beautifull large rooms. A glass of port on arrival. More than OK breakfast. Right at the heart of the city and in short reach of the metro. We loved it and would shurely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
89
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

One of the most impressive hotel interior. very good food and friendly staff. I think, it is one of the must-see hotel. It was just at the city centre (OPorto) near the market what we really appreciated due to night life in OPorto. thanks for the excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed at B the Guest for eleven wonderful days. The rooms are beautifully designed, everything is brand new and sparkling (the bathroom especially which is nice), the beds are incredibly comfortable, and the breakfast is delicious, especially the fresh squeezed orange juice. We very much enjoyed our time in the hotel lobby/salon which is beautifully decorated, and was a great place to watch the World Cup games too. The actual house itself is gorgeous--down to the stairwell--and the art displayed on each of the floors and in the breakfast room was another thing we loved.

On top of all of this, though, is the incredible service. I don't know that I have ever stayed in a hotel or guest house where everyone was so incredibly kind, friendly, accommodating--you name it. Every single person we encountered--without exception--was lovely. They went out of their way to make sure my husband and I had the best stay possible, whether it was getting coffee in the wee hours of the morning (I'm an early riser), extra pillows, answering questions about Porto, or just being a friendly face when we walked in the door each day after being in the city. What's more, we met the owners when they were hosting a dinner one night in the salon, and they were so nice--they invited us in for wine and spent time getting to know us, and even threw a dinner for some of the guests before we left, upon their invitation.

We truly were made to feel at home. We were so sad to leave!

We cannot recommend this place enough, in other words! We will definitely be back, and I plan to tell all of my friends, when visiting Porto, this place is a must.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at B the Guest a couple of weeks ago for one night while in Porto. Everything was great. The hotel is decorated modern and artsy. The room was very clean and spacious. We loved the furnishings. Bed was comfortable. Elizabeth was lovely and very helpful in helping us plan our time in Porto. It should be mentioned that there is a tall staircase you need to climb to get to the lobby area and then more stairs on to the rooms. We happened to be there on the evening of Sao Joao festival which is a completely over the top street party. We did hear some street noise from our room, but I would expect that from any hotel on that night (like New Year's Eve). Breakfast was good - but standard.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The service is superior and personal. Both Elisabeth and Manuel go above and beyond to ensure we had a nice stay. The room was open, clean and airy. Tastefully done with simple but elegant furnishings. Breakfast was healthy with variety. Directly across from the Bolhão market and fabulous bakery next door. Walked to all the sites but quite at night for being in the city. They also have a nice bar and area to relax. The place looks new, clean but still has the old world charm. Would recommend to friends. Staff helped book Duoro River cruise #3. Beautiful train ride from San Bento to Regua, then boat to Porto with lunch.

Room Tip: We had first floor which was ok but the top floor would be slightly quieter. But you would have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Hospitality, top! Room, top! Breakfast, top! Location, top!
Very well situated, nicely decorated and very friendly hotel.
The only thing you really need is a good condition to climb the stairs but, hey, that is something you need anyway to visit Porto.
We had a great stay at B The Guest in Porto... We will be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Kind welcome, nice location and beautifuly decorated. Thanks to you ! We could enjoy the best of this city being sure that a nice place to rest was waiting for us !!!
Accueil Chaleureux, emplacement idéal et décoration charmante. Merci à vous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#23 of 96 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#11 of 96 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa dos Loios - Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses
0.3 mi away
6Only Guest House
6Only Guest House
#5 of 112 in Porto
5.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B The Guest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B The Guest

Address: Rua Formosa 331 | Santo Ildefonso, Porto, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Porto, facing the Bolhao Market, B The Guest Downtown offers air-conditioned rooms with modern style decor and free WiFi in all areas. The 10 comfortable rooms offer views to the street or to the city rooftops and each includes flat-screen cable TV, a seating area, a desk and a minibar. Each has a private bathroom featuring free toiletries, a shower and a hairdryer. B The Guest Downtown has its own bar and snack bar. The breakfast can be served in the room or if guests prefer they can enjoy a breakfast buffet. A great variety of restaurants are available within 100 metres and at night guests can visit the bars 500 metres away. Guests have a great amount of facilities and services at their disposal. Dry cleaning, laundry, ironing and grocery delivery can be done for a surcharge. B The Guest provides daily maid service, room service and safety deposit box in all rooms. If guests need transportation to and from Porto International Airport, which is 17 Km away, a shuttle service can be arranged. With Bolhao Metro Station right across the street, guests can easily visit all the major attractions that Porto has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your B The Guest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B The Guest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.