We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel next to shopping mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Porto by Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Porto by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Porto by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Jaime Brasil, 40, Porto 4350-149, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #27 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel next to shopping mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is better from inside than outside

For being platinum elite on marriott we got a junior suite. So we were very happy. Stay was super cheap about 50 euros. Parking is free on the street. If you have a car this is a perfect stay.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    145
    51
    6
    4
See reviews for
36
124
11
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We have just returned from five days in Porto. We loved the city where there is lots to do and see. Red bus tour is great value at 20€ for 2 days including river cruise and a visit to the caves. We also got to see a champions league match at Porto FC which is next door to the hotel.

AC Porto is a good hotel with very helpful stff. Well located as close to the metro and less than 10 minutes into town. We were lucky enough to be given a suite and adjoining room for our son so lots of space and good facilities. Marriott has now taken over the hotel and in terms of improvements we would recommend three things a) replace the chairs in the bar, they are really old and not in keeping with a smart hotel b) tea making facilities in rooms would be good and c) door closers as you can hear doors slamming during the night. These are minor changes and overall an great place to stay with really friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: High rooms best as close to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Customer Care at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Dear guest,

I am very glad to hear that you have spent a nice time at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott and that you enjoyed your room and the way that our staff made you feel during your stay.

I also want to thank you for enumerating the opportunities to improve, I will address these points in order to provide a better service to all our guests.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Catarina Azevedo
Serviço de Apoio ao Cliente / Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

I was very disappointed by this hotel, at first it looks like all the other hotels for business travelers around the world, but in fact it’s not.
The modern room is all right, and in good state of maintenance and cleanliness. What it’s a shame, there is no free Wi-Fi in room, and you have to go to the hall or the bar, what a joke, like 10 years before. I tried 2 times to buy a voucher for Wi-Fi, but I wasn’t able to connect so I’ve lost 20 euros.
I wanted to have diner in the hotel because I didn’t feel to go outside, but it was impossible this evening, because there was 3 huge buses full of all old people from Netherland, Spain and I don’t know where and the restaurant where reserved for them. I was offered only to have a table in the bar, where the tables are very low, made to have a drink not to eat, not to mention the noise!
All I was able to do, because there is almost nothing in the district, was to go the shopping mall beside the hotel, and eat at the food court, where there are only fast food joints, like Burger king, Pizza hut, KFC.. What a lovely dinner.
But even when you look at the menu, there are only few dishes to choose and the prices are rather high for Portugal. The breakfast is just OK.
And I forgot to say the hotel is noisy because it is just overlooking the 6 or 8 line freeway where there is a lot of traffic.
There is a small fitness room but no pool.
Usually the Marriott Hotels are great, but not this one, or they have to improve a lot.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Gerente de relações com clientes at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and for enumerating the opportunities to improve.

I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us, and for not having corresponded to your expectations.

About the Internet, it is free of charge in all public areas. In the room the cost is 5€ for 24h. I remind that any access problem reported to the reception will be refunded.
Regarding the restaurant, it was previously booked for a group and we regret that the alternative given wasn’t suitable.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from AC Hotel Porto by Marriott.

Best regards,
Catarina Azevedo
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This hotel is beautiful, modern, and has all of the amenities that you could want while travelling. The staff is friendly and helpful, the room was big and clean, and the bathroom was beautiful. It's across the street from Estadio do Dragao, which would be awesome if you are planning to see a game, and there is a shopping mall next door. The ONLY downside is how far this hotel is from the centre of Porto. It's a very short walk to the metro station, but it's about a ten or fifteen minute ride to town, so you have to plan your day well to avoid back and forth travel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Recepção at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you so much for choosing AC Hotel Porto by Marriott on your recent visit to Porto and for your positive feedback. This is always very important for us. I will share your kind words with our team so that we stay motivated to exceed your expectations.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in AC Porto Hotel by Marriott.

Sincerely,

Carlos Pinto,
Serviço de Apoio ao Cliente / Customer Care Service
AC Hotel Porto by Marriott
acporto@ac-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

This hotel is a recent merger with Marriott and is in need of renovation . Steps at from entrance need serious work and are a safety issue . At least 3 people fell over the lip at the entrance . On Arrival the first thing you see is cigarette butts every where and weeds to match . There is absolutely no care taken at the front of the hotel and if you were any where else you would walk away . Elevators rumble and several guest mentioned they had real problems getting the elevators to open on their floors . I didn't but thought there was a problem as they seemed to shake on they way up to the 11th floor. Furniture in public areas are all stained and need replacing or at least cleaning .To fix this would would take the GM or his staff 1 hour to fix.
The service is excellent and staff are great Rooms are good and beds are excellent . Location is not in the centre but it is three satins by metro and overall quite convenient . Mall next door and opposite large stadium . If problems were fixed it would be a good addition to Marriott but at this stage I would say some minor work has to be done to get there .

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a suite . They are good . You also get a few nice touches like free minib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Recepção at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Client,

First of all, and on behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for choosing AC Hotel Porto by Marriott on your recent visit to Porto.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. I would like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. . We will address these points and we hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in AC Porto Hotel by Marriott.

Carlos Pinto
Serviço de Apoio ao Cliente / Customer Care Service
AC Porto by Marriott
acporto@ac-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed in the AC Hotel Porto by Marriott for two nights. We arrived into the city by bus and had to get a taxi to the hotel which cost 12euro. The staff were very welcoming, very willing to help with advice and directions the following day. Daniela was on reception and she helped us book a bus to our next destination, nothing was too much trouble for her. The rooms were clean, well maintained, modern and we had a lovely view. The metro station was just round the corner and it took us into the city for about 3euro each return, no problems. We booked the Yellow bus tour and we found it fab, we jumped on and off as we pleased and it was very relaxed. A lovely hotel with excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Recepção at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Ms. Louise Loughran

Thank you so much for choosing AC Hotel Porto by Marriott on your recent visit to Porto and for your kind words. Recognition is always welcomed and gives us encouragement to continue working in order to meet our guests expectations.
Your comments are truly important for us and I will gladly share them with our staff, especially with Daniela.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in AC Porto Hotel by Marriott

Carlos Pinto
Serviço de Apoio ao Cliente / Customer Care Service
AC Hotel Porto by Marriott
acporto@ac-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Arriving at 1:30am we were welcomed with such care and professionalism.

This is a first time stay in Porto and was so pleased by such a high level of caring!

Front desk associate named Tito spent so much time getting us organized for tours and reviewing the local and customs.

The restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was pleasing and the associates were so efficient but so courteous and pleasant.

Our very best to the AC Hotel (by Marriott) associates

Thank you for making the last part of our 35th anniversary trip so wonderful

Highly recommend this property

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Recepção at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Mr. John Forte,

Thank you so much for choosing AC Hotel Porto by Marriott on your recent visit to Porto and for your kind words. Recognition is always welcomed and gives us encouragement to continue working in order to meet our guests expectations.

Your comments are truly important for us and I will gladly share them with our staff, especially with Tito.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in AC Porto Hotel by Marriott.

Sincerely,

Carlos Pinto.
Serviço de Apoio ao Cliente / Customer Care Service
AC Hotel Porto by Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Porto by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Porto by Marriott

Address: Rua Jaime Brasil, 40, Porto 4350-149, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#20 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Porto by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Porto by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Porto
Ac Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Porto by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.