We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical Hotel to stay for couple of nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Porto by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Porto by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Porto by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Jaime Brasil, 40, Porto 4350-149, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Porto
Valencia, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Practical Hotel to stay for couple of nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I like recently refurbished or built hotels and AC Hotel-Porto is one of them which I use for work. Excellent breakfast and very sympathetic staff.
Easy access to major highways is handy when on business but also positive in case of needing to park for free as there are sufficient space outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Customer Care Service at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear client,

On the behalf of our team a big thank you for the published kind compliment to our service.
Recognition is always welcomed and gives us encouragement to continue working in order to meet our guests expectations.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in AC Porto Hotel by Marriott.

Best regards,
Catarina Azevedo
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    150
    51
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
125
12
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is situated just next to the shopping mall and the Dragao stadium of FC Porto. It’s just a few mins from the exit of the main highway and easy to find with navigation. You can conveniently park the car for free outside the hotel. It’s still 10mins taxi drive 7-10 euro’s, but you can also take the metro which will take you 10min longer. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. Only the bed was kind of small for a double. We did not take the breakfast as Portuguese people and instead followed their tradition to start the day with some pastels de nata and strong coffee in the adjacent mall(open also on Sunday). The less-liked aspects were the fitness centre(old machines + sauna being turned off. And also the price of the drinks. Almost 4 euro’s for a average cappuccino is somewhat too much. At the other hand, the room charges are very decent so definitely a recommended hotel if you do not want to stay in the city centre hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Customer Care Service at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for choosing AC Hotel Porto by Marriott on your recent visit to Porto.

I am very glad to hear that you have spent a nice time with us and that you enjoyed your room and the hotel's location. Your opinion is really important to us as it gives us the opportunity of improving our offer, in order to provide a better service.
Please be sure that our team will continue making all efforts to guarantee that AC can be your Home in Porto.

I truly hope to welcome you again at our hotel.
Yours sincerely,

Catarina Azevedo
Serviço de Apoio ao Cliente / Customer Care Service
AC Hotel Porto by Marriott
acporto@ac-hotels.com
00351 225072650
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

having stayed at several AC hotels in Italy we felt comfortable booking this one. As is often the case with the AC hotels we knew it would not be downtown but were a bit surprised at how far it was to the metro. The hotel is adjacent to the Stadio di Drago football stadium and is in a not very inspiring area. check in was smooth but our room had dirty tables and we had to ask for it to be recleaned - which was done promptly but with little apology. There is a shopping center next door but you have to walk around the outside of it through groupas of people 'hanging about' on the steps to get there.
The metro is about a 10 minute walk downhill and 20 minutes back (uphill) which is quite a hike, especially in the dark. There are no restaurants in walking distance (there is a food court in the mall) so we ate at the hotel twice. The food was good and reasonably priced but the menu is quite limited. The breakfast was good.
This hotel is fine if you are on business or an organized trip but is not as modern as other AC hotels we have stayed in, in fact it is rather faded. Another time we will stay downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Customer Care Service at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the opportunities to improve. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority.

This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

We are truly sorry for the inconvenience and hope this will not prevent you from coming to see us again.

Yours sincerely,
Tito Coelho
Customer Care Service
AC Porto by Marriott
0035122072650
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have chosen this hotel because I had a free night certificate. It's not in downtown but it's about 5 minutes walk to a subway station within Zone 2. Given the parking and traffic difficulties at downtown Porto, I recommend that you leave the car at hotel and take the subway to go to downtown. There are plenty street parting spaces around the hotel and they are free. The hotel is a 4-star hotel and the decor is contemporary. The room is a typical AC hotel room which had model furniture and not too small. The bathroom is spacious with a tub. But the design of the bath tub glass doesn't shield well the shower. You need to keep the shower head low in order not to spill water out onto the floor. There is also missing soap dish or the counter is missing the soap place as in the other AC hotel. After you use the soap, the soapy water makes the sink county dirty. We were given a room facing the highway but the noise is barely audible. The breakfast is 8 euros with the typical European breakfast. The only thing missing is the Pastel de Nata which I'm quite surprised because this is a such popular pastry that you can see them everywhere where pastries are sold. I also wish there are coffee and tea maker.

Room Tip: Take the subway to go to Old Porto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Customer Care Service at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Good Morning Ms. Sophie L.,

First of all, and on behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for choosing AC Hotel Porto by Marriott on your recent visit to Porto. Your opinion is really important to us so it’s always a great pleasure and a big privilege to have such positive comments from your side.

Regarding the "Pastel de Nata" we will address that item to our Food & Beverage Department.

Thank you once again for your comments. We remain at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Tito Coelho
Customer Care Service
AC Porto by Marriott
acporto@ac-hotels.com
00351225072650
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We like this hotel for the location, the clean and spacious rooms and the effective staff. It's location is excellent as a base to move around the city either by car or by subway. Other than the paid underground parking there aren't many free parking alternatives on the street and it was a bit crowded when we arrived, but with a little bit of creativity everybody managed to get a spot (there are also plenty of spots in close-by streets, but we really didn't feel like taking the walk through deserted streets at night).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Customer Service at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Nuno O,

Thank you for choosing AC Hotel Porto by Marriott on your recent visit to Porto and for your kind words.

I am very glad to hear that you have spent a nice time at our hotel and that you enjoyed your room and the way that our staff made you feel during your stay. Recognition its always welcome and give us encouragement to continue working in order to meet our guests expectations.

Regarding to parking spaces on the street, there may be days when they are busier, but indeed there are several free possibilities next to the hotel.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Catarina Azevedo
Serviço de Apoio ao Cliente / Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I flew to Porto, Portugal for one reason, to see FC Porto play PSG and Sporting. So this was the ideal hotel for me. After traveling all the way from America all night to get there in the morning (7a.m) to be told by staff that I wouldn't be able to be in my room by 3p.m was very upsetting. I literally fell asleep with my bags in there hallway feeling like a bum. But after that long dragged out day, it was great. I voiced my opinion to the staff, and they made my stay great. The spa is classy, the view is the field of my favorite team, FC Porto. Its a quick taxi ride into the city, breakfast is great. I really enjoyed it, but if your not going for FC Porto. Maybe you might wanna go closer to the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Customer Care Service at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Allen F.,

I am very glad to hear that you have spent a nice time at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott and that you enjoyed our services and the way that our staff made you feel during your stay.
Actually our location is privilege in close proximity to the stadium, and through the metro station it’s a 10min ride to the city centre.

I would also like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. Usually we let our guests check-in as soon as possible, but depending on the occupancy, sometimes it may not be achievable.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and I truly hope to welcome you again at our hotel.
Best Regards,
Catarina Azevedo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Big and very modern hotel.Location is good , next to a shopping mall and the stadium.The rooms are very nice and big. Breakfast was great .Quatity of service was over expectation.We got this hotel as part o a tour with Europamundo and we stayed only one night but we enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Porto by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Porto by Marriott

Address: Rua Jaime Brasil, 40, Porto 4350-149, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#19 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Porto by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Porto by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Porto
Ac Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Porto by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.