We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Porto Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp Porto Centro to your Saves list
Tryp Porto Centro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Alegria 685-689, Porto 4000-046, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Bauru, SP
1 review
“I Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I liked the hotel Very much, specially the staff is Very attencious. They gave us all the information we needed. The breakfast is delicious. I would like if it have some portugueses food inclusões. I will return.

Room Tip: The most importante aventure can be get by walking. It is cose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tryp Porto Centro, responded to this review, 6 days ago
These comments encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work and provide our passionate travelers visiting the city, unforgettable experiences.

We'll be waiting for a next visit to Porto,

Greetings
Tryp Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    150
    76
    19
    11
See reviews for
43
135
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Even though the location is good and the room was relatively comfortable, the hotel lacks basic services such as a real restaurant providing lunch and dinner, as well as a boiler for hot drinking water. The breakfast was basic continental and I mean literally ‘basic’. The service was 3-star standard and quite average, to say the best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in August.
Did not like the area where the hotel was situated.
30 mins walk downhill to reach the riverside and even longer coming back and you have to walk up a very steep hill.
Taxis and Metro are available to shorten part of the distance but even then not the best areas for walking in.
Found the front desk staff not very friendly and they rarely looked up to greet you when you entered the hotel. (At one point there were 4 behind the desk!). They also had no idea as to what Melia Rewards entailed!
The room was basic, clean and comfortable although the view from our first floor window was over a back street where everyone could look into your bedroom. On the second evening the toilet cistern got stuck but as it was after 8pm there was no one to fix it! Consequently we had the noise of running water all night which was hardly even apologized for the next morning.
We booked with breakfast, which was one of the the worst during our one month of touring.
Public areas are very small and without atmosphere. Certainly not a place to sit and relax in.
Also be aware that if you wish to use the safe in the bedroom it costs 3.50€ per night!!
Garage parking is 9.50€ per night and you have to put your car in a lift which is then taken very slowly to underground car park!
We know this is a 3 star hotel but in comparison to other Tryp 3 star hotels, we found it lacking.
We loved Porto. Full of character, good restaurants, shops and interesting place to visit.
Do the 6 bridges river cruise if you have the chance.
Will definitely go back to Porto again but unfortunately not this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tryp Porto Centro, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thanks for your comment, and already we apologize for the stay not go as planned.

We hope to have the opportunity to recive you again and provide a stay according to your expectation

Best regards,
Tryp Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Near enough to the city centre to walk. Porto is a hilly city so walking up hill cannot be avoided. Clean, comfortable rooms, 115 has a balcony and even a cross trainer if you felt you needed some more exercise!!! Breakfast adequate. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Roger on reception is extremely helpful and provided excellent customer service when we had a booking mix up (not the fault of the hotel)

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tryp Porto Centro, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
These comments encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work and provide our passionate travelers visiting the city, unforgettable experiences.

We'll be waiting for a next visit to Porto,

Greetings
Tryp Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed here for seven nights in early September. We used it as a base to visit the sites of Porto and travel by train to a couple of other towns. We had a standard room which had been recently refitted, with comfortable bed and other appropriate furniture and modern bathroom. The air conditioning worked well and there was no problem with noise either from inside or outside the hotel. The two drawbacks with the room were, there was no view from the bedroom window only the apartment block opposite and privacy in the daytime was not great as there were no net curtains or blind, just blackout curtains. There were no tea or coffee making facilities and you had to upgrade to a much more expensive room for these. The buffet breakfast was perfectly adequate and catered for most people’s tastes. Two problems with the hotel overall – one was it was almost soulless and lacked any attractive public spaces, as the reception lounge and bar areas were very clinical, and lacked any atmosphere. The other issue was the location. If you wished to visit the historic sites in central Porto it takes at least 20 minutes’ steep downhill walk through not particularly attractive areas, and 30 minutes to the riverside. You could walk to the metro station which took 5-10 minutes, it was then 5-10 minutes on the metro and you could wait 10 minutes for a train. The best option for coming back was to get a taxi from the rank which cost €5. Having said this, the quality of the room and breakfast were good value for money – just a pity about the location. The staff at the hotel were very helpful, efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tryp Porto Centro, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel Tryp Porto Centro. It is with great satisfaction that we see our work be rewarded with reviews like yours.

We'll be waiting for a next visit to Porto,

Greetings
Tryp Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We stayed here with Cosmos at the start and end of the Green Galicia tour. It is what I would call a typical chain city hotel

Our first impressions were good as the reception is decorated with the pretty blue and white tiled scenes typical of the area.

Our room was comfortable and clean.

The bar is small so doesn't offer a very large range of drinks

Dinner was very good on our first visit at the beginning of our tour but a big disappointment when we stayed again for one night at the end.

Breakfast was good with plenty to choose from.

The hotel is situated in a rather downbeat area which is within walking distance of the main shopping area

All in all a good hotel and I would recommend it as a bed and breakfast base from which to explore Porto.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tryp Porto Centro, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel Tryp Porto Centro. It is with great satisfaction that we see our work be rewarded with reviews like yours.

We'll be waiting for a next visit to Porto,

Greetings
Tryp Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotekl for a week in the run up to and during a conference. Unfortunately, I arrived onna Sunday wyuch meant everything was closed. However, hotel staff were amazingly helpful and friendly and directed me to a local supermarket which was within walking distance. Hotel was generally very comfortable and shops are close by and its not expensive in Porto :) Book early to avoid any disappointments. Gettung around is also cheap.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tryp Porto Centro, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel Tryp Porto Centro. It is with great satisfaction that we see our work be rewarded with reviews like yours.

We'll be waiting for a next visit to Porto,

Greetings
Tryp Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Porto Centro

Address: Rua da Alegria 685-689, Porto 4000-046, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tryp Porto Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the city centre of Porto, which is considered part of the World Heritage of UNESCO. It is near the Santa Catarina Street and the heart of Oporto, which is a traditional place for shopping, as well as for visiting the principal monuments of the city. The hotel has 62 rooms, all equipped with satellite TV, telephone, high-speed internet, minibar, air-conditioning, safety box and hairdryer. The hotel also offers 3 meeting rooms. Nearest metro station Marques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tryp Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Porto Centro Hotel Porto
Sol Melia Porto Centro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Porto Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.