We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Charming Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensao Peninsular

Save Saved
You added Pensao Peninsular to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pensao Peninsular
Rua Sa Da Bandeira 21, Porto 4000, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Charming Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

There was so much charm in this hotel like the giant circular staircase in the center, the old wood furniture, the creaky floor in some spots, and the cool bathroom with a bidet. It reminded of an apartment in Paris. Yet there are some modern touches as well like granite counters. I slept with the window open at night. Occasionally I would hear some cawing sea gulls. I stayed 5 nights. The staff speaks good English and they are nice. Walk to the Bolhão shopping district, night clubs, and several cafes. I recommend taking the scenic 500 bus ride to Matsohinos which cost 1.80 Euro that follows Douro and the Atlantic ocean. The 500 stops at the hotel on the return trip. Take the metro from the airport to the São Bento stop and walk a couple hundred yards north to the hotel. $8 will get you 2 wine, 2 cervezas, AND an espresso. A nice fish lunch in Matsohinos was only $8 as well. Great place to visit. In general the people are quite helpful with simple things like using a ATM with 6 digits, using a USA credit card with no pin, or buying metro tickets at the station.

Room Tip: Book the room at the room at the hotel web site and specify a duche (shower.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    70
    29
    15
    8
See reviews for
12
59
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were prepared for the worst, as we had never been in any 1-star hotel before. When we left we said that this is more like a 2* superior... A clean hotel, a clean room with very old durniture but a rather comfortable bed, a TV set, bathroom amenities, a proper bathtub and even a hair dryer, let alone the new wooden floor and the soundproof window (with a rather sad view, it's true, but we were not there to spend our day in the hotel) - what's there not to like? People were friendly and welcoming, location is as central as it gets, and the breakfast was poor but fresh and tasty. It is really nice to be in a place with character, where the grandeur of the old days is obvious everywhere, from carpets and furniture to chandeliers, but the sound of the seagulls through our open window made our stay as romantic as it gets. We definitely hope we can return to Peninsular someday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotel with real style (at least in the common areas, not in all the rooms), well located next to the train station. The breakfast is fine. The staff is welcoming. It is quiet and confortable.
They offer very low rates, at least offseason.
The cheap rooms are dark and have no outside windows, the TV is Portugese only.
Many places, in particular cheap restaurants, close down at night in the neighbourhood, especially Sunday night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Older hotel, but price was great, breakfast adequate. Across the road from the main station and an easy walk to the river Duro.Right in the centre of the old city. Plenty shops and restaurants close by.
Porto is a wonderful old city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We checked many hostels that day we arrived in Porto. All of them were quite expensive. The tourist office offered us this hotel for 36 euro and we had the intention to stay just 1 night and after search for something cheaper. All the other hotels and hostels we checked were very far from the center, dirty and did not include breakfast. Some were offering a room for 25 euro, but without breakfast. And a breakfast can easily be 5 euro per person. So we decided to stay 2 nights longer for a price of 34 euro. The receptionist was very nice and friendly, answering all our questions and pointing us to some vegan restaurants. The buffet was very good with soy milk and other vegan food. We had a room on the back so it was very quiet even if in the center of the city.
All in all a very decent place to spend a couple of nights.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The rooms were the worst aspect of this place but at the price we paid that was to be understood. Lighting was poor, bathroom ok, room was warm, bed was ok, average cleanliness. The staff were very good and the included breakfast was fine. The outstanding aspect of this place was the proximity to Sao Bento rail station. We were commuting to attractions outside of Porto, Braga and also Guimaraes so very convenient indeed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We chose this hotel as it is just across the train station and had a reasonable price. As historical center is not big, it is wise to stay close to the station if you are traveling with train so that you can easily reach the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The lady in the reception was kind and had fluent English. Breakfast buffet was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are more expensive but choose them if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensao Peninsular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Peninsular

Address: Rua Sa Da Bandeira 21, Porto 4000, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pensao Peninsular reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Peninsular Porto
Pensao Peninsular Hotel Porto
Hotel Peninsular Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensao Peninsular, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.