We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best night in Portugal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RUA, Tapas & Music Bar

RUA, Tapas & Music Bar
Travessa de Cedofeita 24, RC - Loja, Porto 440-560, Portugal
+351 917 356 644
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 918 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish, Tapas, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant/bar that serves lunch and dinner, specialized in tapas and snacks , having a mood changing from a restaurant ambience to a lively and crowded bar after 11 pm. Live music, of different styles, is usually present from Wednesday to Sunday. Smoking is allowed after midnight!!
Naples, Italy
1 review
“best night in Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I travelled on december 2013 around Portugal, and this was simply the best place!
Well located in the center of the night life of Porto, the service was great and the stuff awesome. the food was fine, the beverages were very good and very cheap.
The atmosphere was charming and friendly, and i got the possibility to heard some traditional fado first, and then an amazin rock band live.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    28
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Simply stated, one of the two best dining experiences I have had in my 18 months living in Europe and doing lots of traveling. The restaurant is fairly new, owned and run, as I understand it, by two youngish brothers who were both on hand and intimately involved in helping with selections and making sure that food and wine were to my liking. I went with three tapas. First a mix of veggies that was excellent, second a foie gras with fig that was amazing and made me wonder how many years I could make if that was all I ate, then a bruschetta with a pork spread of some sort that I can no longer recall but was specifically recommended by one of the brothers and was outstanding. The three tapas had me completely full. Combined with three glasses of wine, the total was somewhere in the range of 20 euros. Great deal. On top of the food, the space is great. Comfortable and cool. Casual live music started around 11. This place is all aces and I could not recommend it more highly.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“must go there !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

it s a realy good place with the good drinks and meal. i can say that it s more local then touristic. prices are really good and personal are so kind. After your perfect tapas with beer i recommend you to take a gin tonic which is sooo good ! also if you are lucky you can find a good concert at this warm atmosphere. Definetely you can spend good time and meet with lots of nice people. Also Rua is at a street that you can experience the understanding of portuguese people night life !

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

What can I say....the food, oh the food is delicious, I was overwhelmed by it!!! The staff very helpful and friendly! They have live music, and the space is welcoming! You must definitely go there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
“Cousy spot in Oporto, for wine and tapas, and... music.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Try some of the typical or just different food while having a Portuguese beer or delicate wine. If you are luck you may even get live music for free. The staff is very warm and welcoming. The location is right in the heart of Old Porto town, and when inside you will find a warmful and nice decorated space for a whole dinner and after...for all ages and all nationalities, I enjoy Rua for the simplicity!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RUA, Tapas & Music Bar also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to RUA, Tapas & Music Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RUA, Tapas & Music Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.