We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must go there !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RUA, Tapas & Music Bar

RUA, Tapas & Music Bar
Travessa de Cedofeita 24, RC - Loja, Porto 440-560, Portugal
+351 917 356 644
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 918 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish, Tapas, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant/bar that serves lunch and dinner, specialized in tapas and snacks , having a mood changing from a restaurant ambience to a lively and crowded bar after 11 pm. Live music, of different styles, is usually present from Wednesday to Sunday. Smoking is allowed after midnight!!
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“must go there !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

it s a realy good place with the good drinks and meal. i can say that it s more local then touristic. prices are really good and personal are so kind. After your perfect tapas with beer i recommend you to take a gin tonic which is sooo good ! also if you are lucky you can find a good concert at this warm atmosphere. Definetely you can spend good time and meet with lots of nice people. Also Rua is at a street that you can experience the understanding of portuguese people night life !

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    28
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

What can I say....the food, oh the food is delicious, I was overwhelmed by it!!! The staff very helpful and friendly! They have live music, and the space is welcoming! You must definitely go there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
“Cousy spot in Oporto, for wine and tapas, and... music.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Try some of the typical or just different food while having a Portuguese beer or delicate wine. If you are luck you may even get live music for free. The staff is very warm and welcoming. The location is right in the heart of Old Porto town, and when inside you will find a warmful and nice decorated space for a whole dinner and after...for all ages and all nationalities, I enjoy Rua for the simplicity!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not good experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Please just dont eat here! The food looks nice, but only in the menu! Staff is gentle but the food experience is just not worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuno G, Proprietário at RUA, Tapas & Music Bar, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hello,

We are very sorry to read your review.

Maybe since we are a tapas restaurant the particular one that you ordered wasn't to your liking...

We do hope that you will give us another chance and try some different other tapas, that we can assure that you'll like, as you can see by the other reviews from our guests in general people tend to find some tapas that they really appreciate!

Best Regards and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“good food...............but didn't want it smoked!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Shame, food very good. But smokers are allowed everywhere totally spoils the place. no air/con no good.

if a smoker you will enjoy otherwise forget it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuno G, Proprietário at RUA, Tapas & Music Bar, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello,

I'm sorry to ear that you didn't like the experience on our restaurante because we allow smoking.

I wish to inform that based on your comment we decided to revise our policies and we are asking people not to smoke during dinner time, and are only allowing smoking after mid-night.

Once again, our regrets that your experience wasn't the best, and we do hope you'll give us another chance on your next visit, this time in a smoke free environment.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RUA, Tapas & Music Bar also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to RUA, Tapas & Music Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RUA, Tapas & Music Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.