We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice city hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel da Musica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel da Musica to your Saves list
Hotel da Musica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mercado do Bom Sucesso, Largo Ferreira Lapa 21 a 183, Porto 4150 323, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice city hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have stayed in the hotel only for one night but its a charming small hotel with all the necessary facilities, clean and confortable... good for a short stay in Porto.
Breakfast is small but tasty and has it is in the Market there are amaizing shops to buy traditional products or differents ones as pastel de nata de bacalhau...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Gerente at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Madam,

We want to thank you for your comments regarding your short stay at Hotel da Musica.

Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    76
    21
    10
    1
See reviews for
19
83
6
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I found the hotel difficult to find as the entrance was around the side with a small plaque not seen from the main road. The rooms were clean, comfortable and modern. I had a twin room at the side which faced the outside seating area. The noise could be heard but was not a problem as the eating and drinking venues below closed at 11-12pm.
The breakfast was varied from hot breakfast to continental and a variety of cereals and fruit. The only real problem I found was there was no tea and coffee service in the room so you had to leave the hotel during the day to go below and buy a drink or use the bar area in the main lounge.

Overall a very nice hotel with the only main downside of no available hot drink in the room

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Gerente at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services. Therefore we will bare in mind your opinion.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Really interesting and different hotel!

Once you are used to being in an hotel inside a building it makes more sense.....I'm looking forward to revisiting this hotel and the one problem I experienced was noise.....the rooms are not soundproofed by any means ...so, if you are in a room with connecting doors be aware that you can hear everything in the room next door...as I suspect they can hear you!

Staff are very helpful and courteous and it was a joy to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Gerente at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your nice comment in Tripadvisor.

Looking forward to received you at Hotel da Musica

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel da musica is located literally inside the renewed and trendy Bom Sucesso market. Recently opened hotel with modern design and with an original musich theme/decoration. Very convenient for a weekend break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Gerente at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

We're very appreciated for taking some of your time to comment your experience at Hotel da Musica.

We will be waiting for your visit in a near future,

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were in Porto for a few days to visit friends. This hotel was conveniently located a short cab ride to the train stations. The decor was music-themed. Our room was clean, modern, efficiently laid out and comfortable. The rooms are small, but not cramped. The Internet was fast and reliable. Breakfast was excellent. Restaurant staff were caring and very professional when not overwhelmed. The front desk personnel were knowledgeable, helpful and fluent in English. This hotel met all of our needs while we in Porto.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Gerente at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services. Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herzlia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

i reserved 2 rooms for 17/9/13 for my family because my daughter is a musician through expedia. when wei arrived at 22:00 from lisbon after driving 3 hours to the hotel i was told that
i dont have rooms kept for me because of "overbooking" . they told me to move to another hotel
and that can do it "by law".
i was sent to a disgusting hotel in Porto but because the late hour i could do nothing. the day after the manager of the hotel tried to compensate us by reserving for us another night but yet
not in her hotel.
i suggest not to reserve this hotel because you can find yourself thrownto the street as happened to me.
keep out this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We failed on this occasion which will allow us to reflect to prevent other travelers may have the same perception that you had.
Hopping to receive you soon again in Porto please let us know when you con to Porto again, we will be delighted to receive you.
Ana Rita Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel was gorgeous! Although it was a little difficult to find, it's in a great area, and is a unique experience. Hotel staff were very accommodating and really helpful when we asked for directions, suggestions for tours, etc.

The rooms are super-modern and the theme was really interesting. The included breakfast was fantastic and parking was convenient and reasonably priced. I'd go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Gerente at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.

We highly appreciate your review about your stay at Hotel da Musica and looking forward to your next stay very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel da Musica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Musica

Address: Mercado do Bom Sucesso, Largo Ferreira Lapa 21 a 183, Porto 4150 323, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel da Musica 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O Hotel da Musica dispoe de 85 quartos distribuidos por 4 pisos. Espacosos, modernos e inspirados em pautas musicais de compositores famosos, oferecem condicoes ideais para estadas com o maximo de conforto e comodidade, no ambiente aconchegante de um acorde perfeito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel da Musica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel da Musica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.