We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Violins, basses and grand pianos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel da Musica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel da Musica to your Saves list
Hotel da Musica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mercado do Bom Sucesso, Largo Ferreira Lapa 21 a 183, Porto 4150 323, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Faro, Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Violins, basses and grand pianos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A couple of steps away from the House of Music, right next to a gourmet market and in the very hear ot the city of Oporto. Great service. Great food. The grand piano is well tuned and they let you play it... What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Gerente at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Mrs.

We're very appreciated for your comments regarding your experience at Hotel da Musica.

It is with great satisfaction that we see our work being rewarded with reviews like yours.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    106
    30
    12
    2
See reviews for
26
111
7
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in another hotel in Porto, but saw this interesting looking building, a market hall called Mercado do Bom Sucesso. Several cafes and small kiosk-like restaurants, a few shops upstairs.
And, a hotel called Hotel da Musica. It looked interesting, new and modern, even if the building must originally be old, recently renovated.
We like Porto a lot, and as the location of Hotel da Musica is quite central, we already started planning our next trip and a stay at this hotel.

There is a Spanish style restaurant in the ground floor, with an entrance from the Bom Sucesso market. We decided to have a dinner there.
A slightly boring atmosphere, quite interesting food, nice wine. The staff members were very young, probably just out of school. The service was basically OK, most of the staff members were friendly and well meaning, especially the young lady who seemed to speak Portuguese, English and French and was happy to explain about Portuguese wines, helping us to choose.

The other waiter who "served" us, a tall young man, seemed to hate his work and the customers and seemed to be disappointed seeing new customers arriving. From the first moment he showed it. He took us to the table without saying one word. And it went on. It took some time for him to bring us the menu and when he arrived he just left the menus on the table and left again, he didn't for example ask if we'd had liked an aperitif or something.
Fortunately the female colleague of this guy took our orders, and that went fine.

When the young man came back, after spending some time behind the bar, like hiding from the customers, doing nothing to help his colleagues, he brought our starters, saying absolutely nothing and turned his head away when we talked to him. This young man certainly has an attitude problem, and working in a restaurant is not his thing.
This continued through our meal and the waiter looked finally almost hostile. It felt like we were uninvited guests at his home and we really felt like leaving as soon as we had finished the desserts. We wanted a drink after the meal, but definitely not in this place.

If the service can be like this at the dinner time, I wonder if it's the same at the breakfast.
Next time in Porto, we will not stay at Hotel da Musica.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Gerente geral at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Mr . Whim,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience at Bom Sucesso Gourmet Restaurant.
We are really sorry that experience didn't result as planned and as should have.
Our aim is to have our customers very satisfied and willing to return. We thank for your comments as our customers opinions and suggestions allows us to keep on improving and working for a service of excellence.
I hope you reconsider and we would be delighted to welcome you soon at Hotel da Musica.
Sincerely Yours,
Catarina Vaz
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We like to recommend this hotel to anybody comming to Porto. The rooms are light, large and fine. We could not have expected anything more. The staff was very helpfull - we allways felt there where time to our questions and small problems. The buffet in the morning had everything we could wish, and the restaurant in the evening was excellent. Stay at this hotel - and take a taxi to the center of Porto. We would very much like to come back!!
Andersen and Jorgensen, Denmark

Room Tip: Ask for a room om the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, General Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Andersen and Jorgensen,
Thank you very much for taking your time sharing the experience your experience in Hotel da Música. We are really glad to know that you had a pleasant stay, in the name from the whole team from the Hotel I thank you.
Hopping to welcome you soon again ,
Catarina Machado Vaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent four star option in Porto. There is a gourmet food plaza to enjoy an excellent Port wine and Portuguese snacks. Breakfast was good, rooms clean. The toilet and shower are separated with a curtain and there is no bath, just a shower. Location is great next to the Casa da Musica. Easy to get from the airport. Staff is super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, General Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time sharing the experience your experience in Hotel da Música. We are really glad to know that you had a pleasant satay.
Our clients opinion is very important to help us improve and keep working for our customers satisfaction.
Hopping to welcome you soon again ,
Catarina Machado Vaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a really recent hotel. Built inside the Bom Sucesso Market (that was restored and is fabulous!) this hotel is modern with clean & simple decoration and the staff is young and very helpful. A big plus of this hotel is the private parking (€9 per day and you leave your car in a safe place while you visit the city). Quite near Casa da Musica, metro stations, several BUS stops and even hop-on/hop-off pass on that street.
The rooms aren't very big but are very functional. Unfortunately the shower is so modern that has a construction problem: water flows under the shower door leaving the floor all wet (not our problem, of course, but still...).
Not that expensive, so I think it is a nice choice.
The bad aspect is, honestly, the breakfast. Too plain and simple and not that good. The poached eggs were dry, the baked beans were awful, the juices are not natural, tipical food you can find in a low-cost hostel but unacceptable in a hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Proprietário at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your time , sharing your experience at Hotel da Musica. Our clients opinions are very important to help us improve.
We hope to receive you soon again at Hotel da Música.
Best regards,
Catarina Vaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

New hotel with good furniture and service. The worst point is the room that you pay as a normal double room while the bathroom and bedroom are together; so apart from having fun as a couple for ten minutes, then you realize that the value for money is low. In addition I asked for non smoking, but could not sleep due to the smoke smell from the previous guest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Gerente at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Mr. António,

Thank you very much for your time sharing your experience at Hotel da Música. Our clients opinions are very important to us , in order to allow us to keep improving at providing a better service.
We hope to receive you soon again at Hotel da Música .

Best Regards,
Catarina Machado Vaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel da Musica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Musica

Address: Mercado do Bom Sucesso, Largo Ferreira Lapa 21 a 183, Porto 4150 323, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel da Musica 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O Hotel da Musica dispoe de 85 quartos distribuidos por 4 pisos. Espacosos, modernos e inspirados em pautas musicais de compositores famosos, oferecem condicoes ideais para estadas com o maximo de conforto e comodidade, no ambiente aconchegante de um acorde perfeito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel da Musica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel da Musica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.