We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is the outside that really counts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castelo do Queijo

Castelo do Queijo
Praca Goncalves Zarco, Porto 4100-274, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 74 Attractions in Porto
Type: Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“It is the outside that really counts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I agree that there is not much to see but the real beauty of the fort is its architecture and location. It presents a wonderful photographic opportunity with the sea and the beach, plus what ever the weather is doing.

Good walks either side.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Nice, but not much to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The truth is there's not much to see at Castelo do Queijo. The ticket is 50 cents, and inside they have a poor exhibit on the colonial independence wars. Also, one room was occupied by a man selling pictures and art his wife and son make, they are all very nice but a little bit expensive. Nice to see, though. The top floor gives you an amazing view of the Atlantic and they have some nice cannons there.
But the trip from the lighthouse of Foz to Castelo on a sunny day near the ocean is sublime!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very beautiful place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The castel and the surrounded area are great ! It´s very good for a walk. I don´t know why this place is a little forgotten by the tourists. In a warm summer night, after visiting the city od Porto, it´s great to go to this place to relax and have an ice cream or a drink by the sea.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved the big machine gun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went in by chance. We had to wait for our friends and got bored just sitting and doing nothing so we went in. First we were pleasantly surprised with the entrance fee, if it could be called that. It cost only 50 cents. There wasn't really much too see though so that explained the low price. There was one room full of all sorts of army paraphernalia (badges, patches, bullets, pictures, a uniform or two, a couple of helmets, some medals etc.) My favourite bit was a big machine gun. At the entrance there are also paintings of the royal families that ruled Portugal throughout the history. If you go to the top, you'll find a couple of cannons and a nice view of the beach.
There is a little souvenir shop full of beautiful things the owner of the shop and his wife made.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Porto's end”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Although it is called Cheese Castle, it's really a small fort on the beach, bewteen the end of Avenida da Boavista and Matosinhos. Although it's a nice place for a walk near the sea, there's actually no big deal about it, and I wouldn't reccomend if you're in a short visit. If you go anyway, visit Parque da Cidade and Matosinhos while you're at it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castelo do Queijo also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Castelo do Queijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castelo do Queijo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.