We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice coffee, eggs and burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Traveller Caffe

The Traveller Caffe
Rua Passos Manuel, 165, Porto 4000 – 385, Portugal
222 083 476
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 910 Restaurants in Porto
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Nice coffee, eggs and burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a nice, little cafe close to the busy Rua de Santa Catarine. Nice menu. We also enjoyed the fresh juices.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    28
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A cut above the average (also good) cafe. There are eggs, yoghurt w/ fruit, etc. one the menu. The coffee is excellent and they even do it to-go!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great lattes, sweets, and free wifi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived in Porto, we weren't able to check-in to our hotel right away so we headed to find the nearest open cafe. We happen to stumble upon The Travellers Caffe and visited this place several times during our Porto trip. The staff is friendly, speaks English, and makes great lattes. The desserts, especially the donuts, were lovely. However, we weren't a big fan of the muffins. Bathrooms are clean and the wifi is complimentary. All-in-all a great Porto cafe.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cafe that I visit most often while in Porto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Traveller cafe is the place I meet my friends, have a midday coffee and go to read or work on my computer. They have an excellent staff and very inviting interior after being in all those usual portuguese cafes that to my nordic eye are not that nice.

I would recommend trying their espressos with lemon or orange peel. The orange one is my favorite with a tiny amount of sugar added to it. But they have a big variety of other styles of coffee and pastries also.

It's a few steps away from Rua Santa Catarina, so very close to tourist attractions but a bit quieter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Traveller Caffe also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to The Traveller Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Traveller Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.