We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cale Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cale Guest House to your Saves list
Cale Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Largo de Sao Domingos 28,29, 30, Porto 4050-545, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 103 Porto B&B and Inns
Vilseck, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The only thing we wish we could change from this visit is to have another night to stay here. The host was extremely friendly and accommodating and spoke fluent English. He answered every question we had, made a great recommendation for dinner, and made sure we were comfortable both with the city and the hotel. The place was easy walking from the metro and to any of the major sights of Porto. The lobby area was a little stark, but the room was quiet, clean and comfortable. There was a small sitting area outside if the weather was warmer. The shower head was small but the water was hot and had good pressure. I don't understand the other reviews about breakfast. It was a little small, but all the offerings were fresh, including freshly squeezed orange juice. Wifi worked well. It wasn't a problem for us, but there is no elevator, so it was three flights of stairs to the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    22
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
56
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limoux
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Initial impression was not favourable because the outside looks unattractive and the lobby decor was grim. The staff made up for it with a charming welcome and help on the area. It is very well positioned. The room was well equipped if a little stark.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

They don´t serve fresh food for breakfast... literally... I don´t like throwing away food, but this is too much. I refuse eating bad food. Watermelon slices which looked half rotten day after day... geting even more rotten. Kiwi fruit that you can tell is rotten just by the way they look... white soft cheese... yellow on the outside.

The room is big, but not nice. I would say average. There isn't minibar (Big fail). Toilet is damp and towels smell. Furniture are too dusty. NO ELEVATOR... for this price, you can do better!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed in this small guest house with my partner for three nights in the end of August. The room was spacious and clean and the A/C was powerful enough to cool down the room in few minutes when needed. We had a room at the front side of the building with a nice view. The location of the guest house is pretty much perfect for exploring the old historical Porto.

The staff was very helpful and genuinely friendly. If I had a guesthouse or a hotel, I would definitely try to hire Inez there, she's a real gem. There was no attitude whatsoever towards a minority couple.

Breakfast was sufficient enough and we also liked a lot the small upstairs terrace for relaxing. I found this place a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the building have a better view and we didn't find any street noise t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

In a great location close to the river and the old market this is a small establishment which is in a very brilliantly renovated typical porto House.
The rooms are well thought out and large, the breakfast freshly prepared and the staff both friendly, informative and helpful.

There is no doubt that this is the place we will stay when we're next in Porto.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front (such as ours room 3) have views down one of Porto's vertiginous streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed 3 days in this guesthouse after testing for a guide book other hotels and guesthouses in Porto ...I was disappointed to see that the renovation of this guesthouse as compared to others I had stayed in who had tried very hard to preserve the detail and original architectural beauty . My room was on the last floor ( steep stairway not at all practical with luggage. The welcome was cold and the room was small with no charm ( very ugly furniture ) But the ultimate worst was the air -conditioning next to the bed which was noisy and lite up during the night so impossible to sleep with it on. For the same price and even less you can stay in some incredible places . Porto is lovely this place is not

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Good start to our holiday in Portugal. They made us feel very welcome. Great location, very nice quiet room(we stayed in room 2 at the back of the hotel with it's own terrace) with excellent advice and couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cale Guest House

Address: Largo de Sao Domingos 28,29, 30, Porto 4050-545, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitar o Porto é experienciar o passado e revisitar as origens da cidade que foi, em 1996, eleita pela UNESCO Património Cultural da Humanidade. O Porto convida o Mundo a explorar a cidade e os seus espaços e monumentos classificados. Nós convidámo-lo a ficar connosco enquanto descobre a magia do Porto.A Cale Guest House, localizada no Largo de S. Domingos onde desde o sec XIV se viu instalado o comércio da cidade, beneficia de uma centralidade única. No coração do centro histórico da cidade do Porto, facilmente se pode aceder aos principais monumentos assim como à zona comercial da cidade.A casa, presentemente reconstruída, combinando o antigo com o contemporâneo, tem 7 quartos repletos de história, mas com uma decoração moderna que oferece um ambiente acolhedor e confortável. Esperamos que desfrute da sua estadia.Visiting Oporto means to experience the past and revisit the origins of the town which is UNESCO World Cultural Heritage. Oporto invites the world to explore the town, its spaces and classified monuments. We invite you to stay with us while you discover the magic of Oporto.Cale Guest House, located in Largo S. Domingos where tradesman have carried out their business since the 14th century, benefits from a unic centrality in the heart of the historic town, within easy reach to the main monuments as well as to the commercial area of town.The building, recently reconstructed, combining the old with a contemporary design, has 7 rooms full of history, but with a modern decoration that offers a cosy warming athmosphere. We hope you will like to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cale Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.