We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Quay Bar

Wine Quay Bar
Muro dos Bacalhoeiros, 111 e 112, Porto 4050-080, Portugal
+351 22 208 0119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 984 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: Winery, Delicatessen, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Wine Quay Bar is wine bar located on Ribeira do Porto (first line- Part of UNESCO's World Heritage Site since 1996, and classified National Monument) with breathtaking view over Douro River.
Leersum
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Last week we visited this restaurant. It's a really cosy restaurant and we got helped by a very polite man. He could told us much about the wines and which matched with our tastes. We also ordered some tapas which were great as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much L B for your review.
For us it was also a wonderfull time to be with you!
We are hoping to see you soon,
Best regards,
Moisés and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    135
    22
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect setting in Porto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Wine Quay Bar in Porto offers an excellent setting right at the Duoro River. We arrived at the bar at around 10pm on a Friday night for some glasses of wine.
The owner is very helpful and has a highly sophisticated knowledge about the local wines. As the majority of the guests left, he spend a lot of time with us to talk about football since we were in town for a football match as well as Porto/Portugal in general.
Overall a really enjoyable night with an excellent bar in a perfect location including perfect service and customer treatment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much A_HZFRA for your review.
For us it was also a wonderfull time to be with you and talking about football...
It wasn´t a good match for us, but new seasons will come! :)
We are hoping to see you soon,
Best regards,
Moisés and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Mans, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The place if you want to expand your knowledge of Portuguese wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

A little gem, run by really welcoming hosts. Had an early evening aperitif both nights we were in Porto. Great selection of wines and very knowledgeable hosts eager that you expand your tastes. Owners really involving, had a great chat to an American couple and others.
We didn't eat here but the tapas looked delicious. Recommend if in Porto you check this place out, we will certainly return on our next visit to Porto.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you very much Jasper0505 for your review.
For us it was also a wonderfull time to be with you!
We enjoyed talking with you, and we must say that you are a very nice couple!
We are hoping to see you soon,
Best regards,
Moisés and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

It was such a pleasure to visit this place!
Spot on! Loved every sip and bite!
Go and check them!
Best Regards and well done!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you very much Vytu for your review.
For us it was also a wonderfull time to be with you!
We are hoping to see you soon,
Best regards,
Moisés and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tapas di qualità, per bere bene”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Very confortable place, delicius food and the view...all amazing.
We'll came back as soon as possible.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much archeologa1981 for your review.
For us it was also a wonderfull time to be with you!
We are hoping to see you soon,
Best regards,
Moisés and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Quay Bar also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Wine Quay Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Quay Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.