We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely worth its rating........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Quay Bar

Wine Quay Bar
Muro dos Bacalhoeiros, 111 e 112, Porto 4050-080, Portugal
+351 22 208 0119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,020 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Wine Quay Bar is wine bar located on Ribeira do Porto (first line- Part of UNESCO's World Heritage Site since 1996, and classified National Monument) with breathtaking view over Douro River.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth its rating........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Having been let down by another highly rated restaurant on Tripadvisor, we stumbled upon the Wine Quay Bar and had the night of our lives. Moses and Phillipa have created a unique place with fantastic local produce and wines, along with one of the best views in Porto. Their hospitality is testament to their love of what they do and their passion for Portuguese wine and food. They treated us like friends and could not do enough to make this evening special. I don't make a habit of writing reviews but could not let the opportunity to sing their praises go by. Congratulations Moses & Phillipa on creating such a fantastic bar/restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you very much Lozza257 for your review.
We are happy that you stumbled upon the Wine Quay Bar!
You are a lovely couple!
Hoping to see you soon, in Porto or in London!
Best regards,
Moses and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    135
    22
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Göteborg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The best place in Porto!
Fantastic service and delicious wines.
My Thought wa to only drop by for a small glass of wine before dinner, but i ended up staying all night having way to many, but delicious glasses of wines

The owner is almost to service mided :)
I hade a wonderful evening there, getting to tast lovely wines, recommeded by the owner, together with great cheese and olives.

I found 2 new favourites also, the Vinha Paz from Dao (which i later found in a wine shop) and Crooked Vines from douro.
Try these two while you are there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you very much Per411 for your review.
We are happy that you enjoyed our wines and tips, and tht you stayed all night long!
Love the photos!
Hope to see you soon.
Best regards,
Moses and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely wine bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I came here on our first and last night in Porto. Moses, our waiter, was so great in helping us select wines that we would love. We tried all types of wines, and everything he brought us was great. He also gave us suggestions for cheese and meat, and they were delicious. We sat outside, and enjoyed the amazing view and delicious food and wine. We loved this place so much that we came back on our last night as well. Definitely visit this place if you are in Porto. However, it is very small and fills up quickly so come early!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much speng821 for your review.
We are happy that you enjoyed our house!
Hope to see you soon.
Best regards,
Moses and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“Amazing views, very friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed the views and the wines here nightly. Sitting outside is truly an amazing way to enjoy Portugese wines. The owner Moses is a great guy and will gladly guide you to the type of wine that meets your preference. Service is excellent. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much jwobkk for your review.
It´s rewarding reading reviews like yours!
Hope to see you soon.
Best regards,
Moses and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Fanastic View - Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Terrific spot to enjoy a nice selection of Portugese Wines and Ports and a light snack. Moses and his wife (owners) provide fantastic service and offer excellent recommendations. The perfect spot to sip regional wines and enjoy the great river views at night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much BYOB for your review.
We are happy that you enjoyed our company and wines!
Must important we enjoyed yours!
Hope to see you soon.
Best regards,
Moses and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Quay Bar also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Wine Quay Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Quay Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.