We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Quay Bar

Wine Quay Bar
Muro dos Bacalhoeiros, 111 e 112, Porto 4050-080, Portugal
+351 22 208 0119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 987 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: Winery, Delicatessen, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Wine Quay Bar is wine bar located on Ribeira do Porto (first line- Part of UNESCO's World Heritage Site since 1996, and classified National Monument) with breathtaking view over Douro River.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great wine bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This tiny wine bar is a must visit place for wine lovers. We tried several different Portuguese wines, all excellent. The atmosphere is rather pleasant and all customers ended up interacting with each other. The food, mainly tapas and starters like bread, olives, cheese, ham, etc are delicious. The grand finale came with a great Porto and lovely home made chocolates.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Proprietário at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much Slhire for your review.
It was great having you here!
We are happy to know that you enjoyed our "house"!
You´re always welcomed.
Best regards,
Moses and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    135
    22
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“"A little Gem in the heart of Porto"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is what makes Trip Advisor excellent and we are so glad we went here. We had a memorable night. The food is mainly tapas and every plate was delicious, warm bread, delicious olive oil, cheese and sausage with a great choice of wines and port. Lovely setting, ambience and decor and the staff/service were excellent not to mention the lovely couple Moses and Filipa that run this lovely restaurant with a personality that shines. The location is the best with lovely views over the Ribeira if you chose to sit out to savour the atmosphere and people watch. Taste and presentation was outstanding and their desire to share their knowledge about Portuguese wines and ports was amazing. A must here is to finish off the night with some lovely port and Filipa's “homemade chocolates”- divine. Highly recommend this wine bar and we wish we had time to go back. If we come back to Porto we will definitely return to your wine bar for 2 nights. We wish you the best of luck in the future and success with your business! Well deserved. Maureen and Francie

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much Maureen and Francie for your review.
For us it was wonderfull metting you and we are looking forward for your next visit to Porto.
Don´t go to Lagos, visit us! :) We have chocolates!
Thank you once again for your kind words.
Looking forward to receive you the future.
Best regards,
Moses and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

just went there on my own, travelling for business....
A very warm welcome, and the couple is making you feel at home!
Good wine, excellent jamon and cheese, warm bread, a pleasure!
and the sun didn't even shine, then it's even more beautifull with a nice view over river Douro!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much ElineO768 for your review.
It was great having you here!
We are happy to know that you enjoyed our "house"!
You´re always welcomed.
Best regards,
Moses and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Really nice spot to chill and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had two lovely early evenings here to try some local wine and cheese hams. Not a place to go for dinner, but to relax for an hour or so with a nice view is lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much bax52 for your review.
It was a pleasure having you here!
We hope you chilled and enjoyed with us!
Best regards,
Moses and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This guy lives his passion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Found this tapas and wine bar with a great few on douro. The costumer is king there. You get great wine with really good Cheese, ham Or sausage recommendation, everything explained from the friendly chef.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much RainerSchund23 for your review.
It was a pleasure having you here!
We hope to see you soon!
Best regards,
Moses and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Quay Bar also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Wine Quay Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Quay Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.