We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and surroundings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Quay Bar

Wine Quay Bar
Muro dos Bacalhoeiros, 111 e 112, Porto 4050-080, Portugal
+351 22 208 0119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,020 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Wine Quay Bar is wine bar located on Ribeira do Porto (first line- Part of UNESCO's World Heritage Site since 1996, and classified National Monument) with breathtaking view over Douro River.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and surroundings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

One of the best places to enjoy a nice glass of wine and the beautiful sights of Ribeira!
Great decoration mixed with the simpathy of the owners makes the time of the meal a small moment in Paradise...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Proprietário at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you very much Bernardo G for your review.
It´s always a pleasure having you here...
We are hoping to see you and your wife soon!
Best regards,
Moses and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    135
    22
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place and great wines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The bar is located just next to river and we could see a wonderful view! We enjoyed really nice wine with affordable price. The owner is really friendly!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Proprietário at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much Ren Ito for your review.
It was a pleasure having you here...our first japanese clients!
We are hoping to see you soon!
Best regards,
Moses and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A charming place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I found this little bar after reading tripadvisor and I decided to have a try for a evening.

I went here and I really like the cozy and warm set up. The location was so good that it faces the waterfront and offers excellent view.

I was not sure what I wanted to drink. I asked the owner and he recommended some nice red wine from the north. I enjoyed my wine with some meat recommended by the owner as well. I felt that I was well taken care. I sat there and read my book. I felt very comfortable. I guess it is such a nice place for friends and couples to chit chat:)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Proprietário at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you very much jc05615 for your review.
It was a pleasure having you here...
We are hoping to see you soon!
Best regards,
Moses and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We acme here for a lunh after reading some reviews here in Tripadvisor. We where welocme by a very nice woman how got us a confy seat near by the window and asked us if the temperature was ok for since the door was open.
After a while, what I classified as the owner, came to aour talbe and took the order. He was very nice and gave us good advise on what to eat and drink. He suggested a vbery good Porto Ruby ( as that what we asked for) produced by MESSIAS and some salame to eat with bread and oil.
The wine was very good, better than the Sandeman, and as much accounts for the meat tha really melted a the touch of the tongue.

A the end of the lunch the host was kind and showed us where we could have some bakery in Porto and pointed out on the map. we even chatted about surf and windsurf since I practice windwsurf.

The grand total was of 14.6 € ( i must admitt, it was not a filling lunch ) and we had:
3 glasses of wine (2.4€) and the salame with bread.

It deserves a go!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Proprietário at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much Princeofthebow for your review.
It was a pleasure having you here, and talking about many things, specially about our passion, the sea!
We will always have for you quality tapas, new wines combined with good conversations!
Hope to see you soon!
May we can go surf! :)
Best regards,
Wine Quay Bar and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm, welcoming, charming and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Moses and Phillipa have a charming wine bar complete with nibbles and wine pairings to make for a relaxed and welcoming nosh. The owners can not be more engaging and knowledgeable. Thank you from D/ C. The yanks from the hotel next door. Cheers!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Proprietário at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much kellygrether for your review.
It was a pleasure having you here...
We are hoping to see you soon!
Best regards,
Moses and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Quay Bar also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Wine Quay Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Quay Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.