We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food Experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essencia Restaurante Vegetariano

Essencia Restaurante Vegetariano
Rua Pedro Hispano, 1196, Porto 4250-365, Portugal
+351228301813
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 985 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $38
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Food Experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Everything positive written about this restaurant is well deserved. The restaurant is on the outskirts of the city center so take a cab...my daughter and I walked from the InterContinental but it was well worth the walk!!! We were greeted by one of the owners who was so friendly. She seated us and immediately brought some fresh bread and an assortment of spreads. So lovely and fresh. She was very attentive as well as the rest of the staff to our needs. The salad, main course and dessert were beyond our expectations. I had the two mushroom risotto that was made to perfection. The desserts were freshly made and presentation was very pleasing to the eye as well as delicious. The prices are so incredible reasonalble..almost to the inexpensive range. The entire menu is not only vegetarian so for those that do eat meat do not pass up the opportunity to eat here. When we were ready to leave the owner offered to call us a cab if we did not want to walk back and they were there within moments of her call. Our driver did not speak English and one of the wait staff was so courteous and spoke to the driver for us. Best food we have eaten in Portugal..and we have eaten a great deal in this country.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    75
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed a great meal at Essencia. We both enjoyed pasta as a main course. The food did not disappoint, nor the bottle of Monte da Pecceguina 2011 from Alentejano. The restaurant's interior is pleasant, I believe the woman who waited on us was the owner and she was charming. The restaurant is not in the tourist area, but well worth a taxi ride. Would highly recommend enjoying a meal here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food and wonderful service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was in Essencia having dinner and we loved it. We asked the waiter what we should eat and his recommendation was great. Definitely, if I ever go back to Porto, Essencia is a must.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“good vegetarian option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

went there with a group of friends on a trip, because the vegetarians amongst us needed a good meal!

although we were there a long time, the food was very good. good value too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place, great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

My lovely wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at this diner.
The ambience was serene and the service was fantastic.

The food and the prices were well set and the host was very warm and comforting.

Certainly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essencia Restaurante Vegetariano also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Essencia Restaurante Vegetariano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essencia Restaurante Vegetariano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.