We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for late dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenida Cafe & Restaurante

Avenida Cafe & Restaurante
66-68 avenida dos Aliados, Porto, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #573 of 917 Restaurants in Porto
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Reasonably priced delicious Portuguese fare for lunch with great service
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good for late dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

After walking for a long time searching for an open restaurant late in the evening we finally found Avenida cafe and restaurante. The waiters were very nice and helpful. Wine servings are very generous. I had crab salat and it was wonderful.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    25
    12
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place for coffee and port”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Nice restaurant, good location. Excellent coffee and good patisserie. Food is ok. The hostess is very nice and good staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just one of those restaurants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Not good, not bad, just an average meal with average pricing. Handy it's in the city centre. I'm afraid the restaurant upstairs is quite bleak.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beware wine prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A friendly, reasonable restaurant. We ordered a bottle of vinho de la casa, no wine list. When the bill arrived we thought €20 was a bit expensive. The bill was immediately changed to €15.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Handy for breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We went here for breakfast whilst staying at the nearby Intercontinental Hotel, where breakfast was a little pricey at €25 per person. While the restaurant menu didn't mention breakfast, we asked the friendly waiter if he could do scrambled eggs and he said for sure. My boyfriend asked for scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on toast, which actually came out as a smoked salmon omelette with little mini slices of toast on the side, but he said it was delicious nonetheless. I just had a ham and mushroom omelette which was also very good, and quite large. Together with two glasses of proper freshly squeezed orange juice and two cups of good coffee, it was just under €20 euros.
The restaurant is very clean and nicely decorated inside, and the waiter was great, giving us some great tips of places to go and visit. On a warmer day, the terrace outside would be a great spot to sit and watch the world go by in the beautiful square (oblong).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenida Cafe & Restaurante also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Avenida Cafe & Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenida Cafe & Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.